5,599,135 Members 34,908 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC HD2 USB doesn't detect with MAGLDR

Tip us?
 
harjeetgrover
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi
Default [Q] HTC HD2 USB doesn't detect with MAGLDR

Hello,

I recently purchased HTC HD2 from someone. It came to me with Android 2.2 froyo installed in it through NAND. Now when I am trying to put ICS replacing froyo or when I am trying to put WINMO 7.5 Mango along with android it doesn't detect USB device connection.

All other features are working perfectly like, phone charging through USB, USB detection for SD card etc.
USB doesn't detect only when I try to run through MAGLDR. For example: when I am switching ON my phone by pressing Voume down key along with power key, colourful screen appears with "SERIAL" written on it. Now when I connect phone to my PC through USB it doesn't change to "USB" from "SERIAL".
Also when I am switching ON my phone by continuously pressing power key to get into MAGLDR mode and trying to flash using the 5th option "USB Flasher Mode", here also I can see just "Wait USB…" rather as per the tutorials it should display "Wait USB…USB".

Now because of this issue I am unable to use my HD2 using WINMO or with any other android OS.

Please help with any option so as I can use the USB feature or to install different OS. My motiv behind purchasing this set was only the customization I can do with the phone. Now without which my motive is getting failed.. Please help me guys ..

Thanks,
Harjeet
 
samsamuel
Old
#2  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1036
Posts: 9,063
Join Date: Nov 2006
What's your PC setup?
A few things,,
In wmdc untick allow USB connections,, the wmdc that comes with vista/win7 isn't the latest version, Google the Microsoft wmdc page and manually download+install, try not to use a 64 bit windows machine if you have the option, (winxp for preference), running an os through any virtual machine type setup can be problematic, try different USB ports, for magldr it needs the android drivers,,,they can be found in various ways, they're linked in the nand toolkit thread, or I think installing "myphoneexplorer " on the PC installs them too, or Google the android sdk (that's a long and complicated way to get them)
O2 UK (Contract) APN settings data & MMS combined

Various radios, stock roms and tools HERE

UK 3.14 hd2 stock roms on HTC.com

Want to say thanks? Do you buy stuff on eBay? Click HERE to donate to me FOR FREE

PACpacPACpacPACpacPAC

'If there's an emergency, you have my permission to panic, and run about screaming.'

2nd nun says "yes, doesn't it." 1st nun says "no i said where's the POPE?"
 
harjeetgrover
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi
Thanks for replying..

First thing.. Do I need to install WMDC when I am not having windows OS itself in my phone? This is just a question because as per my knowledge I don't need to install WMDC unless I am using windows in my Mobile.
At present mobile is purely an android phone with android OS installed in NAND.

And yes I am having Windows XP 32 bit with me. I already tried with different data cables and in different USB slots but USB connection for installing new OS doesn't work. Other then this all other features of USB are working perfectly.

Please revert in case my opinion is wrong.

Thanks,
Harjeet
 
samsamuel
Old
#4  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1036
Posts: 9,063
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeetgrover View Post
At present mobile is purely an android phone
no its not, its a windows mobile phone with a hacked winmo bootloader allowing it to run a custom bootloader (magldr or clk) which enables android to run.

Anything you do in the winmo bootloader (stripey screen - hspl, task29/flashing magldr/flashing stock roms, flashing radios - ) all requires windows mobile usb drivers.

Anything you do from the magldr screen requires android usb drivers.
O2 UK (Contract) APN settings data & MMS combined

Various radios, stock roms and tools HERE

UK 3.14 hd2 stock roms on HTC.com

Want to say thanks? Do you buy stuff on eBay? Click HERE to donate to me FOR FREE

PACpacPACpacPACpacPAC

'If there's an emergency, you have my permission to panic, and run about screaming.'

2nd nun says "yes, doesn't it." 1st nun says "no i said where's the POPE?"
The Following User Says Thank You to samsamuel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
harjeetgrover
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Delhi
Hey Sam,

I can't believe it.. I was wrong.. Just installed Active Sync and tried again.. It worked..

You were right.. Thanks a ton champ..
 
shanman-2
Old
#6  
shanman-2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 600
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cork
Quote:
Originally Posted by harjeetgrover View Post
Hey Sam,

I can't believe it.. I was wrong.. Just installed Active Sync and tried again.. It worked..

You were right.. Thanks a ton champ..
Somebody recognized Samsamuel, not for no reason I assume, but who?
Device:Samsung Galaxy s3 mini GT-I8190
Rom: Stock Android 4.1.2- Rooted
Recovery: TWRP v2.6.3.0

It;s nice to be nice
 
samsamuel
Old
#7  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1036
Posts: 9,063
Join Date: Nov 2006
the all-seeing-eye recognises us ALL!
O2 UK (Contract) APN settings data & MMS combined

Various radios, stock roms and tools HERE

UK 3.14 hd2 stock roms on HTC.com

Want to say thanks? Do you buy stuff on eBay? Click HERE to donate to me FOR FREE

PACpacPACpacPACpacPAC

'If there's an emergency, you have my permission to panic, and run about screaming.'

2nd nun says "yes, doesn't it." 1st nun says "no i said where's the POPE?"
 
Bertussie
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 33
Join Date: Sep 2009
Hello all.

When you've got some problems with you datacable via phone/pc is also this a solution.

Be sure you've make a copy of your SD-card and after when you copied SD to PC (harddisc) via datacable or cardreader and after this you gonna formatting your SD-card or you buy a new SD-card.

Then put new or formatted SD-card into your phone and started it up in bootloadermenu (colorscreened) <volume down> and after this you wil see now in place only "serial" changed into "USB".

I'll be hope that this wil working.

I've my HTC HD2 also working when i fixed this.

HTC HD2 / PACman Android version 4.1.2 (latest version) / Magldr 1.13 / CWM recovery 3.2.0.0 <this combine works very simple and als this Android rom is stable and fast without automatically rebooting time.

For more you've check <HTC HD2 Android roms>

I wish you good luck with your phone...

 
DuffyLaad
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Nov 2012
i have the same problem
 
pajan
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cesky Brod
I had the same problem on my Windows 7 x64. Then I tried to connect HD2 to my older Win XP notebook and there it worked. So I found somewhere, I should update drivers in my Windows 7 system. I downloaded file "drvupdate-amd64.exe" from Microsoft (search in Google for "Microsoft Windows Mobile Device Center 6.1 Driver for Windows Vista (64-bit)"), installed it and then it started to work (it took a while, before it started to work, but it started). When I connected my HD2, Windows found the driver, installed it and "SERIAL" changed to "USB" finally.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Multiboot in Progress for the Sony Xperia Z1

As we’ve mentioned quite a few times in the past, multiboot is quite the interesting … more

Samsung EFS Tool Updated to V5, Brings Universal Device Support

You may recall that we’ve talked about XDA Recognized Contributor … more

Say Goodbye to Holo Blue Once and for All

When Google released Android 4.4 KitKat back in October of last year, they changed quite a bit … more

Sony Z Ultra Google Play Edition Receives Bluetooth Certification for Android 4.4.3

You may recall that a few days ago, Sprint jumped the gun … more