Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

ATTENTION CANADIAN USERS: Forums for Canadian carriers

OP evilmonkey1987

4th July 2012, 08:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 44
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Hello fellow Canadian GSIII owners: please see below and note which forum you should be looking in for ROMs for your devices:

AT&T forum: SGH-I747 (AT&T, Rogers, Bell, Telus and SaskTel)
T-Mobile forum: SGH-T999 (T-Mobile, Wind, Mobilicity and Videotron)
Sprint forum: SPH-L710 (Sprint only)
Verizon forum: SGH-I535 (Verizon only)

Developers, please put carrier support in the title of your threads. Thank you!

---------------------------------------

Hello XDA,

Can we please get an android development forum for Rogers, Bell, Telus and Wind? Rogers/Bell/Telus phones are SGH-I747M and the Wind version is the SGH-T999, but they all have different basebands and stock ROMs. Trying to put Canadian threads in AT&T and Sprint forums will result in a big mess.

Alternatively, instead of separating by carrier, separate by model number. Keep all the I747 development threads in one forum and T999 threads in another. Then people can put the carrier into the title of the post.

Just something to think about.

Thanks!
Last edited by evilmonkey1987; 5th July 2012 at 06:05 PM. Reason: Update on the forums
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to evilmonkey1987 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 08:46 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 32
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I agree. But AFAIK, the Wind/Mobilicity/Videotron S3 is the same as T-Mobile's, not Sprint's.
The Following User Says Thank You to TLS2000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 09:02 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 44
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLS2000

I agree. But AFAIK, the Wind/Mobilicity/Videotron S3 is the same as T-Mobile's, not Sprint's.

Indeed it is. I stand corrected.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to evilmonkey1987 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 09:06 PM   |  #4  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,186
 
11,084 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLS2000

I agree. But AFAIK, the Wind/Mobilicity/Videotron S3 is the same as T-Mobile's, not Sprint's.

and the Rogers is the same as AT&T's

historically Rogers and AT&T have been interchangeable in almost every aspect on all the devices they shared. Rogers uses the exact same frequencies as AT&T, and the devices are the same aside from some minor differences in bloat, lte toggle, and native wifi tether
4th July 2012, 10:19 PM   |  #5  
rail205's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 127
 
528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
What about the Telus, does that fall under at&t also?

Thanks

I agree very hard to follow on what is for which phone, not going to take any chances until things are a little more clear. Still have the old S1 to mess with.
4th July 2012, 10:45 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Toronto, Ontario
Thanks Meter: 44
 
177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rail205

What about the Telus, does that fall under at&t also?

Thanks

I agree very hard to follow on what is for which phone, not going to take any chances until things are a little more clear. Still have the old S1 to mess with.

AT&T, Rogers, Bell and Telus have the same phone, the SGH-I747. But just because it's the same hardware does not mean it's the same software. It may or may not have different basebands and certainly has different carrier customizations. As Pirateghost mentioned, AT&T removes some features in its ROM (software), the most important being, at least for me, the ability to tether. So if you flash a rooted AT&T ROM on your Canadian device, it will most likely work but you will lose features(!) That's why we need to be very clear about what carrier each ROM is for. Furthermore, if you flash the wrong baseband (i.e. flash a Rogers baseband on a Bell phone), your phone may not work as a phone or it may connect to the wrong network and you will be charged roaming fees. At the moment, I can see that AT&T has a different baseband version from Bell, but Rogers and Bell seem to have the same baseband version. Are they interchangeable? I have no idea. Anyway, it's better not to mix these things up. That's why separate forums are a great idea.
Last edited by evilmonkey1987; 4th July 2012 at 10:47 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to evilmonkey1987 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 11:02 PM   |  #7  
Jsick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
As a SaskTel customer coming from the international i9000, these forums are very confusing and not very organized. I would definitely support more organization.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jsick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2012, 11:45 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 32
 
162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I guarantee that you won't roam on the other carrier if you flash the wrong baseband (Telus/Bell/Rogers). They don't have roaming agreements in place to allow that. That's why you won't get service with Rogers in some areas where Bell does have service.
5th July 2012, 12:01 AM   |  #9  
Jsick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TLS2000

I guarantee that you won't roam on the other carrier if you flash the wrong baseband (Telus/Bell/Rogers). They don't have roaming agreements in place to allow that. That's why you won't get service with Rogers in some areas where Bell does have service.

That is how it was with the i9000. If I flashed the wrong baseband (for example, a US modem that did not support 850 band), I would just have no reception when I left the city.
5th July 2012, 12:04 AM   |  #10  
BlackDino's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,300
 
1,952 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Donate to Me
More
Sasktel, Bell, Rogers, Telus all have the AT&T version with tethering left in.

The Following User Says Thank You to BlackDino For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes