[ROM/DISCONTINUED] ParanoidAndroid 1.5a for Vision — version 0.5 beta (09-Aug-2012)

OP NeverGone\RU

21st July 2012, 12:37 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 658

559 posts
Donate to Me
More
So this is my very first attempt in ROM porting.

Some of you may have heard of tablet mode and if you have tried it you know well that it smashes your phone. Apps are small, their layout is screwed, things overlap, crash or stop working, Google Play forbids you to download, if you tried AOKP you cant even use launcher and phone. In short, it is a mess.

PARANOIDANDROID changed that. It does not "heal" tablet mode, it obliterates the boundaries. You define how big or small apps are, you define in which UI they display, no matter if your phone runs in tablet or phone mode, which also you can define. Customize every single entity on your phone, lockscreen, navigationbar, system-components, widgets, apps. If you prefer stay with your three bearpaw buttons + drop-down curtain or switch to a combined navigationbar + drop-up notificationcenter, enjoy Youtube in 3D, Gmail and settings in 2-columns, Chrome in its better mobile UI, etc. Nothing overlaps, nothing crashes, everything works as you'd expect. This is completely new ground and has never been realized before, it is lightyears from tablet mode.
Install ROM: http://d-h.st/ufK
Install Google Apps: http://d-h.st/wCo (and only these! other GApps will have Play Store broken in tablet mode!)
Wipe caches, factory reset is a must if you're coming from another rom than CM9
  • If automatic brightness is disabled, button backlight doesn't turn on after Power button is pressed
Maybe something else, you tell me
I used jerl92's CM9 build as a base, HWComposer libraries and kernel from Andromadus Mimicry (these made this ROM insanely fast) and hdorius' DHD port. Sorry for being a "winzip dev", as I'm yet a complete noob in Android development

Thanks to:
  • ahjavery for his ROM porting guide