Post Reply

OTG - USB Stickmount - Sees no mount

OP scorp888

2nd August 2012, 07:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
So, OTG works out the box with the cable.

Mouse plugged in, cursor appears.

Rooted device.

Installed stick mount.

Inserted 64GB USB (ntfs formatted) drive/stick in.

I get stickmount - chainfire 1.5 searching...then nothing.

Going into Stick mount itself, select mount

Active Mounts - none.

Any suggestions? I'm new to android, so not sure what the next trouble shooting steps are.
2nd August 2012, 07:17 AM   |  #2  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 556
 
2,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorp888

Inserted 64GB USB (ntfs formatted) drive/stick in.

Pretty sure the thumb drive needs to be FAT32 to work. Also, not all USB thumb drives work. try another one.

**UPDATE** Apparently NTFS can work, but again, not all USB devices are supported.
2nd August 2012, 07:40 AM   |  #3  
markad1's Avatar
Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 9
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
On this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1800473
Member Badgered had problems with the cables. They even worked on his S3 but not the nexus 7 turned out it was the cables. He got a 4th one to work.
7th August 2012, 11:53 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 13
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
Wink Paragon
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorp888

Any suggestions? I'm new to android, so not sure what the next trouble shooting steps are.

Install the Paragon NTFS & HFS+ Beta app. I have no idea if the app is helping me, but I can read files off my 64GB flash drive just fine. One thing I noticed though, you sometimes need to unplug the whole adapter along with the USB flash drive. Simply unplugging the flash drive won't work, you might have to restart the Nex7 if it doesn't mount/unmount properly.

Just don't forget to un-mount from StickMount when you're about to unplug your flash drive, and when you're removing it, remove it with the whole thing (flash drive and adapter together).
The Following User Says Thank You to T3kB0i For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th August 2012, 01:12 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Thanks for the updates.

Cable works with a mouse, is that a good enough test?

Hmm, I'll try with 3 or 4 other drives, see if it's that. FAT32 will be a problem though, as it's 4gb + movie files I want to watch
9th August 2012, 01:26 PM   |  #6  
marky9074's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Maidstone
Thanks Meter: 16
 
174 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Works OK for me with a 32Gb Transcend stick this morning..
16th August 2012, 10:38 AM   |  #7  
r0zj0k3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The middle of the ocean
Thanks Meter: 28
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
I have a SAN disk 16 GB usb drive. stick mount sees it, attempts to mount, says its mounted and creates a folder in /sdcard/usbmount/sda1/ but the drive is not mounted.....Im using ext4 and had to use busybox to manually mount using a terminal emulator.

You can try busybox mount, but its a bit of a pain to have to do every time, not too sure where to put an automount using the blkid value, but it could be done. typically in *nix its done in a simple line in /etc/fstab

what is the equivallent for android?
16th August 2012, 12:57 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More of a "this combo works" than anything else...
Using this cable:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...ls_o01_s00_i00

and this stick

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...ls_o02_s00_i00 formatted as NTFS I have had no issues, simply rooted and installed Stickmount, and it "just works".
18th August 2012, 08:24 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
r0zj0k3r: What was the commandline use to manually mount your usb storage?

---------- Post added at 03:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:20 PM ----------

Found it block device is at /dev/block/sda1 now need to add it to vold.fstab
18th August 2012, 09:54 PM   |  #10  
r0zj0k3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The middle of the ocean
Thanks Meter: 28
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by calmfury

r0zj0k3r: What was the commandline use to manually mount your usb storage?

---------- Post added at 03:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:20 PM ----------

Found it block device is at /dev/block/sda1 now need to add it to vold.fstab

EDIT:
I'd didn't see your first question.. I just used a basic *nix mount command with busybox

busybox mount /dev/block/sda1 /sdcard/usb

it's not fun to type in every time (without a real keyboard) but it does work, with ext4/3/2. And since in a pinch it gets the job done I can use it. I just know there is a way, to set this up to auto mount. In any *nix flavor it too easy, and but since this is a bastardized Linux I don't know how/where everything works.


I found some stuff about vold.fstab but the syntax was a little confusing for me. Will these auto mount or do hdd's only mount on boot from that file?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using xda premium
Last edited by r0zj0k3r; 19th August 2012 at 06:16 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
nexus 7, stickmount, usb, usb-otg
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank