5,600,483 Members 32,987 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bell SGH-I747M

Tip us?
 
junooni.1980
Old
#1  
junooni.1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 353
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: toronto
Smile Bell SGH-I747M

So Just got my SGS3 from Bell. I want it root it so bad but not too sure which way to go cus not sure if its for my Bell(Canadian) version or not??
Can anyone please guide me in the right direction. Thanks.
Android: Future Of Mobile Computing.
 
cys920622
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Apr 2012
This is the same device as the AT&T GSIII (as well as Telus, which I have). I'm sure you can find instructions there.
 
fugdup
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Dec 2009
This is where I went to find out, had it done in 5mins after the download was done.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426
Devices:

Current:
Samsung Galaxy S 3 Bell i747M : Rooted, stock ROM

Previous:

Bell Galaxy Nexus - Rooted, 4.1 Jelly Bean Custom ROM, Air Kernal #134
Bell Samsung Galaxy S 2 - Smashed LCD
Rogers Dell Streak 5 Unlocked - Rooted Custom GB ROM
Bell Samsung Galaxy S Vibrant - Rooted CM7
Telus HTC Desire Unlocked - S-Off - CM6
Rogers Sony Ericson X10 Unlocked - Rooted
Rogers LG Eve Unlocked - Rooted CM
 
Its_Dave
Old
#4  
Its_Dave's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Calgary
Good for you on asking, I just did the international root and that sure as hell didn't work. My bad tho for not reading.

Canadian Version of the GS3 isn't the same as the international, my issue has I had the original GS I9000 and it was the same.

Here is a good link for info about Canadian Version of the phone

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1752729

And this is what I did to root my phone and it worked out great

http://galaxys3root.com/galaxy-s3-ro...y-s3-sgh-i747/
 
junooni.1980
Old
#5  
junooni.1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 353
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: toronto
Hey Guys,
Thanks so much on your feedback. I really appreiate your help.
Also wanted to know if you are also experiencing phone getting really warm and the battery drainage. Cheers..
Android: Future Of Mobile Computing.
 
Its_Dave
Old
#6  
Its_Dave's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Calgary
I have only had mine for...a little over a day.

The back did feel warm but I blamed that on the heavy not stop use of when I got it.

Today been a little bit more normal use, to soon to tell how the battery is but seems okay and the back isn't warm at all under my normal use.
 
Germanauto-guy
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Miami
Default Battery Heat and Drain

Quote:
Originally Posted by junooni.1980 View Post
Hey Guys,
Thanks so much on your feedback. I really appreiate your help.
Also wanted to know if you are also experiencing phone getting really warm and the battery drainage. Cheers..

Just had the phone for over a week now. My battery life is quite good (with moderate use), however, it could be better considering it is a 2100mAh battery. Also, after countless hours of heavy use, the back of the phone does get remarkably warm, although, I can't tell whether this is from the phone itself or the palm of my hand.
 
themikea
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto
Mine seems to get very warm in some situations only after a minute or two of use after having it locked.
 
junooni.1980
Old
#9  
junooni.1980's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 353
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: toronto
Just recently noticed that my phone drops data signals momentarily. Is this a common problem.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app
Android: Future Of Mobile Computing.
 
TrainAss
Old
(Last edited by TrainAss; 13th July 2012 at 10:33 PM.)
#10  
TrainAss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 165
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edmonton
Quote:
Originally Posted by Its_Dave View Post
Good for you on asking, I just did the international root and that sure as hell didn't work. My bad tho for not reading.

Canadian Version of the GS3 isn't the same as the international, my issue has I had the original GS I9000 and it was the same.

Here is a good link for info about Canadian Version of the phone

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1752729

And this is what I did to root my phone and it worked out great

http://galaxys3root.com/galaxy-s3-ro...y-s3-sgh-i747/
Are you on Bell, Rogers or TELUS? I just got my SGS3 today, and I'm missing having root.

Nevermind, I rooted in 5min. Awesome! Now when is CM9 going to get ported to the SGS3?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more