FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Installing, Running, and Navigating through apps

9 posts
Thanks Meter: 13
 
By shodutta92, Junior Member on 3rd July 2012, 10:00 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I've gotten a few questions about how to run apps on the Nexus Q, so I figured I'd make some sort of post giving instructions, at least basic ones.

1. Enable USB debugging on the Q. This is done by running the nexus Q app on another device, pairing with the Q, and then going to advanced and enabling USB debugging.

2. Installing apps is done by running
Code:
adb install path/to/app.apk
in the command line on a computer.

3. launching apps is done in command line by running
Code:
adb shell
, then typing
Code:
am start package.name/.Activity name
. For example, opening settings is done with
Code:
am start com.android.settings/.Settings
once in adb shell. Netflix is
Code:
am start com.netflix.mediaclient/.UIWebViewActivity
, and Angry Birds is
Code:
am start com.rovio.angrybirds/com.rovio.ka3d.App
. The package/activity names can be determined by running the app on another android device, plugging it into a computer, and running the monitor tool in terminal and looking at the hierarchy viewer.

4. XY coordinates for touch/drag events can be given to the device by using the monkeyrunner tool (documentation can be found on the android developers website). For a brief overview:
start monkeyrunner (located in android-sdk/tools/)
Code:
from com.android.monkeyrunner import MonkeyRunner, MonkeyDevice
device = MonkeyRunner.waitForConnection()
device.touch(x, y, MonkeyDevice.DOWN_AND_UP)
device.drag((startX,startY), (endX, endY), 1, 10)
device.press('KEYCODE_BACK', MonkeyDevice.DOWN_AND_UP)
I realize this isn't very complete, but I'll add some stuff to it as I play more.
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to shodutta92 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
3rd July 2012, 11:58 PM |#2  
FadedLite's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 238
 
Donate to Me
More
Thank you for posting this, this clears up a couple of my questions
6th July 2012, 03:22 AM |#3  
Daneshm90's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 651
 
More
This might be handy : link
9th July 2012, 02:54 AM |#4  
Some_dude36's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag hollow earth
Thanks Meter: 92
 
Donate to Me
More
So theres no UI for the apps? You have to memories each apps command string?

That sucks. lol Is there any chance of a UI in development or a launcher for the apps?

That seems excessively complicated to run for example angry birds with quite an extensive com string.
9th July 2012, 09:18 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Agreed, it does really suck to have to use console commands.

Well...lets just say I'm working on something. It may take a few days before I know whether it'll actually work, but I'll let you know.
20th July 2012, 10:12 PM |#6  
Zarboz's Avatar
Known Scammer
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 9,265
 
Donate to Me
More
Why not install the VNC application for droid

in order to run the VNC server on your nexus Q and then use your tablet or other touch enabled android/computer/device to control the Q interface

http://code.google.com/p/android-vnc-server/

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...aips.vnc&hl=en

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...h1bWkudm5jcyJd

this is just an idea considering you have root the app shouldnt be hard to set a call to on some kind of init.d script path

i think it would serve well for navigation
21st July 2012, 06:52 PM |#7  
THE_KINGDOM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
it's basically identical internals to the galaxy nexus, with some extra hardware outputs, so you can port over a custom rom for galaxy nexus and use that as the UI for now
21st July 2012, 09:39 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKROB86

it's basically identical internals to the galaxy nexus, with some extra hardware outputs, so you can port over a custom rom for galaxy nexus and use that as the UI for now

What your saying does make sense, so I'm willing to give it a try this weekend. I will port over the same ROM I have on my VZW Galaxy Nexus (Stock Jellybean 4.1 from Rootz Wiki). In order to do so I will need just a little bit of help... My Q is already rooted, so you can just provide me with a walk thru outlining how to push/port the ROM over. Do I have to hook it to the pc again and start the bootloader with adb or what exactly? Thanks for the help in advance.
31st July 2012, 11:03 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 737
 
Donate to Me
More
You can install droidmote server on nexus q and control it with your android phone.
with droidmote server you simulate a mouse a keyboard a multitouch touchpad etc. etc.
you can play, in remote,also with games that support only the touch screen
Last edited by zulu99; 31st July 2012 at 11:06 PM.
16th September 2012, 07:26 PM |#10  
THE_KINGDOM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
...
Last edited by THE_KINGDOM; 18th September 2012 at 01:40 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes