Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Guide]Rooting Xperia S ICS and GB (Locked Bootloaders) (Easier new method with CWM)

OP Sharaz22

30th June 2012, 03:43 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 309
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
This tutorial will show you how to root your xperia s

Make Sure You are on gingerbread stock rom

ROOT TOOLKIT http://www.mediafire.com/?o1v2o6afuoc1w33

(1) Application Settings: [Unknown sources] checked {Allowed}
(2) Application Settings: Development [USB debugging] checked {Allowed}
(3) Application Settings: Development [Stay awake] checked {Allowed}
(4) Settings -> Display settings [Screen timeout] Set to 30 minutes
*If your screen goes off just once then you wonít be able to return to the installation properly. Very important!!
Please think about your battery and try to keep the display brightness to a minimum.
(5) Please use a regular picture for the background. Do not use the default live wallpaper.
(6) Charge the Xperia Sís battery to 80%.
(7) Use the Generic CH (1257-3740) XPERIA S LT26i ROM (6.1.A.0.452).
Can be found here along with the latest FLASTOOL link: http://www.xdafileserver.nl/index.ph...9%2FSTOCK+ROMS
(8) Net framework 3.5 or later
(9) Gingerbread part 1 http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?004x3fnftr32135 part 2 http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?23e963o6a8dq8rg

[Installation Process]

(1) Flash Gingerbread firmware wiping data and cache only if you are not on gingerbread
(2) Run Step 1.bat
(3) Install ICE CREAM SANDWICH without wiping anything
(4) Run step 2.bat

To enter CWM recovery you have to tap on sony logo at start few times.

If it does not root properly first time run it again

Thanks to Bin4ry for the files
Last edited by Sharaz22; 6th August 2012 at 04:56 PM.
The Following 107 Users Say Thank You to Sharaz22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2012, 04:14 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 33
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
So this is root without unlocked bootloader?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fNOOB For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2012, 04:18 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 309
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Yes it will root locked bootloader's.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Sharaz22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2012, 04:24 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
work with sola?
30th June 2012, 04:26 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 309
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by manwlis77

work with sola?

Not tried it as i don't have the handset.
30th June 2012, 04:28 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 33
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharaz22

Yes it will root locked bootloader's.

Someone needs to test this (I'm already unlocked/rooted) and if it works, then this needs to be stickied!

Big step forward for the community
The Following User Says Thank You to fNOOB For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2012, 04:28 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
78 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
ok thanks you!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharaz22

Not tried it as i don't have the handset.

30th June 2012, 04:38 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 309
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fNOOB

Someone needs to test this (I'm already unlocked/rooted) and if it works, then this needs to be stickied!

Big step forward for the community

This Works i tried it on mine as i am the unlucky one who cannot unlock bootloader
The Following User Says Thank You to Sharaz22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2012, 04:53 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 33
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharaz22

This Works i tried it on mine as i am the unlucky one who cannot unlock bootloader

So you can install Superuser and update binaries?
30th June 2012, 05:00 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 309
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fNOOB

So you can install Superuser and update binaries?


Yes i have full root only need CWM Recovery Now

The Following User Says Thank You to Sharaz22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes