Quo Vadis, Open {Source, Standards, World}? w/ Jan Wildeboer – XDA:DevCon 2014

Open Source was a big topic at this years XDA:DevCon … more

Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Music Playback Error Google Music

OP Mike

6th August 2012, 05:54 AM   |  #1  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I'm on AOKP Milestone 6 and continuously get playback error when trying to play music. The issue is only on Google music though. Any ideas?

------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1344225273586.jpg
Views:	328
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	1244270  
Last edited by Mike; 6th August 2012 at 06:20 AM.
8th August 2012, 08:47 PM   |  #2  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
The playlists duplicate and music playback error continuously occurs. It only happens on AOKP

Anybody???

--------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop here are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398
8th August 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #3  
Jamolah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
is your music on an external SD card? and have you removed the SD card and re-mounted it?
The Following User Says Thank You to Jamolah For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th August 2012, 11:05 PM   |  #4  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamolah

is your music on an external SD card? and have you removed the SD card and re-mounted it?

First off thanks for the response.

My music is on external SD but no I haven't removed it. Ever since I realized I could manage files with it inside my phone I haven't removed it haha. I'll check it out. Hopefully its that easy.

--------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop here are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398
9th August 2012, 12:33 AM   |  #5  
Ends's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Boston, VA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
You'll have to put your media in interal to solve the duplicate problem. It will always happen. Even with pics

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Ends For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th August 2012, 01:35 AM   |  #6  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ends

You'll have to put your media in interal to solve the duplicate problem. It will always happen. Even with pics

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium

Just curious though why this would only be an issue on AOKP and Google Music for me though, I haven't had an issue with it on cm9 and it only happened once on Sky ICS but if that's the fix then great! Btw I have never had duplicate pics issue, but I have heard of others with it.

Thanks!

--------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop here are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398
Last edited by Mike; 9th August 2012 at 01:38 AM.
9th August 2012, 09:03 PM   |  #7  
Jamolah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
672 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike on XDA

First off thanks for the response.

My music is on external SD but no I haven't removed it. Ever since I realized I could manage files with it inside my phone I haven't removed it haha. I'll check it out. Hopefully its that easy.

--------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop here are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398


So I thought this was an issue with the music being on the external SD card and when removed/re-mounted it caused the Playlist to lose track of the file location. So I decided to move all my music to the internal memory card. And at first everything was working fine, but now I'm getting the "Playback Error: Couldn't play your media". And when I look at the songs, it seems they're all duplicated, eventhough there is nothing on my external SD card.

What gives?
9th August 2012, 10:25 PM   |  #8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 1,412
 
2,660 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamolah

So I thought this was an issue with the music being on the external SD card and when removed/re-mounted it caused the Playlist to lose track of the file location. So I decided to move all my music to the internal memory card. And at first everything was working fine, but now I'm getting the "Playback Error: Couldn't play your media". And when I look at the songs, it seems they're all duplicated, eventhough there is nothing on my external SD card.

What gives?

That is a good question. One that I don't think anyone has come up with the answer to yet. I was having the same thing happen on ICS. Stock,AOKP,CM10 it didn't matter. The worst part was that I could figure out how it was happening. As soon as you reboot the phone it will add more duplicates. Some weird bug with media scanner would be my guess. So to fix it I deleted all of the .db files from data/data/com.android.providers.media/databases. Then reboot and give the .db time to rebuild. Now never shut down your phone again. llol If someone finds another fix let me know.

I've switched to AOKP JB and have shut my phone off or rebooted a bunch in the past two days and this is not happening. So the other solution may be just to jump on the JB wagon.
3rd June 2013, 11:53 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag West Park
Thanks Meter: 1
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
No just switch to an older version. The samething happened to me with my phone so I switched to 4.1 something off Play Music and it works again.
4th June 2013, 12:22 AM   |  #10  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,171 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperJMan2

No just switch to an older version. The samething happened to me with my phone so I switched to 4.1 something off Play Music and it works again.

Responding to a thread I created 10 months ago......NICE! haha

Sent from my AT&T Galaxy S4 Running AOKP 4.2.2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes