FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

CWM for Xperia S/Acro HD

330 posts
Thanks Meter: 208
 
By tommyrumbler, Senior Member on 7th July 2012, 01:22 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th July 2012, 08:36 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Hi guys,

At this moment, I know this is kind of extended version of the stock recovery which we have access to.

It enables us to install custom ROM based of stock ROM only. The rest, we still need to have unlocked bootloader.

We can also make snapshot of the phone which enables us to restore to it.

Ok, here is my misery lol
1. When we flash ROM, we will lose root. We can use this recovery to gain root by using the recovery option, yes? However, it won't work if we flash other ROM, could it be older (GB) or newer (ICS).

2. When it says snapshot, I am assuming it is a full one, which includes all the apps? And it will saves to the virtual sdcard?

Thank you.
 
 
7th July 2012, 09:06 AM |#22  
brunsman6229's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anywhere
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
all right i think busybox is wanted to flash the recovery...? anyway i get it..
Someone can confirm backup and restore is ok...? because i have a ray too and when i flash the first release of CWM by qhanguut the backup was ok but not the restore...

Also, thanks for your work dude

@hello_hello : you don't loose root when you flash a rom. just when you flash stock firmware... also yes, the backup is save on your sdcard with your system "root" access
Last edited by brunsman6229; 7th July 2012 at 09:13 AM.
7th July 2012, 09:49 AM |#23  
Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
I found a minor problem: the timestamp created by nandroid isn't correct.
It's something like "1970-04-06.18.58.53" now.
7th July 2012, 09:59 AM |#24  
brunsman6229's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anywhere
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
btw, there is a problem with the "charge" when the phone is off... it bootloop on sony... before i have the same problem with my ray, the "charger" file in system/bin must be changed. Anyone can do it..? Also i've the modified charger file for the ray but idon't know if it's the same for XS...
7th July 2012, 10:10 AM |#25  
rmk152's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Working for me too already made a backup.

Reboot option worked for me as well.
The Following User Says Thank You to rmk152 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2012, 10:49 AM |#26  
sminki's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by imTigger

I found a minor problem: the timestamp created by nandroid isn't correct.
It's something like "1970-04-06.18.58.53" now.

Known issue, it also happens with the recoveries in Arakmar's ICS and DooM's GB Advanced Stock Kernels (kernels with recovery - we already had recovery in one form ) it's a device thing

anyway, nice work tommyrumbler
Last edited by sminki; 7th July 2012 at 10:51 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to sminki For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2012, 11:02 AM |#27  
brunsman6229's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anywhere
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
just tried the file (charger) for my ray and the phone is charging aparently but the "charge animation" is break... (i think the file must be edited)

PS: the original pagehttp://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=263
Last edited by brunsman6229; 7th July 2012 at 11:05 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brunsman6229 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2012, 11:48 AM |#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunsman6229

@hello_hello : you don't loose root when you flash a rom. just when you flash stock firmware... also yes, the backup is save on your sdcard with your system "root" access

If I have this system "root" access, does that mean I can restore it when I flash a new firmware? Or just it has to be the current rooted firmware only?

I think I get it. It simply means ROM backup. With this we can flash or mess with the system eg it's app etc without worry as we can restore it.
Last edited by hello_hello; 7th July 2012 at 12:24 PM.
7th July 2012, 12:30 PM |#29  
RoterAdler's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Frankfurt
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Does this recovery work with locked bootloader?

Sent from my LT26i using xda app-developers app
7th July 2012, 12:44 PM |#30  
sigma9988's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Taipei,Taiwan
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoterAdler

Does this recovery work with locked bootloader?

Sent from my LT26i using xda app-developers app

Working with locked bootloader
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sigma9988 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes