Open War for Open Android: Antitrust for Cyanogen?

Android and openness is something we talk about all the time, but the recent … more

What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more

New Cyanogen Partnerships Bring Privacy Concerns

New Privacy concerns have emerged regarding Cyanogen’s latest announcements, … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] If I root, will the SIM-unlock still work?

26th June 2012, 12:38 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I'm working on changing to a Droid4 to get LTE.

My plan tonight is to call Verizon to have them unlock the Droid2's SIM slot so that when i travel, I can use the phone with prepaid SIM overseas.

But I also wanted to root the Droid2 so I can use Titanium Backup and move apps and their data to the new phone.

If I root after getting my SIM unlocked, will it break the unlock? I'm not sure if it's a software unlock or whatnot...
 
 
26th June 2012, 12:48 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
I am 99% sure that just by rooting your phone will not mess with your card. All rooting dose is give you access to all the files of your system so I think your safe

Sent from my Droid using XDA
26th June 2012, 04:46 AM |#3  
jabberwockish's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by androidjtc

I am 99% sure that just by rooting your phone will not mess with your card. All rooting dose is give you access to all the files of your system so I think your safe

SIM-unlocking a phone has nothing to do with setting or disabling a SIM PIN—it's something you do to the phone, not the card. So it isn't unreasonable to wonder whether rooting will interfere with SIM lock/unlock state.

That said, SIM lock/unlock state is completely separate from the phone's operating system (except that you must be running a stock Motorola firmware to SIM-unlock the phone). Once it's unlocked, it stays unlocked; rooting, unrooting, flashing different ROMs, etc. will not re-enable the SIM lock.
The Following User Says Thank You to jabberwockish For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th June 2012, 08:58 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Thank you! Now the question becomes, if I unlock the SIM with the existing stock ROM (629), then go through the rooting process, do I lose the change? Should I root, then call VZW?
26th June 2012, 09:44 PM |#5  
Gasai Yuno's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rausu
Thanks Meter: 339
 
721 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gig103

Thank you! Now the question becomes, if I unlock the SIM with the existing stock ROM (629), then go through the rooting process, do I lose the change? Should I root, then call VZW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabberwockish

That said, SIM lock/unlock state is completely separate from the phone's operating system (except that you must be running a stock Motorola firmware to SIM-unlock the phone). Once it's unlocked, it stays unlocked; rooting, unrooting, flashing different ROMs, etc. will not re-enable the SIM lock.

Reading, can you do it?
The Following User Says Thank You to Gasai Yuno For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2012, 04:58 AM |#6  
jabberwockish's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gig103

Thank you! Now the question becomes, if I unlock the SIM with the existing stock ROM (629), then go through the rooting process, do I lose the change? Should I root, then call VZW?

Did you even read what I posted?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabberwockish

Once it's unlocked, it stays unlocked; rooting, unrooting, flashing different ROMs, etc. will not re-enable the SIM lock.

27th June 2012, 07:11 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I guess not. Sorry.. When it said a stock rom was needed, I thought that meant it had to be stock to work. Rooting by itself doesn't affect the image on my HTC, but does for the d2.
Last edited by Gig103; 27th June 2012 at 07:14 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes