FORUMS

Which OEM Would You Like to Help?

Most manufacturers have moments of greatness and moments of decadence, and in the past few years … more

Root T-Mobile S6/Edge on 5.1.1 Without Tripping Knox

If you purchase phones from a carrier, you may be no stranger to the difficulties … more

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

[HOWTO] [ROOT] Reset Flash Counter [Confirmed VZW, Assumes others are the same]

27 posts
Thanks Meter: 102
 
By enderblue, Junior Member on 18th July 2012, 07:48 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So, you managed to trip the flash counter.

Here are the commands to reset the flash counter. This works on my VZW rooted phone. Since all of the other variants have a very similar (same?) partition setup, this "might" work for them as well ("might" is the key word).

I take no responsibility for you voiding warranty.

I used this post as the basis for my theory and then used my phone as the test for said theory: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=67

The "'\x00'" portion tells it what resets it to 0. If you wanted to be funny, you could set it to a different number.

adb shell
su
echo -n '\x01' | dd obs=1 count=1 seek=4193796 of=/dev/block/mmcblk0

I can only confirm that this works on the VZW variant. Until I get some dumps of the other variants, I can only assume it will work for them.

TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!!
The Following 35 Users Say Thank You to enderblue For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
18th July 2012, 08:11 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
This is great news! Is there a way to read the value to confirm it's been incremented? (I have an AT&T phone, and would like to confirm the value is 1 right now - which is my current flash count).


Quote:
Originally Posted by enderblue

So, you managed to trip the flash counter.

Here are the commands to reset the flash counter. This works on my VZW rooted phone. Since all of the other variants have a very similar (same?) partition setup, this "might" work for them as well ("might" is the key word).

I take no responsibility for you voiding warranty.

I used this post as the basis for my theory and then used my phone as the test for said theory: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...0&postcount=67

The "'\x00'" portion tells it what resets it to 0. If you wanted to be funny, you could set it to a different number.

adb shell
su
echo -n '\x01' | dd obs=1 count=1 seek=4193796 of=/dev/block/mmcblk0

I can only confirm that this works on the VZW variant. Until I get some dumps of the other variants, I can only assume it will work for them.

TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!!

18th July 2012, 08:35 PM |#3  
Raul77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnhazelwood

This is great news! Is there a way to read the value to confirm it's been incremented? (I have an AT&T phone, and would like to confirm the value is 1 right now - which is my current flash count).

go to download mode and look on top left of the screen , small text in white.
18th July 2012, 08:42 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raul77

go to download mode and look on top left of the screen , small text in white.

Sorry, I might not have worded that correctly. I'd like to read that memory block that he's proposing we change and see if the value stored is the same as what's displayed on the Download screen (which I can see). Basically, as I understand it, his command will reset the counter. I just want to confirm that on an AT&T flavor of the phone, the results of that memory block are the same.
18th July 2012, 08:47 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Kenmore, WA
Thanks Meter: 468
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnhazelwood

Sorry, I might not have worded that correctly. I'd like to read that memory block that he's proposing we change and see if the value stored is the same as what's displayed on the Download screen (which I can see). Basically, as I understand it, his command will reset the counter. I just want to confirm that on an AT&T flavor of the phone, the results of that memory block are the same.

I think this will work:
Code:
dd bs=1 count=1 skip=4193796 if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 2>/dev/null | od -t
The Following User Says Thank You to drothenberger For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th July 2012, 09:04 PM |#6  
pinoymutt's Avatar
Senior Member
SoCal
Thanks Meter: 462
 
More
Actually Chainfire just released v1.70 of Triangle Away today that resets the counter on the US/Canadian variants. Not sure if he used the same method as the OP here, but thanks for your research into this as well!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pinoymutt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th July 2012, 09:15 PM |#7  
gunnyman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Greenville SC
Thanks Meter: 2,682
 
Donate to Me
More
Not seeing that release got a link?
18th July 2012, 09:17 PM |#8  
pinoymutt's Avatar
Senior Member
SoCal
Thanks Meter: 462
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnyman

Not seeing that release got a link?

In his main thread - http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1494114
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pinoymutt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th July 2012, 09:17 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
can anyone confirm triangle away or this method works on ATT version of the s3?
18th July 2012, 09:22 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
I'm about to try it on my AT&T, but he does callout our version as being supported in his latest release. Wohoo!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to johnhazelwood For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
flash counter, galaxy s3, galaxy siii, verizon
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes