Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOW-TO]Root your VirginMobile(CDMA) One V

OP shubhamchamaria

4th July 2012, 01:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
2,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
I am happy to present to you the guide to root your VirginMobile One V.


REQUIREMENTS
  • VM One V
  • Bootloader Unlocked (guide here)
  • Basic knowledge and good reading skills

So 2 VM One V users had problems rooting their phones and then it was proved that their software was different. So, I modified the kernel ramdisk to include the SuperSU files and other files to help root VM One V

I had to just add few lines of code and transfer a few file here and there.

INSTRUCTIONS:
  • UNLOCK YOUR BOOTLOADER
  • Download the zip file and extract it to your Desktop or something.
  • Put your phone into fastboot mode(Vol Down + Power and then with volume buttons scroll to fastboot and press power button)
  • If on Windows open ---windows.bat file
  • If on Mac open ---mac.sh
  • And If on Linux open ---linux.sh
  • Let it do it's thing
  • Scroll down with Volume buttons and Reboot
  • Your phone will now be rooted.
  • If you have problems with WiFi just reboot and it will be fixed

DOWNLOADS:
http://d-h.st/bg9

CREDITS:
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to shubhamchamaria For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 07:22 PM   |  #2  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
2,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
No other VM users to test this?
5th July 2012, 03:42 AM   |  #3  
Noctourniquet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lubbock, Texas
Thanks Meter: 110
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamchamaria

No other VM users to test this?

The device is less than a week old on VM. I'm ordering it Friday, so I will test for you. It's just not many people have this phone yet.

Sent from my VM670 using Xparent ICS Blue Tapatalk 2
6th July 2012, 05:56 AM   |  #4  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
2,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noctourniquet

The device is less than a week old on VM. I'm ordering it Friday, so I will test for you. It's just not many people have this phone yet.

Sent from my VM670 using Xparent ICS Blue Tapatalk 2

ok...fine
7th July 2012, 01:30 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Seems to have worked.

I was able to install super user (chainsdd)

I was also able to use root browser to delete some of the stock apps.
7th July 2012, 01:31 PM   |  #6  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
2,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fauxsoul

Seems to have worked.

I was able to install super user (chainsdd)

I was also able to use root browser to delete some of the stock apps.

Thanks for feedback!

Sent from my HTC One V Running SuPrimo v4.1(28/6/12)
10th July 2012, 05:18 AM   |  #7  
Noctourniquet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lubbock, Texas
Thanks Meter: 110
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Worked for me.

Sent from my HTC One V using Tapatalk 2
10th July 2012, 12:39 PM   |  #8  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
2,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noctourniquet

Worked for me.

Sent from my HTC One V using Tapatalk 2

Thanks for feedback..

Sent from my HTC One V Running SuPrimo v4.1(28/6/12)
The Following User Says Thank You to shubhamchamaria For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th August 2012, 06:01 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by shubhamchamaria

I am happy to present to you the guide to root your VirginMobile One V.


DOWNLOADS:
http://d-h.st/bg9

CREDITS:

are these files mirrored anywhere else?? it looks like dev-host is upgrading the servers where this file is.... according to their twitter it doesnt look like itll be done for a while...
30th August 2012, 06:56 PM   |  #10  
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
2,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gyit

are these files mirrored anywhere else?? it looks like dev-host is upgrading the servers where this file is.... according to their twitter it doesnt look like itll be done for a while...

OK....I'll see. ...

Sent from my One V

The Following User Says Thank You to shubhamchamaria For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
primoc primou, root with unlock
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes