FORUMS

Google Now Marches Forward with ‘Now on Tap’

When Google Now was announced three years ago, it revolutionized the mobile … more

I/O 2015: Google Announces App Link Enhancements

During the Google I/O Keynote, VP of Engineering Dave Burke announced that the Android … more

Google Announces its IoT platform titled ‘Brillo’

A few days ago, a leak highlighted Google’s foray into the Internet … more

Android M Adds “Doze” Deep Sleeping

Android M has answered the call of battery by adding in a deeper sleep implementation … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[SAMSUNG GALAXY S3 UNIFIED TOOLKIT V9] Drivers, Backup, Root, Recovery + MORE [TMO]

3rd July 2012, 09:58 AM |#21  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 14,225
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kharnage

I got everything to work except installing superuser. I passed ODIN and then when I try to flash superuser, it flashes but when I restart my phone I don't have superuser.

What exactly did you do (all steps chosen) and what happened on phone and pc.

Did you let the ToolKit set up Superuser or try to install it seperately?

Did you read and follow all the steps in the ToolKit (installing drivers, enabling usb debugging)?

Mark.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mskip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
3rd July 2012, 10:09 AM |#22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
What is the proper prodecure to reset the counter and remove the yellow triangle on this variant of the phone for warranty/return purposes?
3rd July 2012, 10:33 AM |#23  
mskip's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Moderator
Flag Norfolk
Thanks Meter: 14,225
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kodiakice

What is the proper prodecure to reset the counter and remove the yellow triangle on this variant of the phone for warranty/return purposes?

There is no procedure to reset the flash counter for the Snapdragon variant yet. I very much doubt that Triangle Away will work as you need to a special flash kernel to modify the correct partition and this hasnt been done.

I dont know if Chainfire is planning on adding support for the US variants but im sure something will come along soon enough.

Mark.
The Following User Says Thank You to mskip For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2012, 03:24 PM |#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskip

What exactly did you do (all steps chosen) and what happened on phone and pc.

Did you let the ToolKit set up Superuser or try to install it seperately?

Did you read and follow all the steps in the ToolKit (installing drivers, enabling usb debugging)?

Mark.

1. Select Tmobile version
2. Install drivers
3. Rooting options
4. Flash CWM + Install Root via recovery
5. Opened ODIN
6. Passed ODIN
7. Booted into recovery/cwm
8. Flash superuser
9. cwm said superuser is installed
10. Reboot phone
11. No superuser
12. Repeated steps above twice

Did I do anything wrong? This is the first phone I'm having trouble rooting
3rd July 2012, 04:13 PM |#25  
darren.wlsn1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hershey PA
Thanks Meter: 885
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mskip

The ToolKit uses Team Epic's v4 cwm Recovery which from their changelog supports external sd cards and has no mention of restores not working so I would think its safe.

You can see Team Epic's Changelog *HERE*.

Mark.

i can confirm it works just fine.
3rd July 2012, 05:03 PM |#26  
Member
Flag Los Angeles,CA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
after Team Epic's v4 cwm Recovery now backing up or restoring does not work. I keep getting ".android_secure.img not found.Skipping restore" ?
Last edited by C_LosEvo; 3rd July 2012 at 05:04 PM. Reason: error
3rd July 2012, 05:52 PM |#27  
overground's Avatar
Moderator & Developer Committee / Recognized Developer - xxxda-developers Founder
Flag Oxnard, CA Likes: Los Angeles Lakers Dislikes: Heavy petting zoos
Thanks Meter: 1,458
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by C_LosEvo

after Team Epic's v4 cwm Recovery now backing up or restoring does not work. I keep getting ".android_secure.img not found.Skipping restore" ?

It could be that it's just skipping the .android_secure portion of the restore. Have you tried rebooting after your "failed restore"?
3rd July 2012, 06:29 PM |#28  
Member
Flag Los Angeles,CA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by overground

It could be that it's just skipping the .android_secure portion of the restore. Have you tried rebooting after your "failed restore"?

Yes i did and your correct. It did make a backup. It just threw me off the fact that it said "failed to restore". All is good now.
4th July 2012, 01:35 AM |#29  
nygmam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 186
 
More
Half way there, used it to flash CWM and make a NANDROID backup prior to rooting. Wanted to have a clean non-rooted backup, prior to rooting and tweaking... Thanks for your tool, as soon as I finish moving the backup over to my PC, I will try out the rooting function Nice work!
4th July 2012, 01:37 AM |#30  
darren.wlsn1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Hershey PA
Thanks Meter: 885
 
More
op or anybody when you push a apk to phone using tool where does it put apk, i cant find it but according to tool it worked?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes