Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,360 Members 50,189 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Explicit summary on basebands, firmwares, etc...[SOLVED]

Tip us?
 
minikrob
Old
(Last edited by minikrob; 28th June 2012 at 04:18 PM.) Reason: Problem solved
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Question [Q] Explicit summary on basebands, firmwares, etc...[SOLVED]

Hello guys,

1st of all, I've been looking through forums and "Similar threads we found" but didn't find the one thing I need : a perfect synthesis on ROMs, Kernels, basebands, etc...
I hope you guys can help me !

I'm a recently owner of the LT18i and tried to flash Kernel and ROMs on it, but failed mainly because I was too drunk to follow steps in the meant order.

Config :
LT18i Stock ROM GB 2.4.3
Baseband 64
Build 4.0.2.A.0.62

Here I am today with this choice :
- Try again to install Arconium 7.3 as I originally planned (the one designed for my build).
- Find others ROMs / Kernels to flash.

I'd like to update on an early version of Andro´d (most likely ICS) but need a few answers to following questions before I feel confident :
- Is it possible and safe (regarding AND regardless my phone) to change my build from 4.0.2.A.0.62 to 4.1.B.0.431 or anything accepting ICS on Arc S ?
- Does baseband change anything in the process, if yes, how ?
- Is it sufficient just to flash the last kernel and last ROM on my phone to have ICS on my stock GB phone ?

Please note I'm not actually a beginner as I already touched to ROMs, CWM, ..., but I'm like totally lost when I see information widespread on hundreds of different threads of thousands of pages each !

In a nutshell, I just need a few steps synthesis of how I could switch from my current config to an ICS 4.x Arconium Arc S (if it is possible).

Thanks in advance,
Minikrob
 
arpith.fbi
Old
(Last edited by arpith.fbi; 28th June 2012 at 03:26 PM.)
#2  
arpith.fbi's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 532
Posts: 1,304
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Bangalore

 
DONATE TO ME
Its not hard at all to cwitch from GB to ICS...

stuffs required:
- ICS kernel( Xarc or ArcKnight recommended)
- Custom ROM( Arconium ICS 4.0 recommended as it is based on stock ICS )
- Baseband 72

yes it is 100% safe to taste ICS
Baseband as the name suggest is required for mobile network..latest one normal has btr network coverage with btr battery life
You need to flash a ICS kernel and an ICS ROM as i have mentioned above

steps:
Copy ROM to sd card
Flash a Kernel with flashtools
Flash baseband in fastboot
enter recovery and clean everything(data,cache)
Flash ROM
Reboot

I hope you know how to enter recovery and all
----------->
Phone: HTC One X
ROM: CyanogenMod 10.2
OS: Jelly Beans 4.3

Phone: Sony Xperia Z
ROM:monxDIFIED
OS: Jelly Beans 4.3

Phone: HTC One
ROM:EclipticONE-Inverted
OS: KitKat 4.4
 
minikrob
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
steps:
Copy ROM to sd card
Flash a Kernel with flashtools
Flash baseband in fastboot
enter recovery and clean everything(data,cache)
Flash ROM
Reboot

I hope you know how to enter recovery and all
I know how to !
This is great, exactly what I was looking for. I might sound like dumb, but the single thing I didn't even know about is we could flash Basebands.

I've now all necessary tools to taste ICS, as you said !
Thanks a lot !
 
smartarse93
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 125
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpith.fbi View Post
Its not hard at all to cwitch from GB to ICS...

stuffs required:
- ICS kernel( Xarc or ArcKnight recommended)
- Custom ROM( Arconium ICS 4.0 recommended as it is based on stock ICS )
- Baseband 72

yes it is 100% safe to taste ICS
Baseband as the name suggest is required for mobile network..latest one normal has btr network coverage with btr battery life
You need to flash a ICS kernel and an ICS ROM as i have mentioned above

steps:
Copy ROM to sd card
Flash a Kernel with flashtools
Flash baseband in fastboot
enter recovery and clean everything(data,cache)
Flash ROM
Reboot

I hope you know how to enter recovery and all

I believe it is the other way around, flash baseband in flashtools and kernel in fastboot. I would say your better off either getting the ftf of ics 4.0.4 or flashing via pcc if its available for you. It might be worth seeing if you like the UI before you start getting into custom roms etc.
 
minikrob
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by smartarse93 View Post
I believe it is the other way around, flash baseband in flashtools and kernel in fastboot.
I'm pretty sure I've to flash my kernel via Flashtool, I did it before, can't say for the baseband, but I'll find a way.

And I already globally looked at ICS, this seems pretty cool to me, it will do it !
 
sunbriel
Old
#6  
sunbriel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 679
Posts: 1,323
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by minikrob View Post
I'm pretty sure I've to flash my kernel via Flashtool, I did it before, can't say for the baseband, but I'll find a way.

And I already globally looked at ICS, this seems pretty cool to me, it will do it !
Either in command prompt fastboot flash boot boot.img, or whatever the name of the .img, or with Flashtool -> fastboot mode -> Select kernel to flash. And BBs are flashed via Flashtool as well, just flash mode, not fastboot mode.

Sent from my crAXperia Arc
Smartphone history:

Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc LT15i (passed on)
 
midnight blue
fully unlocked and rooted
GB .79 FW, Gin2KitKat (until given back)
housing planned to be replaced


Sony Xperia Z C6603 (currently in use)
 
black
rooted
locked due to being bought from carrier
KK .233 FW, Criskelo 6.9
completely eXposed
back cover (cracked) and USB flap cover (came loose) planned to be replaced
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more