Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Will this improve your opinion of Best Buy
Exchange and I like BB more 181 68.82%
No exchange but I like BB more 25 9.51%
Exchanged but I have the same opinion 30 11.41%
No exchange and I have the same opinion 27 10.27%
Voters: 263. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

Best Buy Exchanged my Prime for an Infinity

OP blackinjun

26th July 2012, 03:37 AM   |  #1  
blackinjun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 148
 
417 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
I have a 1 year ADH, so I went to BB today to see about exchanging for an Infinity because of GPS problems. They did the exchange but suprisingly they did it under a manufacturer problem and refunded my ADH as a prorate. They ordered my Transformer as an OMS to my home and took off 50.00 because it took over an hour.
Last edited by blackinjun; 31st July 2012 at 12:43 PM.
The Following 59 Users Say Thank You to blackinjun For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2012, 05:48 AM   |  #2  
Skullmonkey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 308
 
877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
A little Q/A:
Q: What is the success rate of this working?
I am figuring around 70% success. (Based on putting names on a list)

Q: Will this work with other stores other than Best Buy?
A: Nothing has been reported to work yet. People have tried Game Stop, Staples, and Office Depot.
Note: This is only reported to work at BB in the US.

Q: Will they take my Prime back if it's unlocked/rooted
Rooted should not be a problem. Unlocked might but no one has reported that they got denied because of being unlocked.

Q: Will this work if I ordered online?
Yes. Just print out your confirmation page and use it as your receipt. (Read the next part also)

Q: What do I need to exchange for something else?
1. Prime (duh)
2. Power cable.
3. Original box (Only 1 person has been able to do it without the box)
4. Receipt or order confirmation if you ordered online. (Some people say it has worked that they "got it as a gift")

Q: Any suggestions?
1. Go straight to customer service. Bypass Geek Squad unless CS tells you to go there.
2. Just say you are having WiFi/BT/GPS issues.
3. Make the prime look as stock as possible.
4. If 1 store doesn't take it, go back after a shift change. Get someone else. If that fails, go to a different store.
Last edited by Skullmonkey; 2nd August 2012 at 01:30 AM.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Skullmonkey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th July 2012, 08:27 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
276 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackinjun

I have a 1 year ADH, so I went to BB today to see about exchanging for an Infinity. They did the exchange but suprisingly they did it under a manufacturer problem and refunded my ADH as a prorate. They ordered my Transformer as an OMS to my home and took off 50.00 because it took over an hour.

Never know until you try, congrats on your good luck and enjoy your brand new toy. Maybe Asus has indtructed the dealers to be very accomdating and lenient on the request for trade ins or exchange. If I own a Prime today I sure would try what you did.
Last edited by tedr44; 26th July 2012 at 08:30 AM.
26th July 2012, 10:20 AM   |  #4  
PapaSmurf6768's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
I have the same ADH from best buy and had the same plan. Before the year was up, I'd go in and complain about wifi or whatever and they'd swap it out. If they swap out for an infinity, even better.

Sent from my BAMFed out TBolt
26th July 2012, 12:23 PM   |  #5  
blackinjun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 148
 
417 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaSmurf6768

I have the same ADH from best buy and had the same plan. Before the year was up, I'd go in and complain about wifi or whatever and they'd swap it out. If they swap out for an infinity, even better.

Sent from my BAMFed out TBolt

According to BB.com they have no more primes to swap, there may be some at stores on clearance but the replacement item is the infinity. I am not surprised about the swap upgrade, I am surprised about the adh refund. I told the story about buying it and the GPS not working but that fixes were forthcoming and then eventually we were told GPS did not work because of the metal back (oopps by ASUS). I did not bring up the dongle but don't think that would have mattered.
26th July 2012, 08:28 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackinjun

I have a 1 year ADH, so I went to BB today to see about exchanging for an Infinity. They did the exchange but suprisingly they did it under a manufacturer problem and refunded my ADH as a prorate. They ordered my Transformer as an OMS to my home and took off 50.00 because it took over an hour.

Please repeat with fewer acronyms. Thanks.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to zenaxe For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th July 2012, 01:53 AM   |  #7  
blackinjun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 148
 
417 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Sorry
GPS - global positioning satellite
Bb - best buy
Bb.com - best buy.com (online ordering for best buy stores
Adh - accidental damage handling warranty
oms - bb (see above) system in store for placing orders from their warehouse

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by blackinjun; 27th July 2012 at 01:56 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to blackinjun For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th July 2012, 03:48 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 122
 
431 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Did they check to see if it was rooted? Mine is unlocked but I do have adh.. I did also do nvflash so it does not say the device is unlocked.

Hmm suppose my prime could take a little trip to the floor too.
27th July 2012, 05:11 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Detroit
Thanks Meter: 50
 
255 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Whats the easiest thing to do if you're unlocked and have an adh... think they'll swap bc of the gps and wifi still?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
27th July 2012, 05:48 AM   |  #10  
blackinjun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 148
 
417 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
That's exactly why they swapped mine GPS. I unrooted but geek squad said what are we supposed to do if GPS doesn't work go to returns

PS I am not unlocked but they didn't turn it on
Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

The Following User Says Thank You to blackinjun For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes