Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,576 Members 37,689 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT][TOOL][2012-07-24] GS3DebugFSRoot: Root the Verizon GSIII without flashing

Tip us?
 
Noxious Ninja
Old
(Last edited by Noxious Ninja; 14th December 2012 at 11:40 PM.)
#1  
Noxious Ninja's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 425
Posts: 628
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Prompt [ROOT][TOOL][2012-07-24] GS3DebugFSRoot: Root the Verizon GSIII without flashing

THIS WILL NOT WORK WITH JELLY BEAN.

---

Here's a easy-to-use tool based on the method in this thread.

If you like this tool, please click the Thanks button!
Even better, see my signature.

DISCLAIMER: As with any rooting tool, there is some chance that something will go wrong. Use of this tool is at your own risk, and I will not be responsible if you brick your phone in the process. Although there have been zero reports of this tool breaking anyone's phone, don't run it if you aren't comfortable with the possibility of having something go wrong and having to re-Odin back to stock or worse.

Instructions:
  1. Install the USB drivers if you don't have them already: Verizon_Wireless_I535_GSIII_Samsung_USB_Driver_v1_ 4_6_0.exe
  2. Download the package and extract it somewhere (you'll need 7-Zip or some other modern compression tool) Make sure you extract all the files to a folder somewhere! Running it straight from your compression program probably won't work.
  3. On your phone, enable installation of third-party apps (Settings --> Security --> Unknown sources, near the bottom in the "Device administration" section)
  4. On your phone, enable USB debugging (Settings --> Developer options --> USB debugging)
  5. On your PC, make sure you don't have any other Android devices connected, any Android emulators running, or any Android tools like PdaNet running.
  6. Plug your phone into a USB port on your computer. For best results, use a port directly on the machine, and not a USB hub.
  7. Double-click RootDebugfs.bat and follow the directions on the screen. Your phone will reboot 3 or 4 times during the process; just leave it plugged in. To be safe, don't switch to any other applications while the root process is running.

DOWNLOAD GS3DebugFSRoot R2 FOR US GALAXY S III VARIANTS ONLY!!!
(Released July 24, 2012)

If anything goes wrong, post here and I'll see what I can do.

Credits:
* miloj, for the debugfs root method for the Asus TF300T
* sparkym3, for his script for rooting the Asus Transformer Prime - this is a modified version of that script
* ChainsDD, for Superuser
Attached Files
File Type: 7z GS3_debugfs-root_r2.7z - [Click for QR Code] (1.70 MB, 51096 views)
The Following 222 Users Say Thank You to Noxious Ninja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Noxious Ninja
Old
(Last edited by Noxious Ninja; 28th July 2012 at 03:20 PM.)
#2  
Noxious Ninja's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 425
Posts: 628
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Version History:

The most recent version is always at the top.

r2 2012-07-24
+ Changed font color to white for readability
+ Cleaned up output
+ Fixed typo in title (GSII instead of GSIII)
+ Fixed Unknown Sources/USB Debugging directions
+ Included latest version of adb from platform-tools 13, might make things more reliable
* Includes ChainsDD Superuser 3.1.3 and su binary 3.1.1
* Known to work with LF2 and LG1.

r1 2012-07-23
* Initial beta
* Includes ChainsDD Superuser 3.1.3 and su binary 3.1.1
* Works with LF2. Probably works with LG1.


Possible future features:
* APK version of the tool! I'm still not sure if this is possible - currently researching.
Sadly, I don't think this is going to happen.
* Unroot tool.
* Choice of Superuser or SuperSU.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z GS3_debugfs-root_r1.7z - [Click for QR Code] (1.69 MB, 729 views)
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Noxious Ninja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Noxious Ninja
Old
(Last edited by Noxious Ninja; 17th October 2012 at 03:17 PM.)
#3  
Noxious Ninja's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 425
Posts: 628
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
FAQs:

Q: What versions of the stock ROM does this work with?
A: It's known to work with anything from LF2 up to LHE. It seems likely that DebugFSRoot will be able to work with any ICS ROMs. We'll have to wait and see if it works on JB or not.

Q: I'm getting an error like "adb is not recognized as an internal or external command", or "cannot stat 'su': No such file or directory". What do I do?
A: Don't run the tool straight from your compression program. Make sure to extract all the files somewhere first.

Q: Will this wipe my data?
A: Nope.

Q: How can I unroot? Will flashing a stock ROM unroot?
A: Flashing a stock ROM will unroot and also remove any modifications you made to /system.

Q: Everything seems to have worked fine, and the Superuser app shows the binary as present and working. However, none of my root apps work. What do I do?
A: This seems to happen to a very small number of people, and the cause is unknown. If this happens to you, try installing Chainfire SuperSU.

Q: Is this any better than flashing the root66 ROM?
A: The end result should be pretty much the same, but this tool is much smaller to download than the root66 ROM.
A: If you are on a phone with the stock LG1 ROM update, root66 will downgrade you to LF2, while this tool will leave your ROM alone.

Q: Is this any better than using the VRALEC boot chain method?
A: The boot chain is a little more complicated. It requires flashing two bootloaders, flashing recovery, and using Triangle Away to reset the Custom Binary Download counter. If you intend to install a custom recovery/custom ROMs anyway, it's fine and probably quicker. However, if all you want is root to run Titanium Backup or other root apps, GS3DebugFSRoot is easier.

Q: Will this increment the flash counter?
A: Not on its own. If you flash anything else after rooting, however, you might, so read up on what you're doing.

Q: Will this cause the "custom unlock" boot screen to appear?
A: In general, no. However, the spyware Samsung/Verizon included (SysScope/libcordon) is paranoid, and a lot of tweaks you can do after rooting will trigger it. If you don't want to risk getting the custom unlock screen, don't freeze any apps using Titanium Backup and generally limit your tweaking to things you could do without root.

Q: Can Samsung/Verizon block this method in the future?
Yes. It's very possible that a future OTA will patch the exploit that this tool uses. If you want to root, it's always best to do it now!
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Noxious Ninja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DFieldFL
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2010
I just tried this and it appears to work. Installed Titanium Backup and SuperUser permissions were given. Thanks!

P.S.
Some of the instructions in the console app are incorrect for the location of enabling Debug Mode and Installing Unknown App Sources.
The Following User Says Thank You to DFieldFL For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Noxious Ninja
Old
#5  
Noxious Ninja's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 425
Posts: 628
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFieldFL View Post
I just tried this and it appears to work. Installed Titanium Backup and SuperUser permissions were given. Thanks!

P.S.
Some of the instructions in the console app are incorrect for the location of enabling Debug Mode and Installing Unknown App Sources.
Ah, I forgot to update that part in the Transformer Prime script I based this on. I'll fix it tomorrow.

Did you get the custom unlock boot screen?
The Following User Says Thank You to Noxious Ninja For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
open1your1eyes0
Old
#6  
open1your1eyes0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3,324
Posts: 2,194
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New York City

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noxious Ninja View Post
Ah, I forgot to update that part in the Transformer Prime script I based this on. I'll fix it tomorrow.

Did you get the custom unlock boot screen?
Also title says Galaxy S II not III.




The Following User Says Thank You to open1your1eyes0 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DFieldFL
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noxious Ninja View Post
Ah, I forgot to update that part in the Transformer Prime script I based this on. I'll fix it tomorrow.

Did you get the custom unlock boot screen?
The boot screen looks the same to me.
The Following User Says Thank You to DFieldFL For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ekklesiaillusion
Old
#8  
ekklesiaillusion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 38
Posts: 202
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New York
Worked for me, thanks
Sony Ericsson Xperia Play - Retired
Dell Streak 7 - Retired
Samsung Galaxy SIII
 
phantomevo77
Old
#9  
phantomevo77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 420
Join Date: Jun 2010
Cant recognize the phone using this tool. Yet device is recognized by adb in a standalone cmd prompt..

saying "adb is not an executable file"
Phone 1: Verizon Samsung Galaxy S3 Blue
Phone 2: AT&T HTC One Silver
Phone 3: AT&T Blackberry Z10 (unlocked, used on T-Mobile)
The Following User Says Thank You to phantomevo77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tghockey07
Old
(Last edited by tghockey07; 24th July 2012 at 07:28 AM.)
#10  
tghockey07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 181
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomevo77 View Post
Cant recognize the phone using this tool. Yet device is recognized by adb in a standalone cmd prompt..

saying "adb is not an executable file"
Same thing happening to me.

EDIT: Just switched usb ports and unplugged and replugged my phone in and it worked!
Comp: Envy 14, i5 580m, 8gb ram, Win7pro/OS X SL/Win8Preview
Phone: Verizon Samsung Galaxy S3 WHITE
Droid OC'd 1.2ghz, CM9 ICS 4.0.4
Droid BIONIC 4.0.4 leak
Tablet: Galaxy Tab 10.1, CM10 4.1.1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes