5,595,645 Members 45,282 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

(GOOGLE DOCS SPREADSHEET)ATT & Tmo IMEI thread/ Report issues & info here!

Tip us?
 
Lieu10ant
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 394
Join Date: Nov 2008
what is the effect of not having the imei on the phone? why is it a big deal?
 
potentdro
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 147
Join Date: Oct 2010
Is this IMEI disappearance a first for android phones?
T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S3
FrostyJB v3
T-Mobile HTC G2
Andromadus Audacity 5
Radio: 12.62.60.27_26.13.04.19_M
 
erikikaz
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 762
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieu10ant View Post
what is the effect of not having the imei on the phone? why is it a big deal?
Your IMEI is your phone's ID number to the network. No IMEI = goodbye connectivity to ATT/Tmobile/etc. Your phone just lost it's 2g/3g/4g capabilities. In the world of Apple, it's like your iphone turning into an ipod touch.
 
Milk Tea
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieu10ant View Post
what is the effect of not having the imei on the phone? why is it a big deal?
kite edit: That was cute - let's keep that kind of talk to ourselves, eh?


more bluntly, a phone without an IMEI won't get served a signal by AT&T, as posted earlier by someone else if you had read the topic. And what's a phone without a data OR voice connection.
 
erikikaz
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 762
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by potentdro View Post
Is this IMEI disappearance a first for android phones?
No, Samsung phones from way back have had a history of corruption of the EFS partition/file/whatever.[COLOR="Silver"]
 
niezek
Old
#16  
niezek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 264
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Clayton
This happened to me with my captivate a few years ago the only way to fix it was to send it to Samsung for a factory firmware reflash.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium
 
mobilehavoc
Old
#17  
mobilehavoc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 286
Posts: 2,043
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by niezek View Post
This happened to me with my captivate a few years ago the only way to fix it was to send it to Samsung for a factory firmware reflash.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium
I'm going to hold off doing anything with this phone until we know what causes it or at least have a verified way to get it back.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HTC One - 2.17 Stock (4.2.2) || Nexus 4 - CyanogenMod 10.1 Stable ||
 
Will of fire
Old
#18  
Will of fire's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 124
Posts: 1,639
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: union city ca
A user replied in my thread about jellybean that he flashed the jb gapps and lost his imei. Maybe it depends what recovery you have?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
Current Phone:Samsung Galaxy S3 i9300, Galaxy SIII ATT...Galaxy nexus maguro...Galaxy S2 epic touch...=D
Old phones:Atrix 4G,Samsung Captivate,Blackberry9700.
 
androholic
Old
#19  
androholic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 540
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by circuit.007 View Post
I just read this thread.. now im scared. i just flashed 2 different roms and a new kernel.

Will a previous nandroid restore it if the imei gets removed?
NO a nandroid restore has been proven unsuccessful, and I don't want to scare anyone, I want ppl to be informed! I myself have chosen not to flash anything else until more is discovered, but that's just my choice & I'm not as advanced as many users here on XDA.
Thank you to all of the Developers and all of those that may contribute in any way!
Thank someone, it's effortless...
 
androholic
Old
#20  
androholic's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 176
Posts: 540
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmajor View Post
Does this affect sprint GS3 owner??
I've been to at least a half dozen hacker sites trying to locate ppl with the issue, and I've not yet discovered a sprint, or Verizon phone suffering from this issue, only gsm models . But, I can't promise it won't happen, but I would assume it doesn't affect you.
Thank you to all of the Developers and all of those that may contribute in any way!
Thank someone, it's effortless...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes