The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] OTA stuck at white HTC Screen, now what?

OP mattloak

2nd August 2012, 10:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Whoops. I did the OTA without doing any research first and now I'm stuck.

I was running the stock GB ROM, rooted with HTCdev unlock, Amon Ra and S-on. I did the OTA that "Prepped" the phone for ICS today and it apparently unrooted the phone. I didn't really dig into it and just went ahead with the ICS OTA. It downloaded and I hit OK and it booted into recovery. Eventually the option to reboot presented and I chose it. Now I'm stuck at the white HTC screen.

I know I should have been paying a little more attention to what I was doing and should have done some more reading before I went ahead with the OTA.

I've done some research but haven't found any solutions that are specific to this OTA. What should I do now? Thanks in advance.
Last edited by mattloak; 2nd August 2012 at 10:51 PM.
2nd August 2012, 10:57 PM   |  #2  
zac41189's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Albuquerque
Thanks Meter: 38
 
139 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattloak

Whoops. I did the OTA without doing any research first and now I'm stuck.

I was running the stock GB ROM, rooted with HTCdev unlock and S-on. I'm pretty sure I had CWM recovery, althought it might have been Amon RA. I did the OTA that "Prepped" the phone for ICS today and it apparently unrooted the phone. I didn't really dig into it and just went ahead with the ICS OTA. It downloaded and I hit OK and it booted into some kind of recovery, again I wasn't paying attention. Eventually the option to reboot presented and I chose it. Now I'm stuck at the white HTC screen.

I know I should have been paying a little more attention to what I was doing and should have done some more reading before I went ahead with the OTA.

I've done some research but haven't found any solutions that are specific to this OTA. What should I do now? Thanks in advance.

No worries. You do need to be careful but you can fix this.

First relock your bootloader in fastboot with the command: fastboot oem lock

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1810931

Download the RUU file from the android police website and rename it PH98IMG.zip and place it on the root of your external SD card (not in any folders). Reboot to bootloader and your phone will find it and apply the OTA update.

Make sure to remove it from the root directory on your SD after your phone reboots.

You'll be good to go running ICS 3.14.605.12!

EDIT: Just remembered you said you were stuck at splash screen. If you can't get past that you might need an SD card reader to do all this on a pc but its still totally doable.
Last edited by zac41189; 2nd August 2012 at 11:04 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to zac41189 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd August 2012, 11:08 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Thanks, I'm downloading it now.
3rd August 2012, 12:18 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Charlotte
Thanks Meter: 139
 
430 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattloak

Thanks, I'm downloading it now.

and...you'll have to unlock and flash Amon again..
7th August 2012, 11:45 PM   |  #5  
thedroidmonkey's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
after DL'ing the RUU, how do you put the file on your phone? im stuck on that screen and dont know how to access the phones files to put that file on the root

thanks in advance

edit: sd card reader
Last edited by thedroidmonkey; 8th August 2012 at 01:18 AM.
8th August 2012, 01:30 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
So there's no way of doing this without getting another SD card with the file or using SD card reader?
19th August 2012, 01:31 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
I wish I would have saw this before I installed a ROM hoping that would fix it. How do I get rid of the ROM now to run stock? It was Scotts Clean ROM if that matters at all
19th August 2012, 01:38 AM   |  #8  
LunaticSerenade's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 211
 
931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trizzypballr

I wish I would have saw this before I installed a ROM hoping that would fix it. How do I get rid of the ROM now to run stock? It was Scotts Clean ROM if that matters at all

You can flash a stock ROM or RUU.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
19th August 2012, 01:45 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LunaticSerenade

You can flash a stock ROM or RUU.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2

Not to sound like a total n00b, but could you walk me threw that?

I need to lock the boot loader threw fast boot also i read above? How do I do that?
19th August 2012, 02:38 AM   |  #10  
LunaticSerenade's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 211
 
931 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trizzypballr

Not to sound like a total n00b, but could you walk me threw that?

I need to lock the boot loader threw fast boot also i read above? How do I do that?

You would need to boot into fastboot, then type 'fastboot oem lock' I believe.

After that, download http://db.tt/M09JDsfq, rename it PH98IMG, place it on the root of your SD, reboot into hboot, and flash!

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
htc white screen, ota
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes