FORUMS

Make Your Network Smart – XDA Xposed Tuesday

We rave about the features and abilities of our smartphones. However, in order for … more

Dr.Ketan Brings The S6 Theme Store To The Note 4

Dr.Ketan has submitted a video to the forums showing a functional port of the Galaxy S6 … more

Do You Have Insurance on Your Smartphone?

While affordable smartphones are becoming more available, the majority of high-end flagships … more

Apple Music Will Increase iTunes Match to 100,000 Songs

The battle for music streaming subscription dominance is starting to really heat … more

Chrome, chrome, chrome.....

196 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By foxorroxors, Senior Member on 1st July 2012, 06:50 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Ordered my nexus 7 (x2) as soon as there was a button on the UK website. Now I know chrome is the default browser, so I thought sweet, I'll install it on my a500 so I can get used to it before the tab arrive's.

Omg, what a piece of rubbish, every time I change tabs from XDA to another site the page is just plain white, then back to XDA since it was already tabbed and loaded you'd assume it would still be, but no. Its plain white. Then to piss me off even more halve way though writing this post it crashed lol! What kind of a browser crashes inputting text lol. I wanted to like it, in fact I do like the interface but the bugs are just not fun!

uninstalling that crap and going with the good old opera :)

Anyone else having probs with it ?

Fox
 
 
1st July 2012, 06:57 PM |#2  
movieaddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 361
 
Donate to Me
More
I'll just, use dolphin HD as I have been for awhile.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-T989 using xda premium
1st July 2012, 07:02 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Sheffield
Thanks Meter: 18
 
Donate to Me
More
You must have something wrong with your A500, because that's not the experience I get on my Xoom or Galaxy Nexus...
1st July 2012, 07:07 PM |#4  
nerfman100's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 87
 
More
The plain ol' Browser will be on the Market for download. I have no idea why Chrome is the default browser.
1st July 2012, 07:09 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Newmarket
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baggy247

You must have something wrong with your A500, because that's not the experience I get on my Xoom or Galaxy Nexus...

I was thinking it could be linked to the rom I use, tegraowners ics v170... but any other browser is fine =(
1st July 2012, 07:31 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Sheffield
Thanks Meter: 18
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxorroxors

I was thinking it could be linked to the rom I use, tegraowners ics v170... but any other browser is fine =(

I don't know about A500 roms but to me it sounds like a memory issue or something, its sort of "killing" tabs to save memory and then reloading them once you need them again. Maybe some background processes eating memory?
1st July 2012, 07:37 PM |#7  
MaxCarnage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 786
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by baggy247

You must have something wrong with your A500, because that's not the experience I get on my Xoom or Galaxy Nexus...

Yeah I don't even have that problem on my Skyrocket. Chrome rocks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727
1st July 2012, 07:46 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
It does crash occasionly if you keep getting a white page it can clear by going back a page then trying again if not close it then task kill it after that it will be fine.

Overall I find it to be far better than std browser.
1st July 2012, 07:55 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Newmarket
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
I'm a very "clean user" I have fb opera order and chaos, that's it. thinking though maybe one of the processes I have disabled, chrome uses, I disable everything I don't use, camera Calender live wp themes etc, maybe that's the issue?
1st July 2012, 07:56 PM |#10  
armyboy11b's Avatar
Senior Member
new orleans
Thanks Meter: 952
 
More
It don't crash for me at all...works fine and it doesn't look bad enough to use something else

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes