Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,368 Members 51,779 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Moving keyboards to system partition?

Tip us?
 
rijon99
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 68
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default [Q] Moving keyboards to system partition?

I've tried to move Swiftkey 3 keyboard to the system partition with titanium backup pro but it keeps force closing, when I done this with Swiftkey X, it had worked perfectly without any force closing. My question is, Is there any way to move Swiftkey 3 keyboard to the system partition without any force closes? (Same with swype beta)
 
djmcnz
Old
#2  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1504
Posts: 5,484
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by rijon99 View Post
I've tried to move Swiftkey 3 keyboard to the system partition with titanium backup pro but it keeps force closing, when I done this with Swiftkey X, it had worked perfectly without any force closing. My question is, Is there any way to move Swiftkey 3 keyboard to the system partition without any force closes? (Same with swype beta)
Try also moving /data/data/com.touchtype.swiftkey/lib/* to /system/lib/*

Check that permissions suit the target although this should be automatic. Reboot, may work.
[Nexus One], [Optimus 2x > /dev/null], [Galaxy Nexus], [Transformer Prime], [Nexus 5]
The Following User Says Thank You to djmcnz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lufc
Old
#3  
lufc's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Resident Priest
Thanks Meter 1485
Posts: 9,512
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Blackpool UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Please use the Q&A Forum for questions &
Read the Forum Rules Ref Posting
Thanks
Moving to Q&A
Pay attention and participate,Encourage,
not discourage, Listen to advice and accept instruction,
and in the end you will be wise.......... Prov. 19:20
 
rijon99
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 68
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmcnz View Post
Try also moving /data/data/com.touchtype.swiftkey/lib/* to /system/lib/*

Check that permissions suit the target although this should be automatic. Reboot, may work.
Thanks for the reply, but when I moved it to the system partition with titanium backup, that file is already moved to /system/lib/ with the correct permissions already. I don't know why this isn't working but it worked perfectly with Swiftkey X
 
djmcnz
Old
#5  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1504
Posts: 5,484
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by rijon99 View Post
Thanks for the reply, but when I moved it to the system partition with titanium backup, that file is already moved to /system/lib/ with the correct permissions already. I don't know why this isn't working but it worked perfectly with Swiftkey X
No problem, good luck.

Have a look at logcat when you launch the app and it crashes for some pointers.
[Nexus One], [Optimus 2x > /dev/null], [Galaxy Nexus], [Transformer Prime], [Nexus 5]
 
rijon99
Old
(Last edited by rijon99; 25th June 2012 at 08:56 PM.)
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 68
Join Date: Apr 2009
It appears that titanium backup didn't work properly when moving to the system partition. I manually moved the lib file to /system/lib/ then converted Swiftkey 3 to a system app and it worked (It also worked for Swype beta.)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rijon99 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kazemitsui
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 716
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hong Kong/Seattle
wow thanks i been trying to figure this out for the longest time...

Does this work with other apps that FC after moving to system?
 
djmcnz
Old
#8  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1504
Posts: 5,484
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazemitsui View Post
wow thanks i been trying to figure this out for the longest time...

Does this work with other apps that FC after moving to system?
If they're FC'ing because of a missing library, normally yes.
[Nexus One], [Optimus 2x > /dev/null], [Galaxy Nexus], [Transformer Prime], [Nexus 5]
 
kazemitsui
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 716
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hong Kong/Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmcnz View Post
If they're FC'ing because of a missing library, normally yes.
Is there a way to tell? or do I need to manually check using root explorer to see if the library was moved for each app that force closes?
 
djmcnz
Old
#10  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1504
Posts: 5,484
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazemitsui View Post
Is there a way to tell? or do I need to manually check using root explorer to see if the library was moved for each app that force closes?
Yep, a look at the logcat will tell you if an .so file is missing.
[Nexus One], [Optimus 2x > /dev/null], [Galaxy Nexus], [Transformer Prime], [Nexus 5]

Tags
keyboard, partition, swiftkey, system
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...