Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,941 Members 38,280 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Chrome, chrome, chrome.....

Tip us?
 
foxorroxors
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 196
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newmarket
Default Chrome, chrome, chrome.....

Ordered my nexus 7 (x2) as soon as there was a button on the UK website. Now I know chrome is the default browser, so I thought sweet, I'll install it on my a500 so I can get used to it before the tab arrive's.

Omg, what a piece of rubbish, every time I change tabs from XDA to another site the page is just plain white, then back to XDA since it was already tabbed and loaded you'd assume it would still be, but no. Its plain white. Then to piss me off even more halve way though writing this post it crashed lol! What kind of a browser crashes inputting text lol. I wanted to like it, in fact I do like the interface but the bugs are just not fun!

uninstalling that crap and going with the good old opera :)

Anyone else having probs with it ?

Fox
 
movieaddict
Old
#2  
movieaddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 356
Posts: 2,105
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
I'll just, use dolphin HD as I have been for awhile.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda premium
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffcorey View Post
You don't have to do anything in life except die. But unless you don't want any headaches, listen to the people giving you advice, they know what they're talking about.

IF ur a Noob watch this!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmvCpR45LKA

IF I HAVE HELPED U, I WOULD LOVE TO BE THANKED

My phone: Tmobil Samsung Galaxy S 4-rooted loving it!!


NEXus 7: rooted and loving it
 
baggy247
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sheffield

 
DONATE TO ME
You must have something wrong with your A500, because that's not the experience I get on my Xoom or Galaxy Nexus...
 
nerfman100
Old
#4  
nerfman100's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 400
Join Date: Jan 2012
The plain ol' Browser will be on the Market for download. I have no idea why Chrome is the default browser.
 
foxorroxors
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 196
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newmarket
Quote:
Originally Posted by baggy247 View Post
You must have something wrong with your A500, because that's not the experience I get on my Xoom or Galaxy Nexus...
I was thinking it could be linked to the rom I use, tegraowners ics v170... but any other browser is fine =(
 
baggy247
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sheffield

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxorroxors View Post
I was thinking it could be linked to the rom I use, tegraowners ics v170... but any other browser is fine =(
I don't know about A500 roms but to me it sounds like a memory issue or something, its sort of "killing" tabs to save memory and then reloading them once you need them again. Maybe some background processes eating memory?
Phone: Galaxy Nexus (GSM) ROM: AOKP JellyBean build 5 Kernel: franco.Kernel
Tablet: Nexus 7 16GB ROM: Stock 4.1.2 Kernel: franco.Kernel
Previous: HTC Desire, Motorola Xoom Wi-Fi
 
MaxCarnage
Old
#7  
MaxCarnage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 786
Posts: 1,718
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by baggy247 View Post
You must have something wrong with your A500, because that's not the experience I get on my Xoom or Galaxy Nexus...
Yeah I don't even have that problem on my Skyrocket. Chrome rocks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727
Google Nexus 5 (Unlocked) on AT&T
- Stock 4.4

Nexus 7 (2013) Wifi
- Stock 4.3

Previous Smartphones: Galaxy S4, iPhone 5, Nexus 4, Skyrocket, iPhone 4S, Galaxy Nexus, Nexus S, EVO 4G, iPhone 3G, iPhone, HTC Tilt, Samsung BlackJack, HTC Wizard
 
Fall Guy
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 154
Join Date: Jan 2010
It does crash occasionly if you keep getting a white page it can clear by going back a page then trying again if not close it then task kill it after that it will be fine.

Overall I find it to be far better than std browser.
Nexus 4 16Gb
Nexus 7 16Gb
Nexus 10 32Gb
 
foxorroxors
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 196
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newmarket
I'm a very "clean user" I have fb opera order and chaos, that's it. thinking though maybe one of the processes I have disabled, chrome uses, I disable everything I don't use, camera Calender live wp themes etc, maybe that's the issue?
 
armyboy11b
Old
#10  
armyboy11b's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 953
Posts: 2,501
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: new orleans
It don't crash for me at all...works fine and it doesn't look bad enough to use something else

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
-DEVICES-
------------------------
*Galaxy note i717
Rom-black+star v3
*Nexus 7 tab (shipping)
Rom-stock
------------------------
*U.S ARMY*
PARA-T

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes