Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Highly recommend Nova Launcher for S3

OP android94301

29th July 2012, 06:22 PM   |  #21  
1Android's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
481 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
been using nova since day one. LOVE it!
29th July 2012, 09:25 PM   |  #22  
XdrummerXboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag AZ
Thanks Meter: 58
 
461 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by android94301

Hey folks,

I highly recommend replacing the touch Wiz launcher with nova launcher. I have found it much more intuitive, and much easier to use. (I am not affiliated with Nova in any way.)

APEX is Far better in my opinion. It took a while to figure out the settings I like the most, but now that I have, I try to go to NOVA to see if they have an equivalent setting. They don't. I personally REALLY like APEX's ability to speed up home screen transitions, it looks more like the jelly bean style.
29th July 2012, 11:18 PM   |  #23  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
I used the paid version of apex for a long time in my Rezounds, but after using the paid version of Nova and A/Bing it with Apex I have actually decided I like Nova better in my G3.

Nova does everything I need it to and the unread gmail count works perfectly. The unread gmail count worked fine with Apex in my Rezounds, but I could never get it to work in the G3 with Apex some reason.
30th July 2012, 01:44 AM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
I recently purchased Nova Launcher but haven't had the free time to set everything up the way I like it yet.

One thing I did notice was when I hit the home button it asked me which launcher I wanted to use. Touchwiz or Nova Launcher and if I wanted to select one as a default. Since Nova Launcher is completely new to me I choose TW as the default. Once I get everything set up, where can I go to make Nova Launcher the default?
30th July 2012, 01:47 AM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 267
 
1,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Death&co

I recently purchased Nova Launcher but haven't had the free time to set everything up the way I like it yet.

One thing I did notice was when I hit the home button it asked me which launcher I wanted to use. Touchwiz or Nova Launcher and if I wanted to select one as a default. Since Nova Launcher is completely new to me I choose TW as the default. Once I get everything set up, where can I go to make Nova Launcher the default?

Go into settings and select application manager. Then find Touchwiz launcher under all applications and press clear defaults.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA App
The Following User Says Thank You to Div033 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th July 2012, 02:33 AM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
i have nova prime installed and i was using that for a while. but check out Atom Launcher in the play store.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...launcher&hl=en


pretty smooth and fluid for me compared to apex and even nova.
30th July 2012, 02:50 AM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigee1212

i have nova prime installed and i was using that for a while. but check out Atom Launcher in the play store.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...launcher&hl=en


pretty smooth and fluid for me compared to apex and even nova.

What's to check out, it doesn't look like anything special to me??
30th July 2012, 03:12 AM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 94
 
358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I love Nova Launcher and use it on my Nexus 7 but the TW weather widget has grown on me. AFAIK there is no way to use it on any 3rd party launcher
30th July 2012, 07:28 AM   |  #29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I have tried Nova and Apex but am having the same problem with both: I can't get scrolling wallpapers to work. When I select a wallpaper it forces me to crop it instead of letting me use the entire wallpaper. This causes black areas to show up when you scroll left/right. Also, landscape mode on the homescreen messes up the wallpaper. Any ideas on how to set this up properly?
30th July 2012, 12:44 PM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,472 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by naveeds786

I have tried Nova and Apex but am having the same problem with both: I can't get scrolling wallpapers to work. When I select a wallpaper it forces me to crop it instead of letting me use the entire wallpaper. This causes black areas to show up when you scroll left/right. Also, landscape mode on the homescreen messes up the wallpaper. Any ideas on how to set this up properly?

Well, my solution is to turn off scrolling WP which I never really liked anyway.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes