Post Reply

[GINGERBREAD][ICS] GPS FIX for Galaxy S

OP ISF

4th July 2012, 01:22 AM   |  #1  
ISF's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 397
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
GPS FIX FOR SAMSUNG GALAXY S GT-I9000 DEVICES


!!! THIS FIX MAY NOT WORK ON GINGERBREAD 2.3.6 JW4, JW5, JW6, since they use different configurations. Flash it at your own risk. Someone reported that it does work very well.
!!! THIS FIX IS UNTESTED ON ICS! I may work, but it may also not. Make a backup first!



GINGERBREAD FLASHING MODE [2.3.x]
Finally, I made a proper GPS fix for our beloved Samsung Galaxy S. I did modify the HW Configuration, and get it working properly now. I haven't imported the original files from Froyo, since they don't work with GB. So, I got the best GPS HW from the best gingerbread firmware, and optimize it.

Now, you'll get:
- First fix takes no more than 1 min.
- Second or other fixes takes under 5 to 10 secs.
- Accuracy is about between 5-10 m, but most of the time it stays on 10m and 15m. It depends on weather conditions, and your prefered modem/baseband.
- Very accurate position in Google Maps
- Very accurate in terms of speed, accuracy, and locking.


I've also modified the gps.conf, and it's the best configuration for EUROPE. If you want to change it, download Faster Fix from Google Play and set your own position. It won't mess up with anything.
IMPORTANT:
This fix may also work on ICS Roms. I'm not responsible if your GPS is totally screwed up after applying it into an ICS Based Rom. This GPS Fix was made entirely for GINGERBREAD GALAXY S Firmware.

How to install this fix:

1. Make sure you're rooted, with CWM Recovery and running Gingerbread.
2. Put the .zip into your SD-CARD
3. Go to recovery, by extended menu, or by pressing at the same time the VOLUME UP + HOME KEY + POWER KEY.
4. Go to advance and mount everything ( system, data, sdcard etc )
5. Back, and go to install zip from SD-CARD
6. Choose GPS Fix Made by BlackLineAndroidHD.zip
7. It'll be done in a sec or two
8. Reboot and you're ready to test it.
9. Open Angry GPS ( *#3214789650# ) and Delete GPS Data
10. Go to Settings/ General Settings/ and make sure the Operation Mode is set to MSBASED or STANDALONE, since they are the best in terms of navigation.
11. Gps Logging should be set to OFF
12. Accuracy - 50 or 75
13. Now, in AngryGPS default menu, you should see the following settings :
  • Session Type : Tracking
  • Test Mode(S/W or H/W) : S/W Test
  • Operation Mode : MSBASED or STANDALONE
  • Start Mode : Hot start
  • XTRA : ON
  • GPS Logging : OFF

Now, you're all done. Get yourself driven to an open field and test the brand new GPS.

This FIX was made by me, raulrusescu a.k.a BlackLineAndroidHD on YouTube. I also have a BlackLineAndroidHD profile on XDA, but I haven't got the necessary permisions to post in Developement section.

This is the .zip file:

http://www.mediafire.com/?2srashynd5rrj42

Your GPS isn't still working? Please also try this gps.conf for Europe made by Rjlm. http://sourceforge.net/projects/hdte....conf/download

ICE CREAM SANDWICH FLASHING MODE [4.0.x]

1. Download this file : http://www.mediafire.com/?13b8nskz5x0hhar
2. Make sure you have an updated nandroid backup
3. Flash this file in ClockWorkMode Recovery and reboot.
4. See if the gps works.
5. If it doesn't work, restore stock ics gps H/W from here http://www.mediafire.com/?69wld5el79b7xl5
6. If it does work, ENJOY!
7. For testing GPS, I recommend GPS Test application from PlayStore. The stock AngryGps is even better. Somesay that they couldn't get it to work properly on ICS. Or download GPS Aids Free or Donate (better Donate) and configure it by yourself.



If you got your GPS working, and want to say thanks, please subscribe to my YouTube channel http://www.youtube.com/user/BlackLineAndroidHD and hit the THANKS button.



Take care, guys!

Credit goes to Samsung Developers for giving us such good GPS H/W Files.
-RaulRusescu a.k.a BlackLineAndroidHD on XDA and YouTube
Last edited by ISF; 16th July 2012 at 01:46 PM.
The Following 25 Users Say Thank You to ISF For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 01:38 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I didn't know that GPS in GB didn't work?
4th July 2012, 01:53 AM   |  #3  
ISF's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 397
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcajjones

I didn't know that GPS in GB didn't work?

It didn't work quite well. On some phones, they weren't able to get 4-5 satellites in order to lock, and get a stable position, bro.
The Following User Says Thank You to ISF For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 05:59 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag NCR
Thanks Meter: 4
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raulrusescu

It didn't work quite well. On some phones, they weren't able to get 4-5 satellites in order to lock, and get a stable position, bro.

I've been using sygic in India and have never had any problem till date!!
4th July 2012, 06:41 AM   |  #5  
Apurv24's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 30
 
169 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
ANybody tested this on ICS yet?
4th July 2012, 06:52 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
base on the settings :

INTERMEDIATE_POS=1
ACCURACY_THRES=5000

it gives you faster satellite searching (probably locking faster as well) but less accurate positioning. The settings seems compromise on the accuracy.
4th July 2012, 09:13 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Question
I think I can try if I can find a way to open Angry GPS.

I am on ICS (RemICS v1.2) and I have also copied AngryGPS to the system/app folder still the dialer code for Angry GPS not working !

Can someone show me a way to open AngryGPS in ICS ?
4th July 2012, 09:44 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 228
 
715 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
You can't launch it if you don't have it installed.
Once you installed angry gps on ICS, you will have the icon to launch it, you don't need code.
4th July 2012, 10:10 AM   |  #9  
ISF's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 397
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxis1981

base on the settings :

INTERMEDIATE_POS=1
ACCURACY_THRES=5000

it gives you faster satellite searching (probably locking faster as well) but less accurate positioning. The settings seems compromise on the accuracy.

For me , the accuracy is the best on Gingerbread. I had never got a 5m accuracy fix on Gingerbread, until I developed this fix.
The Following User Says Thank You to ISF For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 10:15 AM   |  #10  
ISF's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 397
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxis1981

base on the settings :

INTERMEDIATE_POS=1
ACCURACY_THRES=5000

it gives you faster satellite searching (probably locking faster as well) but less accurate positioning. The settings seems compromise on the accuracy.

You're talking here about the gps.conf for Europe. As I said in the main post, you may change your settings by downloading FASTER FIX from Google Play Store, and configure your current location.
Now, gps.conf has almost nothing to do with H/W GPS Files I've just developed. Gps.conf only hepls you to get a stable lock, according to your current continent, country or area.
Last edited by ISF; 4th July 2012 at 10:20 AM.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ISF For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps fix
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S I9000 Android Development by ThreadRank