MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more
Post Reply

"No Tripping Flash Counter" root isn't rooted

30th July 2012, 05:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
I installed the rooted ROM at [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [SPR L710VPALEN] (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1774722), although I stopped before installing CWM.

It appears I don't have root. I even try to let Superuser update itself from a 3.0.x version to 3.1.1. I am never prompted to grant root access, and it eventually says "Superuser has been denied Superuser permissions".

If Superuser itself cannot get root, then how can this be called a rooted ROM?

P.S., I would have posted in the thread, but I am apparently too much of a n00b per the forum settings.
30th July 2012, 06:03 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 962
 
3,293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
I know this doesn't help you, but Superuser worked fine for me after using the same method. All I can suggest is to try flashing it again.

Edit: make sure you don't have both Superuser and SuperSU installed. They can conflict with each other.
30th July 2012, 07:13 PM   |  #3  
Naddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 28.2S, 92.1W
Thanks Meter: 13,807
 
8,469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by novasource

I installed the rooted ROM at [HOWTO] [ROOT] No Tripping Flash Counter [SPR L710VPALEN] (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1774722), although I stopped before installing CWM.

It appears I don't have root. I even try to let Superuser update itself from a 3.0.x version to 3.1.1. I am never prompted to grant root access, and it eventually says "Superuser has been denied Superuser permissions".

If Superuser itself cannot get root, then how can this be called a rooted ROM?

P.S., I would have posted in the thread, but I am apparently too much of a n00b per the forum settings.

You need cwm.. Flash It and you will profit....

Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium
30th July 2012, 07:20 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndlessDissent

I know this doesn't help you, but Superuser worked fine for me after using the same method. All I can suggest is to try flashing it again.

Edit: make sure you don't have both Superuser and SuperSU installed. They can conflict with each other.

Thank you!

I only have Superuser installed. It's what came with the ROM. I haven't installed anything else since doing the ROM.

I already flashed twice, got the same results each time.

However, after the flash but before it started installing updates, I ran Superuser, clicked Info, and the entire line above tap to check for updates was green. However, after allowing the first update to install, the line had the left side red:
-rwxr-xr-x root shell /system/xbin/su

It was the same after the third update. I wonder if something about those two updates is disabling root?
30th July 2012, 07:29 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naddict

You need cwm.. Flash It and you will profit....

Are you sure CWM is needed to get root? My understanding is you must have root before installing CWM?
30th July 2012, 07:34 PM   |  #6  
Naddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 28.2S, 92.1W
Thanks Meter: 13,807
 
8,469 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by novasource

Are you sure CWM is needed to get root? My understanding is you must have root before installing CWM?

Track down the team epic site that walks you through... You should be able to do those steps successfully... Here found link
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1743780


Sent from my SPH-L710 using xda premium
30th July 2012, 07:39 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naddict

Track down the team epic site that walks you through... You should be able to do those steps successfully... Here found link
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1743780

Thanks. Just to make sure, are you saying that the original instructions (in the thread linked at top) are wrong to suggest you have a rooted ROM if you haven't installed CWM?

Also, that would mean http://www.androidauthority.com/gala...ounter-103351/ is incorrect.
Last edited by novasource; 30th July 2012 at 07:52 PM.
30th July 2012, 07:44 PM   |  #8  
playya's Avatar
Senior Member
Florida
Thanks Meter: 1,969
 
5,833 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by novasource

Thanks. Just to make sure, are you saying that the original instructions (in the thread linked at top) are wrong to suggest you have a rooted ROM if you haven't installed CWM?

CWM is used to install root and rooted roms. I have root for my wifes phone but I do not have CWM and all works fine. She actually would never use recovery but I do know how to flash one on there if necessary.

I am quite sure the tutorial is not incorrect and just a misunderstanding somewhere
30th July 2012, 07:58 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by playya

CWM is used to install root and rooted roms. I have root for my wifes phone but I do not have CWM and all works fine. She actually would never use recovery but I do know how to flash one on there if necessary.

I am quite sure the tutorial is not incorrect and just a misunderstanding somewhere

I'm scratching my head because there's not much to misunderstand here. The instructions are simple; either you've installed the ROM or you haven't. Since Superuser appeared for the first time after installing the ROM, and the phone prompted me to install two updates after installing, that tells me that the ROM installed correctly.
30th July 2012, 08:03 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Wonderful. Just followed the instructions for installing CWM that were linked from http://www.androidauthority.com/gala...ounter-103351/. Not only did that not give me a working copy of CWM, that also made CUSTOM BINARY DOWNLOAD report Yes (1 counts).

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes