Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,055 Members 47,203 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

"No Tripping Flash Counter" root isn't rooted

Tip us?
 
novasource
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
Thumbs down "No Tripping Flash Counter" root isn't rooted

I installed the rooted ROM at [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [SPR L710VPALEN] (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1774722), although I stopped before installing CWM.

It appears I don't have root. I even try to let Superuser update itself from a 3.0.x version to 3.1.1. I am never prompted to grant root access, and it eventually says "Superuser has been denied Superuser permissions".

If Superuser itself cannot get root, then how can this be called a rooted ROM?

P.S., I would have posted in the thread, but I am apparently too much of a n00b per the forum settings.
 
EndlessDissent
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 962
Posts: 3,293
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
I know this doesn't help you, but Superuser worked fine for me after using the same method. All I can suggest is to try flashing it again.

Edit: make sure you don't have both Superuser and SuperSU installed. They can conflict with each other.
 
Naddict
Old
#3  
Naddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13,809
Posts: 8,469
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: 28.2S, 92.1W
Quote:
Originally Posted by novasource View Post
I installed the rooted ROM at [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [SPR L710VPALEN] (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1774722), although I stopped before installing CWM.

It appears I don't have root. I even try to let Superuser update itself from a 3.0.x version to 3.1.1. I am never prompted to grant root access, and it eventually says "Superuser has been denied Superuser permissions".

If Superuser itself cannot get root, then how can this be called a rooted ROM?

P.S., I would have posted in the thread, but I am apparently too much of a n00b per the forum settings.
You need cwm.. Flash It and you will profit....

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium
 
novasource
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndlessDissent View Post
I know this doesn't help you, but Superuser worked fine for me after using the same method. All I can suggest is to try flashing it again.

Edit: make sure you don't have both Superuser and SuperSU installed. They can conflict with each other.
Thank you!

I only have Superuser installed. It's what came with the ROM. I haven't installed anything else since doing the ROM.

I already flashed twice, got the same results each time.

However, after the flash but before it started installing updates, I ran Superuser, clicked Info, and the entire line above tap to check for updates was green. However, after allowing the first update to install, the line had the left side red:
-rwxr-xr-x root shell /system/xbin/su

It was the same after the third update. I wonder if something about those two updates is disabling root?
 
novasource
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naddict View Post
You need cwm.. Flash It and you will profit....
Are you sure CWM is needed to get root? My understanding is you must have root before installing CWM?
 
Naddict
Old
#6  
Naddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13,809
Posts: 8,469
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: 28.2S, 92.1W
Quote:
Originally Posted by novasource View Post
Are you sure CWM is needed to get root? My understanding is you must have root before installing CWM?
Track down the team epic site that walks you through... You should be able to do those steps successfully... Here found link
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1743780


Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium
 
novasource
Old
(Last edited by novasource; 30th July 2012 at 07:52 PM.)
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naddict View Post
Track down the team epic site that walks you through... You should be able to do those steps successfully... Here found link
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1743780
Thanks. Just to make sure, are you saying that the original instructions (in the thread linked at top) are wrong to suggest you have a rooted ROM if you haven't installed CWM?

Also, that would mean http://www.androidauthority.com/gala...ounter-103351/ is incorrect.
 
playya
Old
#8  
playya's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,954
Posts: 5,792
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by novasource View Post
Thanks. Just to make sure, are you saying that the original instructions (in the thread linked at top) are wrong to suggest you have a rooted ROM if you haven't installed CWM?
CWM is used to install root and rooted roms. I have root for my wifes phone but I do not have CWM and all works fine. She actually would never use recovery but I do know how to flash one on there if necessary.

I am quite sure the tutorial is not incorrect and just a misunderstanding somewhere
DeBloat your AOKP/CM10 fast and pain free click here
---------------------------------------------------
"Hey if you can type it you can search it" - Google is your friend - Let me Google that for you
--------------------------------------------------
Proud owner of a 1+1 What you know bout dat life!
 
novasource
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by playya View Post
CWM is used to install root and rooted roms. I have root for my wifes phone but I do not have CWM and all works fine. She actually would never use recovery but I do know how to flash one on there if necessary.

I am quite sure the tutorial is not incorrect and just a misunderstanding somewhere
I'm scratching my head because there's not much to misunderstand here. The instructions are simple; either you've installed the ROM or you haven't. Since Superuser appeared for the first time after installing the ROM, and the phone prompted me to install two updates after installing, that tells me that the ROM installed correctly.
 
novasource
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
Wonderful. Just followed the instructions for installing CWM that were linked from http://www.androidauthority.com/gala...ounter-103351/. Not only did that not give me a working copy of CWM, that also made CUSTOM BINARY DOWNLOAD report Yes (1 counts).

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more