Post Reply

What does wiping dalvik cache do?

OP rolo143

5th July 2012, 04:03 AM   |  #1  
rolo143's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I was getting out of space on my internal phone, so I decided to clear wipe cache and dalvik cache through CWM, but I find i save a lot of space BUT some apps stop working, maybe they are lost. So was does this actually do? Why are the apps there, but can't work?

Ok, after rebooting they are actually working again, i didn't even lost any data (progress on games) but I am really concerned what does this really do??
Last edited by rolo143; 5th July 2012 at 04:07 AM.
5th July 2012, 09:27 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 177
 
652 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolo143

I was getting out of space on my internal phone, so I decided to clear wipe cache and dalvik cache through CWM, but I find i save a lot of space BUT some apps stop working, maybe they are lost. So was does this actually do? Why are the apps there, but can't work?

Ok, after rebooting they are actually working again, i didn't even lost any data (progress on games) but I am really concerned what does this really do??

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalvik_%28software%29

When you reboot, Dalvik cache and Cache are re-created. So no space saved this way.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Feanor88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th October 2012, 06:58 PM   |  #3  
daihard's Avatar
Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feanor88

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalvik_%28software%29

When you reboot, Dalvik cache and Cache are re-created. So no space saved this way.

I was wondering what wiping the Dalvik cache did, too. I installed an inverted app and someone told me I needed to wipe the Dalvik cache in order for it to remain in place after a reboot, so I did that. Now my phone says "Optimizing apps..." It must rbe e-creating the cache.
27th October 2012, 08:36 AM   |  #4  
Saqib Nazm's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Themer
Flag Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 7,754
 
2,895 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
As far as I know, when a rom boots up for the first time Dalvik goes through each & every apk's & extract the Dex & put it in the cache. So probably it is a location of all apks. If dalvik cache is not wiped after a new rom is installed,dalvik cache will skip because it founds the dexed cache files attach to the directory. The result is "Force close" issues.
So wiping dalvik cache can be done without any problem many times within the same rom & that's why is shows "optiming apps" after a dalvik cache wipe.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Saqib Nazm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th October 2012, 05:36 PM   |  #5  
daihard's Avatar
Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 5
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by saqib nazm

As far as I know, when a rom boots up for the first time Dalvik goes through each & every apk's & extract the Dex & put it in the cache. So probably it is a location of all apks. If dalvik cache is not wiped after a new rom is installed,dalvik cache will skip because it founds the dexed cache files attach to the directory. The result is "Force close" issues.
So wiping dalvik cache can be done without any problem many times within the same rom & that's why is shows "optiming apps" after a dalvik cache wipe.

Thanks! That's in line with my suspicion, except I didn't know when I posted my question that an apk file was nothing but a zip file that contains a dex (Dalvik executable) and a bunch of other files. Your explanation makes sense. I also noticed that if I install an individual app from a zip file using CWM Recovery, then it clears the relevant part of the Dalvik cache for me. That doesn't happen when I install an apk file directly using Root Explorer.
23rd November 2012, 03:54 AM   |  #6  
deepankarbu's Avatar
Member
Flag Kashipur
Thanks Meter: 16
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
guys one line question i am performing "Wipe cache and dalvik-cache" will my phone internal memory be deleted ? thanks a ton
23rd November 2012, 03:59 AM   |  #7  
daydu19's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Managua
Thanks Meter: 78
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepankarbu

guys one line question i am performing "Wipe cache and dalvik-cache" will my phone internal memory be deleted ? thanks a ton

Nop, it will not

Sent from my SK17i using xda premium
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to daydu19 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th April 2013, 11:27 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
Phone didn't boot after wiping Dalvik Cache
Hi Geeks

i have an Xperia Arc S modded with Cyanogenmod JellyBean 4.1.2 Cooked ROM

i had alot of memory issues as applications keep closing whenever system runs out of memory, it is always obvious in the DSP application with the walkman in addition to visualizations inside the walkman

i searched for a solution and some told me that wiping the dalvik cache might solve the problem, so i gave it a try and rebooted in CWM recovery mode "built inside ROM" , cleared the Dalvik cache , and the phone keeps displaying the Xperia Logo without any further progress, as if it's in somekinda loop !

any idea what to do next without wiping my Data ? thank you all

BR
AMR
8th April 2013, 12:41 PM   |  #9  
XperienceD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Here =)
Thanks Meter: 2,415
 
7,323 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koptanov

Hi Geeks

i have an Xperia Arc S modded with Cyanogenmod JellyBean 4.1.2 Cooked ROM

i had alot of memory issues as applications keep closing whenever system runs out of memory, it is always obvious in the DSP application with the walkman in addition to visualizations inside the walkman

i searched for a solution and some told me that wiping the dalvik cache might solve the problem, so i gave it a try and rebooted in CWM recovery mode "built inside ROM" , cleared the Dalvik cache , and the phone keeps displaying the Xperia Logo without any further progress, as if it's in somekinda loop !

any idea what to do next without wiping my Data ? thank you all

BR
AMR

Are you sure you only wiped the dalvik?


Sent from Myushi
8th April 2013, 02:57 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
clears app cache
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolo143

I was getting out of space on my internal phone, so I decided to clear wipe cache and dalvik cache through CWM, but I find i save a lot of space BUT some apps stop working, maybe they are lost. So was does this actually do? Why are the apps there, but can't work?

Ok, after rebooting they are actually working again, i didn't even lost any data (progress on games) but I am really concerned what does this really do??

it clears the app running cache stored in os.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes