Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more
Post Reply

[Q] If I root, will the SIM-unlock still work?

OP Gig103

26th June 2012, 12:38 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I'm working on changing to a Droid4 to get LTE.

My plan tonight is to call Verizon to have them unlock the Droid2's SIM slot so that when i travel, I can use the phone with prepaid SIM overseas.

But I also wanted to root the Droid2 so I can use Titanium Backup and move apps and their data to the new phone.

If I root after getting my SIM unlocked, will it break the unlock? I'm not sure if it's a software unlock or whatnot...
26th June 2012, 12:48 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
I am 99% sure that just by rooting your phone will not mess with your card. All rooting dose is give you access to all the files of your system so I think your safe

Sent from my Droid using XDA
26th June 2012, 04:46 AM   |  #3  
jabberwockish's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by androidjtc

I am 99% sure that just by rooting your phone will not mess with your card. All rooting dose is give you access to all the files of your system so I think your safe

SIM-unlocking a phone has nothing to do with setting or disabling a SIM PIN—it's something you do to the phone, not the card. So it isn't unreasonable to wonder whether rooting will interfere with SIM lock/unlock state.

That said, SIM lock/unlock state is completely separate from the phone's operating system (except that you must be running a stock Motorola firmware to SIM-unlock the phone). Once it's unlocked, it stays unlocked; rooting, unrooting, flashing different ROMs, etc. will not re-enable the SIM lock.
The Following User Says Thank You to jabberwockish For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2012, 08:58 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Thank you! Now the question becomes, if I unlock the SIM with the existing stock ROM (629), then go through the rooting process, do I lose the change? Should I root, then call VZW?
26th June 2012, 09:44 PM   |  #5  
Gasai Yuno's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rausu
Thanks Meter: 338
 
721 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gig103

Thank you! Now the question becomes, if I unlock the SIM with the existing stock ROM (629), then go through the rooting process, do I lose the change? Should I root, then call VZW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabberwockish

That said, SIM lock/unlock state is completely separate from the phone's operating system (except that you must be running a stock Motorola firmware to SIM-unlock the phone). Once it's unlocked, it stays unlocked; rooting, unrooting, flashing different ROMs, etc. will not re-enable the SIM lock.

Reading, can you do it?
The Following User Says Thank You to Gasai Yuno For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2012, 04:58 AM   |  #6  
jabberwockish's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gig103

Thank you! Now the question becomes, if I unlock the SIM with the existing stock ROM (629), then go through the rooting process, do I lose the change? Should I root, then call VZW?

Did you even read what I posted?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabberwockish

Once it's unlocked, it stays unlocked; rooting, unrooting, flashing different ROMs, etc. will not re-enable the SIM lock.

27th June 2012, 07:11 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I guess not. Sorry.. When it said a stock rom was needed, I thought that meant it had to be stock to work. Rooting by itself doesn't affect the image on my HTC, but does for the d2.
Last edited by Gig103; 27th June 2012 at 07:14 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes