FORUMS

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more

XPrivacy for Android Lollipop – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Have you ever been on the Google Play Store and saw an app that you wanted to … more

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[KERNEL] [3.1.10] [OC@1.5GHz/OV/BFQ/smartassv2/init.d] Atlantis R2

2nd July 2012, 02:09 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 134
 
More
This is my first kernel build ever (not just for the Nexus 7). Just a starting point for more hacking on the Nexus 7.

Flashable zip package attached.

It should go without saying that anything you do with this package you do at your own risk.

Features
  • Insecure
  • init.d support
  • Overclocked to 1.5GHz
  • Voltage tweaks at OC clocks
  • BFQ scheduler
  • smartassv2 governor
  • lagfree governor
  • Made kernel version not suck

Notes
You should root and install busybox into /system/xbin before flashing this kernel. Don't flash this if you don't know what you're doing as I'm too lazy to include n00b instructions.

Credits
Thanks to Virtuous team for their updater-script for this device.

Source
https://github.com/zaventh/nexus7-kernel-grouper

Blog post
http://www.jeffmixon.com/custom-nexu...s-r2-released/

Screens




Cheers...
Attached Files
File Type: zip atlantis_r2_n7_grouper.zip - [Click for QR Code] (5.30 MB, 3984 views)
Last edited by zaventh; 17th July 2012 at 11:14 PM. Reason: added link to my blog...
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to zaventh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
4th July 2012, 02:52 AM |#2  
Caliyork's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Riverside, CA
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
That CPU score is sexy!
4th July 2012, 03:09 AM |#3  
MC153's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern, Utah
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Great work! Now I definitely can't wait for my nexus to ship.

Edit: If you could try adding smartassv2. This is a popular governor that I would really enjoy on the nexus 7.

Sent from my Transformer using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by MC153; 4th July 2012 at 03:12 AM.
4th July 2012, 04:07 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 4,289
 
Donate to Me
More
this is compatible with the stock rom right? ik it has to be rooted btw :P
4th July 2012, 04:54 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 134
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliyork

That CPU score is sexy!

Yes it is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC153

Great work! Now I definitely can't wait for my nexus to ship.

Edit: If you could try adding smartassv2. This is a popular governor that I would really enjoy on the nexus 7.

Sent from my Transformer using Tapatalk 2

Sure. I'll be adding several custom governors to choose from.



Quote:
Originally Posted by jarjar124

this is compatible with the stock rom right? ik it has to be rooted btw :P

Yes, it's compiled from stock kernel sources.
Last edited by zaventh; 4th July 2012 at 04:58 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zaventh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 05:23 AM |#6  
evilstewie23's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag AZ
Thanks Meter: 256
 
More
Thanks so much man. Can't wait to get my nexus so I can flash this. Hopefully before the 18th which is my birthday. I had heard though that smartass didn't work so well with more than 1 core though. Could you clarify on that.

Sent from my Rezound
4th July 2012, 05:32 AM |#7  
sparksco's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,414
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilstewie23

Thanks so much man. Can't wait to get my nexus so I can flash this. Hopefully before the 18th which is my birthday. I had heard though that smartass didn't work so well with more than 1 core though. Could you clarify on that.

Sent from my Rezound

Smartass v1 was made for single core cpu's. Smartass v2 was made for dual core cpu's, so v2 might work better on a quad core? V2 doesn't really work all that well on my single core cpu for the phone I have.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sparksco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 05:56 AM |#8  
MC153's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northern, Utah
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaventh

Yes it is...



Sure. I'll be adding several custom governors to choose from.





Yes, it's compiled from stock kernel sources.

Nice work! Can't wait to see the future of this kernel.

Sent from my Transformer using Tapatalk 2
4th July 2012, 06:31 AM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 134
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparksco

Smartass v1 was made for single core cpu's. Smartass v2 was made for dual core cpu's, so v2 might work better on a quad core? V2 doesn't really work all that well on my single core cpu for the phone I have.

Exactly right. I actually never really liked smartassv2 in general, but I think it is working out fairly well on the N7, actually.



This is after just a little bit of game time, some regular usage, and some sleep time. I may need to tweak some of the higher clock values so it scales up a bit more gracefully. At any rate, there will be plenty of options to play around with.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zaventh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 01:58 PM |#10  
danielsf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Redcar
Thanks Meter: 281
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaventh

Exactly right. I actually never really liked smartassv2 in general, but I think it is working out fairly well on the N7, actually.



This is after just a little bit of game time, some regular usage, and some sleep time. I may need to tweak some of the higher clock values so it scales up a bit more gracefully. At any rate, there will be plenty of options to play around with.

So whats the heat production and stability like at 1.5ghz? When you say 1.5ghz, is that like the htc one x where it is actually 1.4ghz but you can go to 1.5ghz when only using one core, or is it all four cores clocked at 1.5 please? Got to admit that a gpu OC would be really nice. This looks great, thanks
Last edited by danielsf; 4th July 2012 at 02:16 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes