Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,836 Members 42,453 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlock Nexus Q

Tip us?
 
fiveipads
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 20
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rochester
Default Unlock Nexus Q

Unlocking Your Nexus Q

To unlock your device
1. cd to platform-tools
2. Reboot to the bootloader - adb reboot bootloader
3. Unlock your device* (with fastboot tool type): fastboot oem unlock

*You will have to accept and erase all the user data on the tablet.
*You must run this as sudo in Linux

Credits to FadedLite (very similar steps)

Figuring out the rooting next
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fiveipads For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fredc888
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Feb 2010
If you just need "su"....


1. Download su from your busybox installation from say Galaxy Nexus.
2. Download the modified clockworksmod for Nexus Q that this guy put together:

bliny.net/blog/post/How-to-Root-Nexus-Q-%28Temporarily%29.asp
3. Boot into that recovery image will give you write access to /system
4. adb push su into /system/xbin/su
 
kentoe
Old
(Last edited by kentoe; 3rd July 2012 at 04:22 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 70
Posts: 340
Join Date: Mar 2010
Did you already have your nexus Q in debug mode? I do not have the slider button on my Nexus 7 to put it into debug mode. It's not recognized in "adb devices" or "fastboot devices"

EDIT ***
I found out that the USB Debugging menu in the Nexus Q app shows up when you turn on Developer Options in the Settings > Developer Options menu of Jellybean on the Nexus 7. You might want to test this as well on your variety of devices.
Nexus 5
Rom: Stock 4.4 w/ Xposed framework + Gravity Box
Bootloader: Unlocked

Retired
Verizon Galaxy Nexus
ROM: Vicious Jellybean 4.1 (Team Liquid)
Recovery: ClockworkMod Touch v5.8.0.2
Bootloader: Unlocked

HTC Incredible - S-OFF!
ROM: Cyanogenmod 9
ClockWorkmod Recovery v3.0.0.8
Radio: 2.15.00.07.28
The Following User Says Thank You to kentoe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xperia_player
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 56
Join Date: Nov 2011
Just me that thinks this thing needs google TV?
 
THE_KINGDOM
Old
(Last edited by THE_KINGDOM; 23rd July 2012 at 11:53 PM.)
#5  
THE_KINGDOM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 877
Join Date: Sep 2011
nevermind it worked now
PHONE: Nexus 5 | White | 32GB
OTHER MEDIA DEVICE: Nexus Q - CM
KERNEL: ---
 
enriquealo
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Stuck in oem unlock

hi, I hope there's still someone reading this, but I'm stuck in the oem unlock part can anybody help me? here's the output of my terminal

Code:
sh-3.2# fastboot oem unlock
...
(bootloader) oem unlock requested:
(bootloader) 	Unlocking forces a factory reset and could
(bootloader) 	open your device up to a world of hurt.  If you
(bootloader) 	are sure you know what you're doing, then accept
(bootloader) 	in 5 seconds via 'fastboot oem unlock_accept'.
OKAY [  0.025s]
finished. total time: 0.025s
sh-3.2# fastboot oem unlock_accept
...
(bootloader) oem unlock_accept ignored, not pending
FAILED (remote: oem unlock not requested)
finished. total time: 0.007s
thanks in advance.
 
darb
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 110
Join Date: Apr 2010
took me a few tries to get it but it needs to be entered within five seconds of the first command
The Following User Says Thank You to darb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
silfa718
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 32
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by enriquealo View Post
hi, I hope there's still someone reading this, but I'm stuck in the oem unlock part can anybody help me? here's the output of my terminal

Code:
sh-3.2# fastboot oem unlock
...
(bootloader) oem unlock requested:
(bootloader) 	Unlocking forces a factory reset and could
(bootloader) 	open your device up to a world of hurt.  If you
(bootloader) 	are sure you know what you're doing, then accept
(bootloader) 	in 5 seconds via 'fastboot oem unlock_accept'.
OKAY [  0.025s]
finished. total time: 0.025s
sh-3.2# fastboot oem unlock_accept
...
(bootloader) oem unlock_accept ignored, not pending
FAILED (remote: oem unlock not requested)
finished. total time: 0.007s
thanks in advance.
I tried to unlock my Q last night and no matter how fast I did it, I couldn't get past this screen.
 
animal24
Old
(Last edited by animal24; 9th March 2013 at 04:07 AM.) Reason: adding info
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 192
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by silfa718 View Post
I tried to unlock my Q last night and no matter how fast I did it, I couldn't get past this screen.
the easiest way, assuming you are running windows, is to enter the comands once, and then just use the up arrow key to do it again. also, you may want to be sure its not already unlocked "fastboot getvar unlocked" will return "yes" if unlocked

The Following User Says Thank You to animal24 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes