FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Moving keyboards to system partition?

72 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By rijon99, Member on 24th June 2012, 11:39 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I've tried to move Swiftkey 3 keyboard to the system partition with titanium backup pro but it keeps force closing, when I done this with Swiftkey X, it had worked perfectly without any force closing. My question is, Is there any way to move Swiftkey 3 keyboard to the system partition without any force closes? (Same with swype beta)
 
 
25th June 2012, 01:24 PM |#2  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,537
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rijon99

I've tried to move Swiftkey 3 keyboard to the system partition with titanium backup pro but it keeps force closing, when I done this with Swiftkey X, it had worked perfectly without any force closing. My question is, Is there any way to move Swiftkey 3 keyboard to the system partition without any force closes? (Same with swype beta)

Try also moving /data/data/com.touchtype.swiftkey/lib/* to /system/lib/*

Check that permissions suit the target although this should be automatic. Reboot, may work.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to djmcnz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th June 2012, 07:26 PM |#3  
lufc's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator / Resident Priest
Flag Blackpool UK
Thanks Meter: 1,582
 
Donate to Me
More
Please use the Q&A Forum for questions &
Read the Forum Rules Ref Posting
Thanks
Moving to Q&A
25th June 2012, 08:19 PM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmcnz

Try also moving /data/data/com.touchtype.swiftkey/lib/* to /system/lib/*

Check that permissions suit the target although this should be automatic. Reboot, may work.

Thanks for the reply, but when I moved it to the system partition with titanium backup, that file is already moved to /system/lib/ with the correct permissions already. I don't know why this isn't working but it worked perfectly with Swiftkey X
25th June 2012, 08:29 PM |#5  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,537
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rijon99

Thanks for the reply, but when I moved it to the system partition with titanium backup, that file is already moved to /system/lib/ with the correct permissions already. I don't know why this isn't working but it worked perfectly with Swiftkey X

No problem, good luck.

Have a look at logcat when you launch the app and it crashes for some pointers.
25th June 2012, 08:51 PM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
It appears that titanium backup didn't work properly when moving to the system partition. I manually moved the lib file to /system/lib/ then converted Swiftkey 3 to a system app and it worked (It also worked for Swype beta.)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rijon99 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rijon99 Ad-Free
27th August 2012, 09:53 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong/Seattle
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
wow thanks i been trying to figure this out for the longest time...

Does this work with other apps that FC after moving to system?
27th August 2012, 10:02 AM |#8  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,537
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazemitsui

wow thanks i been trying to figure this out for the longest time...

Does this work with other apps that FC after moving to system?

If they're FC'ing because of a missing library, normally yes.
28th August 2012, 05:25 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong/Seattle
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmcnz

If they're FC'ing because of a missing library, normally yes.

Is there a way to tell? or do I need to manually check using root explorer to see if the library was moved for each app that force closes?
28th August 2012, 11:01 AM |#10  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Auckland, NZ
Thanks Meter: 1,537
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazemitsui

Is there a way to tell? or do I need to manually check using root explorer to see if the library was moved for each app that force closes?

Yep, a look at the logcat will tell you if an .so file is missing.
28th August 2012, 05:01 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong/Seattle
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmcnz

Yep, a look at the logcat will tell you if an .so file is missing.

how do i look at that?

and thanks for all your help
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
keyboard, partition, swiftkey, system

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes