Post Reply

Anyone have the jelly bean stock browser?

OP DDeveryday

26th July 2012, 07:06 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Google Chrome kinda lags for me. I have tried looking for the stock browser apk but with no luck. I would really appreciate if someone would upload the apk for me. Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
26th July 2012, 07:32 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 107
 
814 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
I have it from a custom ROM and I think its much better. If you don't want to root dolphin HD browser on the market works just as well on mine. Chrome lagged for me also even stock but some have had better luck.
26th July 2012, 09:55 AM   |  #3  
vincepg13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 136
 
752 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
That sucks, I think chrome is amazing, a lot smoother then all the browsers I've used on my android devices, mainly HTC browser and ICS stock browser

But yes you need root to place the apk with the system apps

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
26th July 2012, 03:10 PM   |  #4  
chrisjcks's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bolton
Thanks Meter: 938
 
2,942 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDeveryday

Google Chrome kinda lags for me. I have tried looking for the stock browser apk but with no luck. I would really appreciate if someone would upload the apk for me. Thanks

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Chrome is the stock browser

Everyone says chrome is super fast & smooth & I have to agree, I've had no problems at all with it - it's fantastic.


Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
26th July 2012, 03:19 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjcks

Chrome is the stock browser

Everyone says chrome is super fast & smooth & I have to agree, I've had no problems at all with it - it's fantastic.


Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2

I have to agree. I like the chrome browser even with the occasional flicker that I get.
26th July 2012, 11:45 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
By stock browser, I mean the stock browser used in Galaxy Nexus and CM10 builds. For Chrome, I always get these lags when typing on the address bar for both my Galaxy Nexus and Nexus 7 devices. I'm not sure if it's because of my Swiftkey 3 is not playing nice with Chrome, but it certainly works pretty well with the Stock Browser.

If anyone has the jelly bean stock browser apk, i would greatly appreciate it if you could upload it. Thanks
26th July 2012, 11:58 PM   |  #7  
platinumandroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orange County
Thanks Meter: 303
 
666 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDeveryday

By stock browser, I mean the stock browser used in Galaxy Nexus and CM10 builds. For Chrome, I always get these lags when typing on the address bar for both my Galaxy Nexus and Nexus 7 devices. I'm not sure if it's because of my Swiftkey 3 is not playing nice with Chrome, but it certainly works pretty well with the Stock Browser.

If anyone has the jelly bean stock browser apk, i would greatly appreciate it if you could upload it. Thanks

Here is a link to the stock browser
http://db.tt/wzqKpNrU
Directions to install are as follows for those of you not familiar.
Use Root Explorer and copy the Browser.apk from your downloads folder and navigate to the /system/app
Folder and mount the system by tapping the (Mount R/W) button
Then paste the apk,Now you need to set permissions to look like this

Next you need to find the browserproviderproxy.apk and browserproviderproxy.odex If your system has not been deodexed and rename them to browserproviderproxy1.apk and browserproviderproxy1.odex
If you don't do this last step the browser will force close.
Now reboot
Success
Note: You must be rooted (If you hadn't already figured this out)
And I would suggest having your Nexus 7 plugged in via USB and do the reboot using adb commands
That can be done by opening CMD and running the command
adb devices
adb reboot

I finally found the original thread and it can be found below, All thanks should be given the that OP
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1780746


Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
Last edited by platinumandroid; 27th July 2012 at 07:11 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to platinumandroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th July 2012, 03:22 AM   |  #8  
Cl8rs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Roseville
Thanks Meter: 27
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Mines FC'ing one me, anyone else?
27th July 2012, 04:48 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu, Hawaii
Thanks Meter: 184
 
804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cl8rs

Mines FC'ing one me, anyone else?

Yep, won't even start. Rooted stock and placed in the proper location.
27th July 2012, 04:52 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Selangor
Thanks Meter: 171
 
754 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cl8rs

Mines FC'ing one me, anyone else?

Meaning its not compatible...

Sent from my Desire HD using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 Themes and Apps by ThreadRank