FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

Music Playback Error Google Music

1,236 posts
Thanks Meter: 409
 
By Mike, Senior Member on 6th August 2012, 04:54 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm on AOKP Milestone 6 and continuously get playback error when trying to play music. The issue is only on Google music though. Any ideas?

------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1344225273586.jpg
Views:	348
Size:	45.2 KB
ID:	1244270  
Last edited by Mike; 6th August 2012 at 05:20 AM.
 
 
8th August 2012, 07:47 PM |#2  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
The playlists duplicate and music playback error continuously occurs. It only happens on AOKP

Anybody???

--------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop here are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398
8th August 2012, 09:26 PM |#3  
Jamolah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
is your music on an external SD card? and have you removed the SD card and re-mounted it?
The Following User Says Thank You to Jamolah For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th August 2012, 10:05 PM |#4  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamolah

is your music on an external SD card? and have you removed the SD card and re-mounted it?

First off thanks for the response.

My music is on external SD but no I haven't removed it. Ever since I realized I could manage files with it inside my phone I haven't removed it haha. I'll check it out. Hopefully its that easy.

--------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop here are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398
8th August 2012, 11:33 PM |#5  
Ends's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Boston, VA
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
You'll have to put your media in interal to solve the duplicate problem. It will always happen. Even with pics

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Ends For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th August 2012, 12:35 AM |#6  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ends

You'll have to put your media in interal to solve the duplicate problem. It will always happen. Even with pics

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium

Just curious though why this would only be an issue on AOKP and Google Music for me though, I haven't had an issue with it on cm9 and it only happened once on Sky ICS but if that's the fix then great! Btw I have never had duplicate pics issue, but I have heard of others with it.

Thanks!

--------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop here are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398
Last edited by Mike; 9th August 2012 at 12:38 AM.
9th August 2012, 08:03 PM |#7  
Jamolah's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike on XDA

First off thanks for the response.

My music is on external SD but no I haven't removed it. Ever since I realized I could manage files with it inside my phone I haven't removed it haha. I'll check it out. Hopefully its that easy.

--------------------------------------------
Sent from my Skyrocket i727 running CM9

For a one stop shop here are Vincom's threads
Everything Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1773659
Returning to Stock: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1652398


So I thought this was an issue with the music being on the external SD card and when removed/re-mounted it caused the Playlist to lose track of the file location. So I decided to move all my music to the internal memory card. And at first everything was working fine, but now I'm getting the "Playback Error: Couldn't play your media". And when I look at the songs, it seems they're all duplicated, eventhough there is nothing on my external SD card.

What gives?
9th August 2012, 09:25 PM |#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 1,414
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamolah

So I thought this was an issue with the music being on the external SD card and when removed/re-mounted it caused the Playlist to lose track of the file location. So I decided to move all my music to the internal memory card. And at first everything was working fine, but now I'm getting the "Playback Error: Couldn't play your media". And when I look at the songs, it seems they're all duplicated, eventhough there is nothing on my external SD card.

What gives?

That is a good question. One that I don't think anyone has come up with the answer to yet. I was having the same thing happen on ICS. Stock,AOKP,CM10 it didn't matter. The worst part was that I could figure out how it was happening. As soon as you reboot the phone it will add more duplicates. Some weird bug with media scanner would be my guess. So to fix it I deleted all of the .db files from data/data/com.android.providers.media/databases. Then reboot and give the .db time to rebuild. Now never shut down your phone again. llol If someone finds another fix let me know.

I've switched to AOKP JB and have shut my phone off or rebooted a bunch in the past two days and this is not happening. So the other solution may be just to jump on the JB wagon.
3rd June 2013, 10:53 PM |#9  
Member
Flag West Park
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
No just switch to an older version. The samething happened to me with my phone so I switched to 4.1 something off Play Music and it works again.
3rd June 2013, 11:22 PM |#10  
Mike's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperJMan2

No just switch to an older version. The samething happened to me with my phone so I switched to 4.1 something off Play Music and it works again.

Responding to a thread I created 10 months ago......NICE! haha

Sent from my AT&T Galaxy S4 Running AOKP 4.2.2
3rd June 2013, 11:24 PM |#11  
Member
Flag West Park
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike on XDA

Responding to a thread I created 10 months ago......NICE! haha

Sent from my AT&T Galaxy S4 Running AOKP 4.2.2

I did not even notice! haha I just had the same problem with my phone so I thought it was recent.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes