How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Fastboot Unlocked?

OP mxgoldman

25th June 2012, 10:12 PM   |  #1  
mxgoldman's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
So I decided just to see what my fastboot looked like - attached.

Is that normal for it to be unlocked? Everything I've heard says this is supposed to be super locked down.
25th June 2012, 10:31 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 239
 
889 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxgoldman

So I decided just to see what my fastboot looked like - attached.

Is that normal for it to be unlocked? Everything I've heard says this is supposed to be super locked down.

I think it says "bootloader LOCKED" in the fastboot screen. That means, you can ONLY flash motorola compiled operating systems (specifically kernels).;

If you want to try, run a fastboot unlock-bootloader command when running in fastboot. A locked bootloader will tell you something along the lines of "command not valid"
26th June 2012, 01:06 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag South Carolina
Thanks Meter: 313
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Do not flash anything on your phone. That looks to be a unlocked bootloader!

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
26th June 2012, 01:19 AM   |  #4  
mxgoldman's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsnweitzel

Do not flash anything on your phone. That looks to be a unlocked bootloader!

Wait, wouldn't that be a positive that would make flashing them easier?
26th June 2012, 01:37 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag South Carolina
Thanks Meter: 313
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
I emailed someone who knows these things. He says its an engineering model. So it doesn't help the rest of us.

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
26th June 2012, 05:46 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 41
 
308 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxgoldman

Wait, wouldn't that be a positive that would make flashing them easier?

I think he meant "don't flash anything that might overwrite your unlocked bootloader"

Anyway we could pull it or something? Probably not eh? OP, where did you get?!
26th June 2012, 08:37 AM   |  #7  
mxgoldman's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by podspi

I think he meant "don't flash anything that might overwrite your unlocked bootloader"

Anyway we could pull it or something? Probably not eh? OP, where did you get?!

Makes more sense.

That's my little secret.

I could probably pull whatever from it, but I'd need some help for what you'd like pulled. Haven't rooted it or anything yet.
26th June 2012, 02:14 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
didnt this happen with a GSM RAZR before? dont get me wrong, i'd love to unlock my bootloader! someone bring this to their attention
26th June 2012, 03:18 PM   |  #9  
Mioze7Ae's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Queen City of the West
Thanks Meter: 2,096
 
2,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
FYI, on Milestone XT720, Motorola left a partially working fastboot--we can "fastboot boot boot.img" to boot self-built kernels and this bypasses the signature checks. But you have to boot via USB each time, if you use "fastboot flash boot.img" fastboot will write the kernel and reboot, but the signature check will fail after reboot.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=821210

Here's one way to muck with a kernel to change uname strings:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0#post11975260
Last edited by Mioze7Ae; 26th June 2012 at 03:25 PM.
27th June 2012, 12:26 AM   |  #10  
rzrbck's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsnweitzel

I emailed someone who knows these things. He says its an engineering model. So it doesn't help the rest of us.

FWIW, the "SE" is the giveaway. If it said "S", you would be in business.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes