Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,660 Members 54,367 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[CWM] Nexus Q Factory Image

Tip us?
 
fiveipads
Old
(Last edited by fiveipads; 19th August 2012 at 12:01 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 20
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rochester
Talking [CWM] Nexus Q Factory Image

For all you Shotputterz heres the factory image we've been waiting for

assuming you have debug mode enabled, ADB and fastboot working properly
EDIT 1: REUP'D CWM mod
EDIT 2: reordered process to make more sense
Method:


1. Download the Beta CWM mod from rootzwikis credit to birdman EDIT:REUP'ED http://d-h.st/Fdp

2. Using fastboot, DO NOT FLASH Clockwork mod just use the syntax

"fastboot boot 'File path of clockwork mod image'

Note* this will boot directly into the recovery without permanently writing to the recovery and boot partition on the eMMC on the Nexus Qs board

3. Download the posted CWM factory backup posted

4. make the directory on the device and adb push the backup folder (unzipped) to /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup while in CWM recovery
*The device should show up in "adb devices" while in the CWM recovery*

5. *TEXT WILL BE REALLY SMALL! Now navigate with the Scroll wheel to backups and restore and tap the mute button to select.

*IF SOMETHING IS SELECTED IN ERROR THERE IS NO BACK BUTTON JUST REBOOT AND REDO FASTBOOT BOOT*

6. Now select restore and select the image folder

7.blah blah CWM Freaking MAGIC

8. Your Q is back to factory state

If someone wants to PM me or show me how to package this in a nicer CWM zip to install with a script let me know
http://d-h.st/yeo

*Note* I am NOT responsible if you brick your already bricked Nexus Q*
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to fiveipads For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ThisIsDave
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brooklyn
You sir get a beer, since my 2nd (dev) Q won't arrive until later this week, and mine was a shot put until this post.

If you happen to be in NYC before I move to SF, you get three beers.

Hoppy ones.
 
fiveipads
Old
(Last edited by fiveipads; 10th July 2012 at 02:38 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 20
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rochester
I am moving to SF

Did the reflash go smoothly?
-"More people want windows on more devices" -Steve Ballmer
 
ThisIsDave
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brooklyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiveipads View Post
I am moving to SF

Did the reflash go smoothly?
No unfortunately it didn't--I blew away all partitions other than bootloader so I can't, to my knowledge at least, push the zip since I can't adb.

I've got factory recovery, boot, system imgs but the system img won't push out because of fastboot's apparent inability to handle files that large (1GB exactly I believe).

...I guess I have to patiently await my second Q but the point of having two was to *use* one and have one for dev... rather than have one as a heavy reminder of my overzealous endeavors...

Hopefully I can give it more time while on this SF trip...
The Following User Says Thank You to ThisIsDave For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fiveipads
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 20
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Rochester
Boot into the cwm bootloader with fastboot without flashing. Adb will be enabled and you can push files the files while your in adb recovery. Try that and flash it.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda app-developers app
-"More people want windows on more devices" -Steve Ballmer
 
Smokuevo
Old
#6  
Smokuevo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 632
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Schaumburg
Does our Q's have internal memory.. if not wouldn't it be possible to run back up of off otg memory stick if recovery would support it

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
 
camondraconis
Old
(Last edited by camondraconis; 19th July 2012 at 05:09 PM.)
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiveipads View Post
Boot into the cwm bootloader with fastboot without flashing. Adb will be enabled and you can push files the files while your in adb recovery. Try that and flash it.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda app-developers app
The problem I'm having is that ADB is not responding from CWM... at least not on a Windows machine. The drivers are fine as ADB was working in normal mode before my issue sprung up.

EDIT: As suspected Virtual Ubuntu on a Win host didn't see the device, Physical Ubuntu had no issue. NQ reloaded.
 
THE_KINGDOM
Old
#8  
THE_KINGDOM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 831
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiveipads View Post
Boot into the cwm bootloader with fastboot without flashing. Adb will be enabled and you can push files the files while your in adb recovery. Try that and flash it.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda app-developers app
Can we do this by say pushing the file to the download folder and then installing from zip?

And i know slightly off topic but once we've installed some apks for example, what's currently the best interface to use to navigate through the apps and use them?
PHONE: Nexus 5 | White | 32GB
OTHER MEDIA DEVICE: Nexus Q - CM
KERNEL: ---
 
mrjaymillz
Old
(Last edited by mrjaymillz; 28th July 2012 at 08:03 PM.) Reason: Fixed issue
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2012
Question How do I make a directory on Nexus Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiveipads View Post
For all you Shotputterz heres the factory image we've been waiting for

assuming you have debug mode enabled, ADB and fastboot working properly
Method:
1. Download the posted CWM factory backup posted
2. make the directory on the device and adb push the backup folder (unzipped) to /sdcard/clockworkmod/backup
http://d-h.st/yeo
In step 2 you say make a directory for the file that is posted below. How do I create a directory on the Nexus Q? Currently my Q is stuck in a bootloop after trying to launch CWM from a Galaxy Nexus. If you could post command codes that would be awesome!

I figured it out. You can just follow step #4 and in CWM you can push the CWM Factory img to the /sdcard/Download/ folder and use CWM to unzip and launch.
 
discoltk
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2010
Could someone please provide me the beta cwm image for Nexus Q? The links are all circular and point to

http://goo.im/devs/birdman/CWM-steelhead-beta.img

Which is dead...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...