FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ATT/VZW/TMO/SPR + more] [De-Bloater / Utility / AROMA ] Ashaman v3.02 04.04.2013

27th June 2012, 02:41 AM |#11  
mrRobinson's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 9,081
 
More
did you install any of the roms or still stock? I've used it twice myself with no issues did recommended plus a few other. nandroid back and tried again.
can you get adb shell onto your device?
then cd to /system/app do an ls and paste what is left in here?

or maybe for one left confirm exact name of apk and odex.
The Following User Says Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th June 2012, 03:07 AM |#12  
alacrify's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,945
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrRobinson

did you install any of the roms or still stock? I've used it twice myself with no issues did recommended plus a few other. nandroid back and tried again.
can you get adb shell onto your device?
then cd to /system/app do an ls and paste what is left in here?

or maybe for one left confirm exact name of apk and odex.

It's still stock, just rooted. I can't do adb right now (stuck working) but I'll give it a shot tomorrow when things should be more sane. I did look in the /system/app with ES file explorer, and Chaton isn't there (nor anything with that kind of name). I can always freeze it, I just liked this answer better
27th June 2012, 03:46 AM |#13  
mrRobinson's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 9,081
 
More
if they aren't in /system/app then they are gone...
are they showing up in the app drawer or just you still see homescreen icons?

if it is just the homescreen icons just go ahead and remove those(long press).
27th June 2012, 03:52 AM |#14  
alacrify's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,945
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrRobinson

if they aren't in /system/app then they are gone...
are they showing up in the app drawer or just you still see homescreen icons?

if it is just the homescreen icons just go ahead and remove those(long press).

The only one I tried (ChatOn) is still in a folder in the app drawer (Nova Launcher) and when I tap it, it runs...

EDIT: oh, and it still shows in TiBu
27th June 2012, 01:31 PM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up Thank you
Thanks.
27th June 2012, 02:54 PM |#16  
mrRobinson's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 9,081
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alacrify

The only one I tried (ChatOn) is still in a folder in the app drawer (Nova Launcher) and when I tap it, it runs...

EDIT: oh, and it still shows in TiBu

Ok that's just weird. is it in data/app then? if it isn't in system/app I can't see how its installed still unless it is in data/app.
The Following User Says Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2012, 07:54 PM |#17  
alacrify's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,945
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrRobinson

Ok that's just weird. is it in data/app then? if it isn't in system/app I can't see how its installed still unless it is in data/app.

Yeah, ChatOn, and the other ones that didn't go away, are in /data/app. Did I do something screwy that moved them?
27th June 2012, 08:27 PM |#18  
mrRobinson's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 9,081
 
More
no you probably just updated everything from play market. since it can't write to /system even when an installed system app is updated it has to install the updates into /data partition.
so any system app that had an update from the play store was then also in data. best bet is to manually uninstall those now. you can normally since they are no longer system apps. I'd add to my script but it'd be hard to track down the names, instead of ChatON.apk it'd be something like com.google.android.chaton-1.apk or some such weirdness.
and you don't even need root to remove data apps anyway.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mrRobinson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2012, 08:43 PM |#19  
alacrify's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,945
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrRobinson

no you probably just updated everything from play market. since it can't write to /system even when an installed system app is updated it has to install the updates into /data partition.
so any system app that had an update from the play store was then also in data. best bet is to manually uninstall those now. you can normally since they are no longer system apps. I'd add to my script but it'd be hard to track down the names, instead of ChatON.apk it'd be something like com.google.android.chaton-1.apk or some such weirdness.
and you don't even need root to remove data apps anyway.

Cool, thanks - that explains it. And I can certainly freeze or remove them myself - I'm just so used to having your AROMA installers around to do all my work with Task's ROM for me I was ready to jump right back in
28th June 2012, 12:37 AM |#20  
silverbmw801's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Worked Great!
Worked Great! Thank you!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
aroma, att sgs3, de-bloat, debloat, utility
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes