5,600,483 Members 32,778 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide]Rooting Xperia S ICS and GB (Locked Bootloaders) (Easier new method with CWM)

Tip us?
 
Sharaz22
Old
(Last edited by Sharaz22; 6th August 2012 at 03:56 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 307
Posts: 165
Join Date: Mar 2011
Angry [Guide]Rooting Xperia S ICS and GB (Locked Bootloaders) (Easier new method with CWM)

This tutorial will show you how to root your xperia s

Make Sure You are on gingerbread stock rom

ROOT TOOLKIT http://www.mediafire.com/?o1v2o6afuoc1w33

(1) Application Settings: [Unknown sources] checked {Allowed}
(2) Application Settings: Development [USB debugging] checked {Allowed}
(3) Application Settings: Development [Stay awake] checked {Allowed}
(4) Settings -> Display settings [Screen timeout] Set to 30 minutes
*If your screen goes off just once then you wonít be able to return to the installation properly. Very important!!
Please think about your battery and try to keep the display brightness to a minimum.
(5) Please use a regular picture for the background. Do not use the default live wallpaper.
(6) Charge the Xperia Sís battery to 80%.
(7) Use the Generic CH (1257-3740) XPERIA S LT26i ROM (6.1.A.0.452).
Can be found here along with the latest FLASTOOL link: http://www.xdafileserver.nl/index.ph...9%2FSTOCK+ROMS
(8) Net framework 3.5 or later
(9) Gingerbread part 1 http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?004x3fnftr32135 part 2 http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?23e963o6a8dq8rg

[Installation Process]

(1) Flash Gingerbread firmware wiping data and cache only if you are not on gingerbread
(2) Run Step 1.bat
(3) Install ICE CREAM SANDWICH without wiping anything
(4) Run step 2.bat

To enter CWM recovery you have to tap on sony logo at start few times.

If it does not root properly first time run it again

Thanks to Bin4ry for the files
The Following 106 Users Say Thank You to Sharaz22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fNOOB
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 114
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
So this is root without unlocked bootloader?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fNOOB For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Sharaz22
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 307
Posts: 165
Join Date: Mar 2011
Yes it will root locked bootloader's.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Sharaz22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
manwlis77
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: Dec 2009
work with sola?
 
Sharaz22
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 307
Posts: 165
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by manwlis77 View Post
work with sola?
Not tried it as i don't have the handset.
 
fNOOB
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 114
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharaz22 View Post
Yes it will root locked bootloader's.
Someone needs to test this (I'm already unlocked/rooted) and if it works, then this needs to be stickied!

Big step forward for the community
The Following User Says Thank You to fNOOB For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
manwlis77
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 78
Join Date: Dec 2009
ok thanks you!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharaz22 View Post
Not tried it as i don't have the handset.
 
Sharaz22
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 307
Posts: 165
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fNOOB View Post
Someone needs to test this (I'm already unlocked/rooted) and if it works, then this needs to be stickied!

Big step forward for the community
This Works i tried it on mine as i am the unlucky one who cannot unlock bootloader
The Following User Says Thank You to Sharaz22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fNOOB
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 114
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharaz22 View Post
This Works i tried it on mine as i am the unlucky one who cannot unlock bootloader
So you can install Superuser and update binaries?
 
Sharaz22
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 307
Posts: 165
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fNOOB View Post
So you can install Superuser and update binaries?

Yes i have full root only need CWM Recovery Now

The Following User Says Thank You to Sharaz22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes