5,600,483 Members 32,833 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wifi Tether Fully Working COnfirmed!

Tip us?
 
cr6
Old
#11  
cr6's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 60
Join Date: Sep 2010
That's interesting. I've been using Wi-Fi tether for over a year now, originally on my fascinate and most recently on my S3 without any problems. (My carrier is Verizon....my data usage is between 8-12gb a month.. .sometimes more) I think I'll just stick with that as opposed to the method posted in the OP.

tap'n
 
erikikaz
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 762
Join Date: Mar 2010
You must download an extension that will allow you to change the user agent.

Change it to the Xoom tablet.
 
circuit.007
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 63
Posts: 761
Join Date: Mar 2012
I keep getting redirected to tmobile sign up, page..

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
 
joselarajan87
Old
#14  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 99
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norwalk ca
Quote:
Originally Posted by circuit.007 View Post
I keep getting redirected to tmobile sign up, page..

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
use a different browser!!!
 
kwilsonjr
Old
#15  
kwilsonjr's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 51
Join Date: Apr 2008
I just got wifi tether for root working on mine. I used the Nexus GSM profile. One thing i noticed is wpa password won't let you use anything but letters and numbers. that blows. I normally use periods and other special characters.

I got OUTRAGEOUS tether speeds. well, best I've seen in awhile anyway



---------- Post added at 07:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:04 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by circuit.007 View Post
I keep getting redirected to tmobile sign up, page..

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
did you try typing another address in the address bar of a new tab? I thought mine was a fail too when it went straight to that page. I opened a new tab, typed in google and it came right up. went into settings and made that my home page. no prob.
Samsung Galaxy S3 32GB White - 64GB SanDisk
Frosty Jelly Bean ROM
 
lazi punk
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 34
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwilsonjr View Post
I just got wifi tether for root working on mine. I used the Nexus GSM profile. One thing i noticed is wpa password won't let you use anything but letters and numbers. that blows. I normally use periods and other special characters.

I got OUTRAGEOUS tether speeds. well, best I've seen in awhile anyway



---------- Post added at 07:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:04 AM ----------



did you try typing another address in the address bar of a new tab? I thought mine was a fail too when it went straight to that page. I opened a new tab, typed in google and it came right up. went into settings and made that my home page. no prob.
is there a difference for nexus GMS or CDM/LTE?

thanks
 
eggnoodle
Old
#17  
eggnoodle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 233
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boston
a bit confused with the app...i turn it on then it switches me to 4g/E mode while i'm already on wifi.
if someone don't mind explaining what i'm doing wrong.
thanks

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
 
jawang26
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 119
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by eggnoodle View Post
a bit confused with the app...i turn it on then it switches me to 4g/E mode while i'm already on wifi.
if someone don't mind explaining what i'm doing wrong.
thanks

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
Uhh not sure what you mean

Wifi tether is when your on a mobile data connection (4g/Edge) and you don't have Wifi...you turn it on and it acts as a router or hotspot and lets your laptop connect to it.

If your in an area with Wifi that you can connect to you don't need to use the app. The apps pretty much only for when your in a location w/o wifi.
 
vdub804
Old
#19  
vdub804's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 465
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Richmond

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks man it works great, I was getting errors at first but after switching to the galaxy nexus gsm profile everything was all good :thumbup:

Sent from my Galaxy S3 using Tapatalk 2
Google Nexus 4
Google Nexus 7 2013

http://www.techforum.us/
 
redh0rse
Old
#20  
redh0rse's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 28
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks. Worked for me.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes