Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,868 Members 42,723 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unofficial Guide To Installing K-exec and CM9 & CM10

Tip us?
 
BeansTown106
Old
(Last edited by BeansTown106; 22nd July 2012 at 01:09 AM.)
#1  
BeansTown106's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 18,176
Posts: 2,489
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Springfield, Ma Likes: AllianceRom :) Dislikes: Kangers

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Unofficial Guide To Installing K-exec and CM9 & CM10

Unofficial K-EXEC & CM9\10 Guide
Quote:
Setup Instructions
Step 1.- Transfer the CM9 or Cm10 Rom, ICS or JB Gapps, and d2vzw_recovery.img to the root of you emmc
Step 2.- push the kexec cwm to sdcard and install
Code:
adb push d2vzw_recovery.img /sdcard/
adb shell
su
dd if=/sdcard/d2vzw_recovery.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p18 bs=256k
sync
reboot recovery
Step 3.- reboot into recovery
Step 4.- wipe data factory reset
Step 5.- Install cm9 or Cm10 zip
Step 6.- Install ICS or JB Gapps
Step 7.- Profit You Should Be Booting into CM9 or Cm10
Quote:
Credits
I take no credit for this.. its all cvpcs's work and the cyanogenmod team.. **the jb zip was also made by dhacker it is 100% stable i think better than ics ** i was just impatient and merged the data fix before it went live , Build now has kexec intergrated so all u need to do is flash this new recovery and the cm9 zip it will auto Kexec thanks to cvpcs
Quote:
DISCLAIMER
Neither me or team cyanogenmod take any responsibility if u brick your phone doing this, make a backup and read over instructions 2-3x

Current Device's: Verizon Galaxy S5, Note 3 - T-Mobile Galaxy S5 - Wifi Tab Pro 8.4
If You Like My Work Please Consider a Donation to help further Development
Dont Forget To Hit "Thanks" And Rate The Thread 5 Stars!!

The Following 29 Users Say Thank You to BeansTown106 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
droidstyle
Old
(Last edited by droidstyle; 26th July 2012 at 04:33 AM.)
#2  
droidstyle's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,368
Posts: 6,110
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort Wayne

 
DONATE TO ME
Edit* just wanted to apologize for my previous post! I thought you were posting a guide in the oe development thread...when in reality your posting cm9/10 roms that you helped develop. I would suggest editing the title of the thread to reflect that its rom development and not just a guide. I do appreciate your work!!!
Devices:
VZW Galaxy Note III Dev. Edition
VZW Galaxy S III
Asus T. Prime
---------
VZW Galaxy S Fascinate GUIDE
VZW Galaxy S III GUIDE
VZW Galaxy Note II GUIDE
VZW Galaxy Note III GUIDE
The Following User Says Thank You to droidstyle For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BeansTown106
Old
#3  
BeansTown106's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 18,176
Posts: 2,489
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Springfield, Ma Likes: AllianceRom :) Dislikes: Kangers

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by droidstyle View Post
Sweet write up....but derp, what on earth made you determine this is original development?
This is meant for the newest roms ie: aosp, cm, aokp source builds. no?

Current Device's: Verizon Galaxy S5, Note 3 - T-Mobile Galaxy S5 - Wifi Tab Pro 8.4
If You Like My Work Please Consider a Donation to help further Development
Dont Forget To Hit "Thanks" And Rate The Thread 5 Stars!!

 
Marcismo55
Old
#4  
Marcismo55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 416
Posts: 1,763
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ventura, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm giving this a shot. Thank you for the write...I don't think even I scan even screw this up!
Current: HTC One M8 32gb Retired: HTC One 32GB Samsung Galaxy S II Skyrocket Samsung Galaxy S III HTC Rezound HTC Incredible (AMOLED)
 
cordell12
Old
#5  
cordell12's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3,387
Posts: 3,034
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Dayton, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
I know this is early stage so not a complaint here, just having data drops on 3G. Besides those I am in heaven! lol

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
http://forum.xda-developers.com/signaturepics/sigpic2980360_3.gif


NOTE: Search, Read, Produce a Logcat then report any Stock Slim Issues

<--- If you want to buy me a Coffee or Cold Beer, please use the "Donate To Me" Button under my Avatar, Thanks!
 
EM2_Rob
Old
#6  
EM2_Rob's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 72
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston

 
DONATE TO ME
So there's data now?
 
Kipland007
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 76
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by EM2_Rob View Post
So there's data now?
Yeah I am as well curious, though it seems that if there are drops it would suggest that data is available... I assume this is the build that cvpcs posted about having shaky 4g? (And 3g it seems)
 
Dcox28
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 398
Join Date: May 2011
Please pardon the noobish question but is there a way to push these files with terminal emulator? I haven't been able to get ADB to work. I have it and the SDK installed but when i try to push something it says ADB is not a recognized command
 
Marcismo55
Old
#9  
Marcismo55's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 416
Posts: 1,763
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ventura, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dcox28 View Post
Please pardon the noobish question but is there a way to push these files with terminal emulator? I haven't been able to get ADB to work. I have it and the SDK installed but when i try to push something it says ADB is not a recognized command
Sure..just skip the first two ADB commands (make sure you have the files on your EMMC/internal storage). Start with the "su" command to get root and follow the rest of the directions.
Current: HTC One M8 32gb Retired: HTC One 32GB Samsung Galaxy S II Skyrocket Samsung Galaxy S III HTC Rezound HTC Incredible (AMOLED)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Marcismo55 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
papi92
Old
#10  
papi92's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,356
Posts: 2,109
Join Date: Nov 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Hello data is not dropping for me at all. Actually better signal then stock touchwiz. I recommend flashing this and trying.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

The Following User Says Thank You to papi92 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes