Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,408 Members 52,762 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FIRMWARE] <I535VRUCML1> (MODEM/RPM/TZ/SBL) Verizon SGS3 (SCH-I535)

Tip us?
 
invisiblek
Old
(Last edited by invisiblek; 21st December 2013 at 10:50 AM.)
#1  
invisiblek's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3,370
Posts: 1,246
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minnesota

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [FIRMWARE] <I535VRUCML1> (MODEM/RPM/TZ/SBL) Verizon SGS3 (SCH-I535)

No, I do not have a full I535VRUCML1 firmware package for you.
Yes, I somewhat lied in the title of this thread. But I did it for a good reason: to get your attention.
Mods - I'm sure you'll understand.

You should NOT flash the I535VRUCML1 firmware (or any subsequent releases for that matter). You will brick. This is what vzw/samsung did on the first OTA for the Galaxy S4. They changed the keys they sign the firmware with. This prevents us from 'mis-matching' our firmware like we've been doing all along. We've been leaving aboot (VRUAME6, the african-canadian sock-monkey leaked bootloader) alone and updating everything else. Since they're signing with different keys now, doing this will brick your device. If you update the ENTIRE bootchain (including aboot) you shouldn't brick, but will be stuck with a locked bootloader and any attempt to downgrade (via dd, etc) will brick you as well. Even if you manage to flash an ENTIRE old bootchain over VRUCML1, you'll brick because they trip a qfuse that prevents it from working. More info about qfuse by djrbliss here: http://t.co/myb0LIrN6e

Just stick with VRUBMF1, trust me.

These firmware updates have, up until now, consisted of several partitions that we update:
- tz (trustzone)
- rpm (resource/power management)
- sbl[1,2,3] (secure bootloaders)
- NON-HLOS (modem/baseband)

Due to the way Samsung and Verizon have chosen to proceed with future updates (following what they do for the Galaxy S4) we cannot flash all these partitions anymore (see above) and retain our unlocked bootloader. We CAN, however, update the baseband as it's not signed.

My recommendation: if you aren't already on MF1 firmware (below), flash that. Then update your baseband with this: http://invisiblek.org/sch-i535/modem..._ML1_modem.zip

Latest firmware (aka AIO) linked here: http://invisiblek.org/d2firmware.html

Find all firmware (aka AIO) packages here: http://invisiblek.org/sch-i535/firmware/


#verizons3 | #sgs4 | #cm-htc @ freenode

READ THIS


The Following 284 Users Say Thank You to invisiblek For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Flowah
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 136
Join Date: Feb 2010
How would we measure objectively, coverage/speed differences between what we have the old and new radios?

I guess bandwidth speed test app? Anything else?
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Flowah For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
preusstang
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 185
Join Date: Jan 2011
Sweet. Maybe I'll get better signal. My voice/1x reception has been worse than my old dx. I'm dropping calls left and right. I also live in the middle of BFE.

how is baseband/radio affected when we flash something else with cwm or with Odin? I mean, I have stock rooted w. b00stedv.002, but if I flash aokp or cm, will it replace this new radio with whatever one is included with them?

Slightly OT, I remember on the dx, if you wanted to sbf without the radio you did it with Linux, otherwise with moto's rsdlite.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to preusstang For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ZonicTH
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 35
Join Date: Jun 2010
Will this wipe data/swap us back to a stockish rom?
 
BeansTown106
Old
#5  
BeansTown106's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 18,362
Posts: 2,509
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Springfield, Ma Likes: AllianceRom :) Dislikes: Kangers

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by invisiblek View Post
I've always liked having a thread dedicated to keeping links for the most updated modems for a device. Just easier to find that way.

These are packaged for flashing with Odin. Flash in the PDA section.

I will not promise anything as far as faster speeds or better coverage.

IMPORTANT:
Do not unplug while this is happening, unless you are in dire need of a paperweight.
Odin tends to seem like it hangs for a short bit toward the end of the flash. Be patient, it will finish and automatically reboot.


Latest one on top.

VRLG1 - http://goo.im/devs/invisiblek/i535/VRLG1.modem.tar.md5
This is the first OTA

VRLF2 - http://goo.im/devs/invisiblek/i535/VRLF2.modem.tar.md5
This is the original shipped modem
very good idea these are amaazing.. any idea if the new radio plays nicer with installs etc.. as the old one has more or less everyone with no service here and there.. or globally roaming :/

Current Device's: Verizon Galaxy S5, Note 3 - T-Mobile Galaxy S5 - OnePlus One
If You Like My Work Please Consider a Donation to help further Development
Dont Forget To Hit "Thanks" And Rate The Thread 5 Stars!!

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BeansTown106 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
invisiblek
Old
#6  
invisiblek's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 3,370
Posts: 1,246
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Minnesota

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by beanstown106 View Post
very good idea these are amaazing.. any idea if the new radio plays nicer with installs etc.. as the old one has more or less everyone with no service here and there.. or globally roaming :/
no idea, i'm still rocking a stock rom
would be nice though if this fixed some of the aosp problems


MOD: please sticky this thread


#verizons3 | #sgs4 | #cm-htc @ freenode

READ THIS


The Following User Says Thank You to invisiblek For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BeansTown106
Old
#7  
BeansTown106's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 18,362
Posts: 2,509
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Springfield, Ma Likes: AllianceRom :) Dislikes: Kangers

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by invisiblek View Post
no idea, i'm still rocking a stock rom
would be nice though if this fixed some of the aosp problems


MOD: please sticky this thread
im on cm10 after all the audio commits etc it seems like the most stable rom other than stock, beats aokp or cm9 right now imho, no data drops etc

Current Device's: Verizon Galaxy S5, Note 3 - T-Mobile Galaxy S5 - OnePlus One
If You Like My Work Please Consider a Donation to help further Development
Dont Forget To Hit "Thanks" And Rate The Thread 5 Stars!!

 
nosympathy
Old
#8  
nosympathy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,132
Posts: 2,381
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cincinnati

 
DONATE TO ME
So...This is just the new baseband right?

So should be able to flash with custom recovery/rom etc?

this is my first samsung device so not looking for a brick.
[Phone] Samsung Galaxy Note II
[Root] Jailbroken
[Recovery] TWRP 2.4.1.0
[Rom] Beans #7
[Kernal] Saber Kernel
 
burkett375
Old
#9  
burkett375's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 210
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cuse


I'm stuck at this screen, its been doing it for about 10 min. is it ok to unplug and start over?
The Following User Says Thank You to burkett375 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nosympathy
Old
#10  
nosympathy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,132
Posts: 2,381
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cincinnati

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by burkett375 View Post

I'm stuck at this screen, its been doing it for about 10 min. is it ok to unplug and start over?
Did you verify the MD5 before flashing?
[Phone] Samsung Galaxy Note II
[Root] Jailbroken
[Recovery] TWRP 2.4.1.0
[Rom] Beans #7
[Kernal] Saber Kernel

The Following User Says Thank You to nosympathy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes