FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Downgrading from (stock) ICS to Honeycomb

20 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By iAMLIMITLESS, Junior Member on 25th June 2012, 11:37 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all, So i have a galaxy tab 2 7" gt-p3113 with root access. I need to know how to, if possible, downgrade from the stock ics 4.03 that it was shipped with to Honeycomb. There just arent enough apps availiable for ICS and a lot of them are so buggy I'd rather have honeycomb. Any ideas? If I am not mistaken the process is pertinent to each device and might not even be possible since the gt-p3113 and gt-p3110 are shipped with ics... Hopefully it can be done
 
 
26th June 2012, 12:00 AM |#2  
Darunion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 881
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iAMLIMITLESS

Hi all, So i have a galaxy tab 2 7" gt-p3113 with root access. I need to know how to, if possible, downgrade from the stock ics 4.03 that it was shipped with to Honeycomb. There just arent enough apps availiable for ICS and a lot of them are so buggy I'd rather have honeycomb. Any ideas? If I am not mistaken the process is pertinent to each device and might not even be possible since the gt-p3113 and gt-p3110 are shipped with ics... Hopefully it can be done

nothing to downgrade. ics is stock lowest on these. And I don't see much desire to develop custom roms for an older android system. Best bet just wait it out, ics is new, just like hc and gb were. When they came out apps had glitches too.
26th June 2012, 02:18 AM |#3  
imnuts's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag West Chester
Thanks Meter: 3,089
 
Donate to Me
More
I haven't found any apps that give me issues on ICS yet. Have you bothered reporting the apps you're having issues with to let the developer(s) know there are problems? Also, the only way to get Honeycomb would be to build it from AOSP, which likely isn't going to happen.
26th June 2012, 02:41 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 461
 
More
What apps are you having issues with? I haven't seen any apps having issues with ics.

Sent from my GT-P3113 using Tapatalk 2
26th June 2012, 04:35 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Yeah ok... i was just hoping. Yes I have been reporting all the issues. Alot of them its mostly it loads to the title screen then crashes and closes. I cant tell you specifically which ones, its happened with a lot of apps, mostly games tho. I just really want to be able to play nova 3 and modern combat 3 and Im having trouble getting an apk and the sd data files...
26th June 2012, 05:11 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iAMLIMITLESS

Yeah ok... i was just hoping. Yes I have been reporting all the issues. Alot of them its mostly it loads to the title screen then crashes and closes. I cant tell you specifically which ones, its happened with a lot of apps, mostly games tho. I just really want to be able to play nova 3 and modern combat 3 and Im having trouble getting an apk and the sd data files...

I've gotten those two games to run and download SD data by modifying my build.prop to match the Galaxy Nexus.. You don't want to run them on your tablet anyway, it was quite laggy when I tried. Other GL games work fine.. like order and chaos, asphalt 6, etc.
Last edited by nphil; 26th June 2012 at 05:14 AM.
26th June 2012, 08:30 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
ya same nova3 was fine mc3 was super laggy and choppy.... sad day.
would overclocking it help? and if so, what is it safe to overclock it to?
Last edited by iAMLIMITLESS; 26th June 2012 at 08:40 PM.
27th June 2012, 04:32 AM |#8  
Ryanscool's Avatar
Senior Member
Denver
Thanks Meter: 195
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nphil

I've gotten those two games to run and download SD data by modifying my build.prop to match the Galaxy Nexus.. You don't want to run them on your tablet anyway, it was quite laggy when I tried. Other GL games work fine.. like order and chaos, asphalt 6, etc.

Mc3 maybe didn't run right because it needs some mods. It didn't run right on my phone until they released it officially for it.
26th August 2012, 02:18 PM |#9  
donwm's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
not enough ram for ics os
galaxy 2 doesn't have enough ram to run ics and apps too, at least not efficiently. I have sg2 phone and now the tab and I think ICS uses too many resources to allow apps to run effectively too. I see alot of force closes and very laggy performance . I upgraded phone to iCS and hated it. Odined back to gingerbread. May take the tab back because of ics. (Tab has same memory structure as sg2 phone ). I do use GO launcher which I'm sure eats some resources ,so I'll try taking that off and see if there is a vast improvement, but I suspect there won't be .
26th August 2012, 07:35 PM |#10  
MultipleMonomials's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 244
 
More
I've actually found ICS to be less buggy then HC and GB. Maybe your fc issues are caused by something else? Gameloft's non-support for the gtab2 is a known issue, but the other problems could be fixed by fixing permissions in CWM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes