Post Reply

[ROOT][TOOL][2012-07-24] GS3DebugFSRoot: Root the Verizon GSIII without flashing

OP Noxious Ninja

24th July 2012, 03:15 AM   |  #1  
Noxious Ninja's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 425
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
THIS WILL NOT WORK WITH JELLY BEAN.

---

Here's a easy-to-use tool based on the method in this thread.

If you like this tool, please click the Thanks button!
Even better, see my signature.

DISCLAIMER: As with any rooting tool, there is some chance that something will go wrong. Use of this tool is at your own risk, and I will not be responsible if you brick your phone in the process. Although there have been zero reports of this tool breaking anyone's phone, don't run it if you aren't comfortable with the possibility of having something go wrong and having to re-Odin back to stock or worse.

Instructions:
  1. Install the USB drivers if you don't have them already: Verizon_Wireless_I535_GSIII_Samsung_USB_Driver_v1_ 4_6_0.exe
  2. Download the package and extract it somewhere (you'll need 7-Zip or some other modern compression tool) Make sure you extract all the files to a folder somewhere! Running it straight from your compression program probably won't work.
  3. On your phone, enable installation of third-party apps (Settings --> Security --> Unknown sources, near the bottom in the "Device administration" section)
  4. On your phone, enable USB debugging (Settings --> Developer options --> USB debugging)
  5. On your PC, make sure you don't have any other Android devices connected, any Android emulators running, or any Android tools like PdaNet running.
  6. Plug your phone into a USB port on your computer. For best results, use a port directly on the machine, and not a USB hub.
  7. Double-click RootDebugfs.bat and follow the directions on the screen. Your phone will reboot 3 or 4 times during the process; just leave it plugged in. To be safe, don't switch to any other applications while the root process is running.

DOWNLOAD GS3DebugFSRoot R2 FOR US GALAXY S III VARIANTS ONLY!!!
(Released July 24, 2012)

If anything goes wrong, post here and I'll see what I can do.

Credits:
* miloj, for the debugfs root method for the Asus TF300T
* sparkym3, for his script for rooting the Asus Transformer Prime - this is a modified version of that script
* ChainsDD, for Superuser
Attached Files
File Type: 7z GS3_debugfs-root_r2.7z - [Click for QR Code] (1.70 MB, 51440 views)
Last edited by Noxious Ninja; 14th December 2012 at 11:40 PM.
The Following 222 Users Say Thank You to Noxious Ninja For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 03:16 AM   |  #2  
Noxious Ninja's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 425
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Version History:

The most recent version is always at the top.

r2 2012-07-24
+ Changed font color to white for readability
+ Cleaned up output
+ Fixed typo in title (GSII instead of GSIII)
+ Fixed Unknown Sources/USB Debugging directions
+ Included latest version of adb from platform-tools 13, might make things more reliable
* Includes ChainsDD Superuser 3.1.3 and su binary 3.1.1
* Known to work with LF2 and LG1.

r1 2012-07-23
* Initial beta
* Includes ChainsDD Superuser 3.1.3 and su binary 3.1.1
* Works with LF2. Probably works with LG1.


Possible future features:
* APK version of the tool! I'm still not sure if this is possible - currently researching.
Sadly, I don't think this is going to happen.
* Unroot tool.
* Choice of Superuser or SuperSU.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z GS3_debugfs-root_r1.7z - [Click for QR Code] (1.69 MB, 743 views)
Last edited by Noxious Ninja; 28th July 2012 at 03:20 PM.
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Noxious Ninja For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 03:17 AM   |  #3  
Noxious Ninja's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 425
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
FAQs:

Q: What versions of the stock ROM does this work with?
A: It's known to work with anything from LF2 up to LHE. It seems likely that DebugFSRoot will be able to work with any ICS ROMs. We'll have to wait and see if it works on JB or not.

Q: I'm getting an error like "adb is not recognized as an internal or external command", or "cannot stat 'su': No such file or directory". What do I do?
A: Don't run the tool straight from your compression program. Make sure to extract all the files somewhere first.

Q: Will this wipe my data?
A: Nope.

Q: How can I unroot? Will flashing a stock ROM unroot?
A: Flashing a stock ROM will unroot and also remove any modifications you made to /system.

Q: Everything seems to have worked fine, and the Superuser app shows the binary as present and working. However, none of my root apps work. What do I do?
A: This seems to happen to a very small number of people, and the cause is unknown. If this happens to you, try installing Chainfire SuperSU.

Q: Is this any better than flashing the root66 ROM?
A: The end result should be pretty much the same, but this tool is much smaller to download than the root66 ROM.
A: If you are on a phone with the stock LG1 ROM update, root66 will downgrade you to LF2, while this tool will leave your ROM alone.

Q: Is this any better than using the VRALEC boot chain method?
A: The boot chain is a little more complicated. It requires flashing two bootloaders, flashing recovery, and using Triangle Away to reset the Custom Binary Download counter. If you intend to install a custom recovery/custom ROMs anyway, it's fine and probably quicker. However, if all you want is root to run Titanium Backup or other root apps, GS3DebugFSRoot is easier.

Q: Will this increment the flash counter?
A: Not on its own. If you flash anything else after rooting, however, you might, so read up on what you're doing.

Q: Will this cause the "custom unlock" boot screen to appear?
A: In general, no. However, the spyware Samsung/Verizon included (SysScope/libcordon) is paranoid, and a lot of tweaks you can do after rooting will trigger it. If you don't want to risk getting the custom unlock screen, don't freeze any apps using Titanium Backup and generally limit your tweaking to things you could do without root.

Q: Can Samsung/Verizon block this method in the future?
Yes. It's very possible that a future OTA will patch the exploit that this tool uses. If you want to root, it's always best to do it now!
Last edited by Noxious Ninja; 17th October 2012 at 03:17 PM.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Noxious Ninja For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 04:56 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I just tried this and it appears to work. Installed Titanium Backup and SuperUser permissions were given. Thanks!

P.S.
Some of the instructions in the console app are incorrect for the location of enabling Debug Mode and Installing Unknown App Sources.
The Following User Says Thank You to DFieldFL For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 04:57 AM   |  #5  
Noxious Ninja's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 425
 
628 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFieldFL

I just tried this and it appears to work. Installed Titanium Backup and SuperUser permissions were given. Thanks!

P.S.
Some of the instructions in the console app are incorrect for the location of enabling Debug Mode and Installing Unknown App Sources.

Ah, I forgot to update that part in the Transformer Prime script I based this on. I'll fix it tomorrow.

Did you get the custom unlock boot screen?
The Following User Says Thank You to Noxious Ninja For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 05:02 AM   |  #6  
open1your1eyes0's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 3,336
 
2,232 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noxious Ninja

Ah, I forgot to update that part in the Transformer Prime script I based this on. I'll fix it tomorrow.

Did you get the custom unlock boot screen?

Also title says Galaxy S II not III.
The Following User Says Thank You to open1your1eyes0 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 05:14 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noxious Ninja

Ah, I forgot to update that part in the Transformer Prime script I based this on. I'll fix it tomorrow.

Did you get the custom unlock boot screen?

The boot screen looks the same to me.
The Following User Says Thank You to DFieldFL For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 05:18 AM   |  #8  
ekklesiaillusion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 38
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Thumbs up
Worked for me, thanks
24th July 2012, 06:02 AM   |  #9  
phantomevo77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Cant recognize the phone using this tool. Yet device is recognized by adb in a standalone cmd prompt..

saying "adb is not an executable file"
The Following User Says Thank You to phantomevo77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2012, 07:08 AM   |  #10  
tghockey07's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 22
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomevo77

Cant recognize the phone using this tool. Yet device is recognized by adb in a standalone cmd prompt..

saying "adb is not an executable file"

Same thing happening to me.

EDIT: Just switched usb ports and unplugged and replugged my phone in and it worked!
Last edited by tghockey07; 24th July 2012 at 07:28 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy S III Android Development by ThreadRank