5,593,458 Members 36,567 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Mobile data is not available or invalid SIM on unlocked SGH-i747

Tip us?
 
cvillalta
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 62
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Mobile data is not available or invalid SIM on unlocked SGH-i747

Hey, people!

I have an unlocked SGH-i747 I got last week. Today I tried to enable USB tethering, but I got the message "Mobile data is not available or invalid SIM"; same thing happens if I try to enable Portable Wi-Fi hotspot.

żAny solution to this? I know I will probably have to root the phone, that's no problem.

Thanks!
 
mrhaley30705
Old
#2  
mrhaley30705's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2219
Posts: 5,238
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Georgia

 
DONATE TO ME
Bone stock? You got to pay for it stock. Flash a custom ROM, it should work.
Captivate SIG links, Click >>HERE<<

Galaxy S3 Index





 
cvillalta
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 62
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrhaley30705 View Post
Bone stock? You got to pay for it stock. Flash a custom ROM, it should work.
Yeah; I didn't know AT&T does that for tethering. I just flashed a modified stock ROM with the tether fix and that worked out pretty well.

Thanks!
 
ItsMathematics
Old
#4  
ItsMathematics's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Washington, DC
Default Which ROM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvillalta View Post
Yeah; I didn't know AT&T does that for tethering. I just flashed a modified stock ROM with the tether fix and that worked out pretty well.

Thanks!
Which ROM did you flash? I'm having the same issue with the wifi hotspot.

Thanks...
 
toddchipner
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default i get the same issue on my AT&T note2

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvillalta View Post
Yeah; I didn't know AT&T does that for tethering. I just flashed a modified stock ROM with the tether fix and that worked out pretty well.

Thanks!
would you please let know how do you do it? i get the same problem. thanks a lot.
 
BWolf56
Old
#6  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1604
Posts: 3,569
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddchipner View Post
would you please let know how do you do it? i get the same problem. thanks a lot.
This thread is for the S3, your question will be better answered in the N2 section. Good luck!
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
¤Galaxy S III I747m
¤ROM: AOKP 4.2.2
¤Kernel: KT747
¤Modem: LL1
¤Launcher: ADW Ex

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
karnaLakshman
Old
(Last edited by karnaLakshman; 19th January 2013 at 11:45 AM.) Reason: Wrongly chosen the reply
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default I have same problem in my Samsung Galaxy SIII

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvillalta View Post
Yeah; I didn't know AT&T does that for tethering. I just flashed a modified stock ROM with the tether fix and that worked out pretty well.

Thanks!
I have same problem.. Please help me to do this
 
Brzi Joe
Old
(Last edited by Brzi Joe; 5th February 2013 at 03:11 PM.)
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2009
I have AT&T device, rooted and unlocked on another provider; also build-in tether does not work.
But it is working over 3rd party free (donate) application "Wifi tether" for rooted devices.

EDIT:
I double checked now, and it does not transmit any data over "Wifi tether" application. Sorry, it does not work....
 
bachelora2001
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default How do you do flashing of the SGH I747

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvillalta View Post
Yeah; I didn't know AT&T does that for tethering. I just flashed a modified stock ROM with the tether fix and that worked out pretty well.

Thanks!
How do I do the flashing and which modified stock ROM with the tether fix did you use? I would appreciate your help. Having the same tethering problem.
 
cvillalta
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 62
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Re: Mobile data is not available or invalid SIM on unlocked SGH-i747

Guys, please, do your homework.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2057344

This one is new, and you need to make sure you follow it carefully.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more

Google ATAP Details Project Ara in Developers’ Conference

Earlier today, the Google ATAP teamkicked offits first ever Project Ara … more

HTC Sense 6 Ported to the Nexus 5

The Google Nexus 5 is regarded as having everything an Android user needs or wants: timely updates, … more