5,593,793 Members 44,424 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[VIDEO Overviews and How To's] Samsung Galaxy SIII (SGH - T999)

Tip us?
 
AquaWater
Old
#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllAboutAndroids View Post
Hey Aqua, sorry to say this...but you actually only have the HSPA+ Galaxy SIII. Since T-Mobile does not support LTE yet, their S3 version is not an LTE capable device. TO fully utilize your new AT&T line, I recommend you selling your S3 and getting one on a Contract over there for a cheaper price or add some more to purchase the LTE version of the phone.

~Imraan
Thank you for the reply, but what I don't understand is that this phone came from the T-Mobile store. And I do have a contract with them. But it wasn't bought under my account name. The phone was bought from a friend who worked at a T-mobile stand. So why I don't get 4G or LTE service I'm still puzzled. I am so sorry for being an idiot on this, but I'm really dont understand why?
 
AllAboutAndroids
Old
#32  
AllAboutAndroids's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 689
Posts: 680
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vaughan, Canada

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaWater View Post
Thank you for the reply, but what I don't understand is that this phone came from the T-Mobile store. And I do have a contract with them. But it wasn't bought under my account name. The phone was bought from a friend who worked at a T-mobile stand. So why I don't get 4G or LTE service I'm still puzzled. I am so sorry for being an idiot on this, but I'm really dont understand why?
Every T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy SIII model is the SGH-T999 and that phone itself does not support LTE connectivity
Phone 1: SGSIII, SGH-T999V
ROM: Rooted/CM10 Nightlies

Tablet 1: ASUS TF300
Specs: Rooted/Unlocked/CM10 Nightlies

Phone 2: Nexus 4
ROM: Paranoid Android 3.0

Phone(Retired): LG G2X with EaglesBlood 2.8

Check out my YouTube Channel! Simply click on the banner!





I thank you in advance!
 
AquaWater
Old
#33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllAboutAndroids View Post
Every T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy SIII model is the SGH-T999 and that phone itself does not support LTE connectivity
But it does support 4G service, i know this because my sister actually has a TMobile Account and she is getting 4G service on hers. But for me I can only pick up 3G service. So that is question 1.

And for question two, is basically your saying I would need to get a AT&T model version of the phone in order to receive the LTE or 4G service that is provided in my area?

Thanks so much for helping me out here.
~Aqua
 
kekuta
Old
#34  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 34
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default No LTE on SGH T999

Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaWater View Post
But it does support 4G service, i know this because my sister actually has a TMobile Account and she is getting 4G service on hers. But for me I can only pick up 3G service. So that is question 1.

And for question two, is basically your saying I would need to get a AT&T model version of the phone in order to receive the LTE or 4G service that is provided in my area?

Thanks so much for helping me out here.
~Aqua
I have the tmobile version of the S3 running on At&t. The SGH T999 does not have an LTE firmware. The most you will get is HSPA+. You will definitely need to get the AT&T version to take advantage of their LTE network.
 
AquaWater
Old
#35  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by kekuta View Post
I have the tmobile version of the S3 running on At&t. The SGH T999 does not have an LTE firmware. The most you will get is HSPA+. You will definitely need to get the AT&T version to take advantage of their LTE network.

OK thank you everyone who has helped me understand this. I really have no idea why it wasn't registering in my head. I 100% get it now. I also called AT&T and i did a 3G speed test and I'm getting like 700Kbps and 50Kbps up. which is horrible. I don't even think I'm getting HSPA+. I'm like a step below.

So i was talking to him and he suggested that I could get a refurbished version of the phone for $100 and all i would need to do is extend my contract a little by 6 months. Now Since my phone is factory unlocked I could sell my phone and easily get the $100 for the phone plus it comes with a 90 day warranty. And for $5.99/month I could get the insurance package which if something happens they will replace it for $199.00. Which isn't a bad idea. But he said a lot of times people buy the phones and decides they just simply don't like it or would rather have a different one and since it has been used, they have to advertise it as " refurbished."

So what my question is, is has anyone ever bought a refurbished phone and had success with it? Or has anyone had any horror stories with the getting a refurbished one?

Thanks in advance everyone.
~Aqua
 
bike__52
Old
#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Gunnison
If you are still trying to sell your SGH-I999 I would be very interested. I am in the opposite situation as you I have a Gaqlaxy S II and went to t-Mobile and now I don't have 3g/4g so I have to find a T-mobile Phone. Please message me if possible
 
Linofer
Old
#37  
Linofer's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 97
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Miramar
thanks for those videos..
 
NJaynAZ
Old
#38  
NJaynAZ's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 69
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Phoenix
Default videos are awesome!

It is nice to review these before I flash.
 
AllAboutAndroids
Old
#39  
AllAboutAndroids's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 689
Posts: 680
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vaughan, Canada

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linofer View Post
thanks for those videos..
Thanks for watching

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJaynAZ View Post
It is nice to review these before I flash.
Haha that's the goal

Thanks for watching!
Phone 1: SGSIII, SGH-T999V
ROM: Rooted/CM10 Nightlies

Tablet 1: ASUS TF300
Specs: Rooted/Unlocked/CM10 Nightlies

Phone 2: Nexus 4
ROM: Paranoid Android 3.0

Phone(Retired): LG G2X with EaglesBlood 2.8

Check out my YouTube Channel! Simply click on the banner!





I thank you in advance!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes