FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[SAMSUNG GALAXY S3 UNIFIED TOOLKIT V9] Drivers, Backup, Root, Recovery + MORE [ATT]

11,347 posts
Thanks Meter: 14,257
 
By mskip, Retired Senior Moderator on 2nd July 2012, 12:07 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
3rd July 2012, 02:48 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
I've got a bell SGS3, does this increment the flash counter?
 
 
3rd July 2012, 02:55 AM |#22  
ratatouille's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Le Gardeur
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uss_Defiant

I've got a bell SGS3, does this increment the flash counter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by appdroid

Does this trigger flash counter?

YES
3rd July 2012, 02:55 AM |#23  
wbounds's Avatar
Junior Member
Houston, Texas
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Thumbs up
Tripped bianary counter. But made a nandroid to sd card and pc easy. Please can anyone out there help with the reset of the counter. It really bugs me! Thanks.....AT&T
Last edited by wbounds; 3rd July 2012 at 03:00 AM.
3rd July 2012, 04:14 AM |#24  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratatouille

YES

No need to caps, there's a method to flash/root without increasing the counter. It would be cool if this implemented that method.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk 2
3rd July 2012, 05:57 AM |#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uss_Defiant

No need to caps, there's a method to flash/root without increasing the counter. It would be cool if this implemented that method.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk 2

Agreed....but keep up the good work

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
3rd July 2012, 09:26 AM |#26  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 14,257
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by appdroid

Does this trigger flash counter?

For a Recognised Contributor you should know better than to ask a question that was answered just 2 posts above yours lol. Tut Tut

Mark.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mskip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2012, 09:38 AM |#27  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 14,257
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uss_Defiant

No need to caps, there's a method to flash/root without increasing the counter. It would be cool if this implemented that method.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Tapatalk 2

Actually there is a need for the caps when you are the 3rd person to ask exactly the same question withing the space of 5 posts..

The method of rooting without increasing the flash counter involves flashing a complete Rom that has root injected into it. That may be fine if you have a brand new phone and havent set it up yet but not much good if you have set up your apps/screens and then decide you want to root. I may decide to add this method into the root options in the future but not right now.

Mark.
The Following User Says Thank You to mskip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2012, 11:22 AM |#28  
ratatouille's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Le Gardeur
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Thank ou for understanding the caps, I did not want to be rude by the way, but as you stated, reading a little will never do any wrong. I intented rooting my Roger's S3, but my baseband is I747MVLLE8. I know some other members succeeded in rooting, but which "insecure kernel" is safe to choose. I tried to ask in the thread yesterday, but so far no one answered.

Sorry for repeati g and using some thread space.
Last edited by ratatouille; 3rd July 2012 at 11:27 AM.
3rd July 2012, 11:34 AM |#29  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 14,257
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratatouille

Thank ou for understanding the caps, I did not want to be rude by the way, but as you stated, reading a little will never do any wrong. I intented rooting my Roger's S3, but my baseband is I747MVLLE8. I know some other members succeeded in rooting, but which "insecure kernel" is safe to choose. I tried to ask in the thread yesterday, but so far no one answered.

Sorry for repeati g and using some thread space.

What is your model number in the settings, About device screen?

From what I understand the Canadian models are exactly the same as the Tmobile models so that is the option you should choose. As soon as I can get a boot image from the Canadian models I can add support to the ToolKit.

If you wanted to help then you could root using option 4 in the rooting section which will flash cwm recovery and install superuser via recovery. Then you could do a nand backup and send me the untouched boot image which is included with a nand backup. This method will definitely work for rooting as the compiled CWM Recovery from Team Epic has proven to work on all Snapdragon variants

Totally upto you though.

Mark.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mskip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2012, 12:14 PM |#30  
ratatouille's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Le Gardeur
Thanks Meter: 57
 
More
Will do so as soon as I am back from work. I747M is my model number. Thank you.

---------- Post added at 11:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:40 AM ----------

I was wondering if it was normal. I finally rooted. Option 4 as you said. I now get a white spot everywhere i touch the screen an com.gapps forces closes every minute.

http://db.tt/cyvGAlWB

Here is my boot.img
Would be awesome if you could fix the white dots

By the way, I thought it was rooted but after following all steps, I found out that SU was not installed...

Hopefully it isn't f****d up. (No offense with the language please)
Last edited by ratatouille; 3rd July 2012 at 01:09 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes