Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

smart dialer from S?

OP keepitsimpleidiot

11th July 2012, 02:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Has anyone tried to install the smart dialer from Xperia S? I had it on my X10 and loved it.
11th July 2012, 03:31 PM   |  #2  
Spectre51's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
3,343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
What's the smart dialer? I Have an Xperia S but am not sure what you're referring to.

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk 2
11th July 2012, 05:48 PM   |  #3  
killerskincanoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 75
 
1,120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
This would be great. I'm still very salty this doesn't work stock. So used to being able to just open phone and start dialing and have it auto populate a contact as u type.

Sent from my LT28at using xda app-developers app
11th July 2012, 06:18 PM   |  #4  
Spectre51's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
3,343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Ah okay now I get what you mean. Once we get root we would probably be able to copy the dialer from the XS but as it is now we can't change the system apps without root.
11th July 2012, 08:10 PM   |  #5  
Auggy99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 21
 
190 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
I really enjoyed the xperia s dialer on my x10, kinda dumb that sony didn't include this with the ion. It's funny how the dialer also made the contact's list irrelevant since I could just type out the name on the dialer instead rather then going through the contact list
12th July 2012, 12:28 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I was able to download the 2 apks (smartsearch and the dialer) and just overwrite the current phone app. no problems so far....
12th July 2012, 12:30 AM   |  #7  
killerskincanoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 75
 
1,120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Uhm how did u overwrite system apps? And please share lol.

Sent from my LT28at using xda app-developers app
12th July 2012, 03:00 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Auggy99

I really enjoyed the xperia s dialer on my x10, kinda dumb that sony didn't include this with the ion. It's funny how the dialer also made the contact's list irrelevant since I could just type out the name on the dialer instead rather then going through the contact list

not sony.. but the dumb f*ck att again.. just not sure who/what made them so retarded
check out those international ions then you will see
12th July 2012, 06:25 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerskincanoe

Uhm how did u overwrite system apps? And please share lol.

Sent from my LT28at using xda app-developers app



I just saved the apks to my sd card and clicked install (through androzip) and it asked if I wanted to replace the already existing phone app. I clicked yes and now I'm using the smart dialer
The Following User Says Thank You to keepitsimpleidiot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th July 2012, 06:37 PM   |  #10  
Spectre51's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,343
 
3,343 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by keepitsimpleidiot

I just saved the apks to my sd card and clicked install (through androzip) and it asked if I wanted to replace the already existing phone app. I clicked yes and now I'm using the smart dialer

Hmm interesting. Glad it worked. what apks did you use?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes