Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Have you been able to unlock your bootloader on the TF700 using the ASUS utility?
Yes 113 45.38%
No 55 22.09%
Haven't tried or don't know 81 32.53%
Voters: 249. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

[POLL] Unlocking Bootloader on TF700

OP bgroins

28th October 2012, 11:15 PM   |  #21  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,628
 
5,448 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thats OK

http://d-h.st/pLH
Can't you doods just download the .apk from the above link and run it?
Maybe I'm not understannding what's going on with the server down thing.

From a tablet running CleanROM 2.3

The app is going to connect to Asus server to register in order to unlock. The app is not just unlock your device locally.
The Following User Says Thank You to buhohitr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th October 2012, 07:43 AM   |  #22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
So finally after 5 days of daily trying i bit the bullet, wiped, downgraded to ics, tried a few more times with no avail...

and then on a follow up attempt.... success!.

not sure if ics had anything to do with it or whether its better to try daily or just keep spamming till it works.

Good luck to everyone who still tries to unlock theirs.
30th October 2012, 02:31 PM   |  #23  
Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 8
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankens

So finally after 5 days of daily trying i bit the bullet, wiped, downgraded to ics, tried a few more times with no avail...

and then on a follow up attempt.... success!.

not sure if ics had anything to do with it or whether its better to try daily or just keep spamming till it works.

Good luck to everyone who still tries to unlock theirs.

Did you have that network connection error message for all the times it didn't work?
30th October 2012, 08:12 PM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
178 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
I am not sure if this comment is kosher, but the app connects with Asus to register that the device has been unlocked. Is there anyway to circumvent this, i.e. emulate the Asus server?
30th October 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bckldwn

Did you have that network connection error message for all the times it didn't work?

Mostly it just said unlocking failed.
30th October 2012, 10:30 PM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Flag Norway
Thanks Meter: 13
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dankens

Mostly it just said unlocking failed.

How did you downgrade to ICS?
30th October 2012, 11:09 PM   |  #27  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,513
 
3,545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hashish16

I am not sure if this comment is kosher, but the app connects with Asus to register that the device has been unlocked. Is there anyway to circumvent this, i.e. emulate the Asus server?

No way. Each device has a unique encryption key, and only the Asus server has the matching data for unlocking. So you could emulate the server, but you wouldn't know what response to send.
31st October 2012, 12:16 AM   |  #28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
just download ics .30 from asus website, unzip (once), put it on microsd. reinsert microsd and update should popup in notification area.

Just a heads up, in a downgrade it wipes everything including root.
31st October 2012, 03:37 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
used phone to tether and unlocked my 700 driving down the highway. coming from stock fully updated jelly bean.. One time no problem. used goo manager flashed over recovery and good to go..
31st October 2012, 07:02 PM   |  #30  
cowhow's Avatar
Member
Flag Fort Worth, Texas
Thanks Meter: 17
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Man, this is a tough one. Just bought my TF700 and I got to admit I'm struggling with whether or not to unlock the BL. While I want the freedom unlocking gives me, it kind of scares the $#@$% out of me to think I've got a brand new device with no warranty. Decisions, decisions...[see hand wringing and pacing back and forth]

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes