Post Reply

[Today] Cyanogenmod 10.1 - Android 4.2.2 (Jelly Bean) - NIGHTLY

20th October 2012, 11:12 PM   |  #591  
okidokiss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 154
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaisnowy

Do we need to flash a new modem and recovery file? mine seems fine just flashing the rom, and if so are they located in droidbasement/galaxy/ROMs/cm10/p3?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

Modem is there, I think recovery also
21st October 2012, 03:03 AM   |  #592  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Wifi is not only more stable but also a lot quicker, I'm getting practically the same download speed over WiFi as my wireless adapter does connected to my computer, which wasn't the case with previous builds

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1350785004470.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	1418277  
21st October 2012, 09:13 AM   |  #593  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by okidokiss

Pershoot, the first post should be updated.
Front Camera works
Google now works
Voice Calls
SMS

....

Not quite everything. The vice calls work to a degree. Calls can be made but not ended. The app says "hanging up" but never does it.
Also incoming calls are not visible unless you are in the phone app.

The camera app and gallery seem to be linked, which is not a problem. The bug is when you click "Restore defaults" under camera settings it reverts with "Unfortunately, Gallery has stopped".

There are still the lingering modem bugs
1. Signal bars missing
2. Network search results in an error

Pershoot is aware of these.

But overall very impressive!
21st October 2012, 10:34 AM   |  #594  
Senior Member
Flag Porto
Thanks Meter: 4
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pershoot

You did not flash properly.

Go back to square one and do it again, clean your system with fastboot, ensuring u flash everything needed (modem, recovery, ROM and smaller gapps package) and you will be fine.

Do a wipe of data if you suspect dodgey old data.


Pershoot, excuse the ignorance, but how do the fastboot eraser
21st October 2012, 10:38 AM   |  #595  
okidokiss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 154
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jatg

Pershoot, excuse the ignorance, but how do the fastboot eraser

Info from pershoot a few posts ago

Code:
enter fastboot
 fastboot erase system
 fastboot boot recovery.img (CWM 6.0.1.5; its in the folder (take it out of recovery.tar.md5)).
 flash rom
 flash gapps lite for jellybean:
 http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1809377
 clear cache
 post a /tmp/recovery.log (adb pull /tmp/recovery.log . ) so i can look at it
 then boot in.
The Following User Says Thank You to okidokiss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st October 2012, 11:35 AM   |  #596  
pinibo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Looking at all the positive signals, I would like to move from stock ICS to the 4.1.1 version.
Looking at all the troubles you solved it is not clear to me what the right way is to flash the updated rom.

Should I do it like this:
enter fastboot
fastboot erase system
fastboot boot recovery.img (CWM 6.0.1.5; its in the folder (take it out of recovery.tar.md5)).
flash rom
flash gapps lite for jellybean:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1809377
clear cache
post a /tmp/recovery.log (adb pull /tmp/recovery.log . ) so i can look at it
then boot in.

Any other tips or tricks I should take into account?
How about getting the phone calls working?

Would be good to have a kind of "How to ..." guide from one that was successful in flashing 4.1.1. So far I only got it as far as hanging on the boot logo ...
21st October 2012, 11:44 AM   |  #597  
okidokiss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 154
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Hi! Since you came from Stock ROM, after booting the recovery.img, I think you should flash "TB-Galaxy-WIPE.zip", you can find it here in the forum. This zip acts like a factory reset but does not wipe all SDcard.

After that continue with the info below.
For voice calls I've flashed the modem, this file CWM_I9103XXLQ3_Modem.zip, don't know if is the same than in CM10 folder. This one you can flash with CWM


Quote:
Originally Posted by pinibo

Looking at all the positive signals, I would like to move from stock ICS to the 4.1.1 version.
Looking at all the troubles you solved it is not clear to me what the right way is to flash the updated rom.

Should I do it like this:
enter fastboot
fastboot erase system
fastboot boot recovery.img (CWM 6.0.1.5; its in the folder (take it out of recovery.tar.md5)).
flash rom
flash gapps lite for jellybean:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1809377
clear cache
post a /tmp/recovery.log (adb pull /tmp/recovery.log . ) so i can look at it
then boot in.

Any other tips or tricks I should take into account?
How about getting the phone calls working?

Would be good to have a kind of "How to ..." guide from one that was successful in flashing 4.1.1. So far I only got it as far as hanging on the boot logo ...

The Following User Says Thank You to okidokiss For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st October 2012, 12:05 PM   |  #598  
Dryfit.linux's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Is it possible to exchange superuser for supersu in this rom? I need to temp put root off to see content from my tv cable app. It wont work with root on.


Sent from my GT-P7100 using xda app-developers app
21st October 2012, 12:15 PM   |  #599  
okidokiss's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 154
 
675 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Sign
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dryfit.linux

Is it possible to exchange superuser for supersu in this rom? I need to temp put root off to see content from my tv cable app. It wont work with root on.


Sent from my GT-P7100 using xda app-developers app

Don't know that, but superuser as temporary unroot.

---------- Post added at 12:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:07 PM ----------

For the gallery I've installed another one from the market. With the included on the ROM I can't see my albums from picasa.

Your superuser as the same "bug" as I have? When you click on the binary, does not show the update window. Already flashed 3.2 but is the same.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryWS

Not quite everything. The vice calls work to a degree. Calls can be made but not ended. The app says "hanging up" but never does it.
Also incoming calls are not visible unless you are in the phone app.

The camera app and gallery seem to be linked, which is not a problem. The bug is when you click "Restore defaults" under camera settings it reverts with "Unfortunately, Gallery has stopped".

There are still the lingering modem bugs
1. Signal bars missing
2. Network search results in an error

Pershoot is aware of these.

But overall very impressive!

21st October 2012, 02:39 PM   |  #600  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 109
 
592 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
gapps lite
oes someone have gapps lite, link seems to be down

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes