Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,055 Members 47,961 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

TF700t and rooting

Tip us?
 
EnginesRun
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default TF700t and rooting

I've read the dedicated thread on rooting the TF700t with DebugfsRoot_v1.9 (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...706588&page=48).

I did successfully root a TF700t with 9_4_5_22.

Now I tried the same method after upgrading another TF700t from stock to 9_4_5_26.

Everything works fine during rooting (I've tried both manual and automated DebugfsRoot 1.9) with the following exceptions:

1. during the 3rd stage of rooting, I get
/system/bin/sh: /system/xbin/su: not executable: magic 7F45

2.

Superuser access does not seem to be active after rooting. I did uninstall and re-install Superuser with no superuser access success.

I tried both under XP and 7/32 on the same device, no errors but root does not seem to be active. Between rooting attempts, I restored stock ROM.

Other details:
Asus USB drivers installed (off Asus website)
Asus synch is disabled and prevented from launching.
Security/Unknown sources is checked.
Developer options / USB debugging is ON/checked.

What do you think goes wrong?
Any help is appreciated. Thx
 
masseselsev
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Zhukovskiy
Exclamation the same..

I have nearly the same problem...

I have updated my rooted .21 to .26, then unlocked it and as it seems have lost root. I dont really know if it happened afted updating or afted unlocking...
None of my R-applications can get root, and so on...

I've tried to use the same method i used to get root on .21 and got this:

Quote:
Step 2 - Rooting...
debugfs 1.42 (29-Nov-2011)
debugfs: rm: File not found by ext2_lookup while trying to resolve filename
debugfs:
debugfs: debugfs: Allocated inode: 1469
debugfs: debugfs: debugfs: debugfs:
Rebooting...
Testing superuser...
uid=0(root) gid=0(root) groups=1003(graphics),1004(input),1007(log),1009(m ount),1011(adb),
1015(sdcard_rw),3001(net_bt_admin),3002(net_bt),30 03(inet),3006(net_bw_stats)

uid and gid should both be 0.
Are they? (y/n):
And still no root...

What am i doing wrong? What to do next?

Thanks!
 
drherron
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 124
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Albany
Default Is it a superuser problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnginesRun View Post
2.

Superuser access does not seem to be active after rooting. I did uninstall and re-install Superuser with no superuser access success.


Any help is appreciated. Thx
Can't help yet but I am having a similar problem with SU; its presence suggest I have root but it denies everyone else SU permissions...
 
alienedd
Old
#4  
alienedd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NW Florida
After rooting, run SuperUser explicitly from the applications menu. Then try your apps that require root access. I noticed that I had the issue of running the DebugFS root batch and then later was not able to properly run Adaway. Ran SuperUser, then everything went smooth.

I think someone already mentioned this in another thread.
HTC Wizard - WM 5.5 (stolen )
B&N Nook Color - CM7.2 Mirage KANG : 06/23
Xperia x10 Mini Pro - CM10 - 4.0.2 mimmi w/ nAa JB v3 kernal
Acer A100 - Flex A100 Reaper : 27 May
TF700 Infinity + TF201 Dock - CleanROM 2.4
Want to know Is your TF700 a keeper?
Problems getting root on your TF700? Roots! Bloody roots!
New Blog
 
masseselsev
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Zhukovskiy
Quote:
Originally Posted by alienedd View Post
After rooting, run SuperUser explicitly from the applications menu. Then try your apps that require root access. I noticed that I had the issue of running the DebugFS root batch and then later was not able to properly run Adaway. Ran SuperUser, then everything went smooth.

I think someone already mentioned this in another thread.
nope. doesnt help in my case..

---------- Post added at 10:17 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:37 AM ----------

ok, i've solved my problem.
the idea mentioned by alienedd helped me to see that i could have a working root but faulty superuser app.
so i started with installing it from market.
then i ran DebugfsRoot_v1.9.
till it got to this point:
Quote:
Testing superuser...
uid=0(root) gid=0(root) groups=1003(graphics),1004(input),1007(log),1009(m ount),1011(adb),
1015(sdcard_rw),3001(net_bt_admin),3002(net_bt),30 03(inet),3006(net_bw_stats)

uid and gid should both be 0.
Are they? (y/n):
then i have cleared all the data held by superuser app through settings\apps, stopped it and uninstalled.

after that i continued with the script and it installed me superuser app again.

after installing i've launched it and then ckecked my root-needed apps. they are ok now.
 
alienedd
Old
#6  
alienedd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NW Florida
Ahhh, yeah. Read about that in the DebugFS thread that sometimes one needs to uninstall superuser then reinstall for it to run properly. Didn't think about that. Glad that its all working now for yas.
HTC Wizard - WM 5.5 (stolen )
B&N Nook Color - CM7.2 Mirage KANG : 06/23
Xperia x10 Mini Pro - CM10 - 4.0.2 mimmi w/ nAa JB v3 kernal
Acer A100 - Flex A100 Reaper : 27 May
TF700 Infinity + TF201 Dock - CleanROM 2.4
Want to know Is your TF700 a keeper?
Problems getting root on your TF700? Roots! Bloody roots!
New Blog
 
henbone11
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 205
Join Date: Apr 2008
I have tried all of this with 4 different packages (3 of the automated root from here and 1 from a link in the [RESOURCES] thread in the dev forum. every time, each package says that I have root, but when I check I do now. I followed what masseselev said and it failed as well. I have spent the better part of 5 hours trying to root. I guess I should say that I just got my infinity last night...and like a crackhead applied .26 ota without thinking about it. but I have read where the automated works fine with .26. I am pulling my hair out trying to figure out why I cant get root on this thing. the packages always say that they were successful and that I have root, but I do not. no apps can gain root. terminal emulator still shows $ after trying to enter "su". I have tried several different root checkers and they all say I do not have root. any other ideas? I should also say that I have not unlocked the bootloader.
 
alienedd
Old
#8  
alienedd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NW Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by henbone11 View Post
I have tried all of this with 4 different packages (3 of the automated root from here and 1 from a link in the [RESOURCES] thread in the dev forum. every time, each package says that I have root, but when I check I do now. I followed what masseselev said and it failed as well. I have spent the better part of 5 hours trying to root. I guess I should say that I just got my infinity last night...and like a crackhead applied .26 ota without thinking about it. but I have read where the automated works fine with .26. I am pulling my hair out trying to figure out why I cant get root on this thing. the packages always say that they were successful and that I have root, but I do not. no apps can gain root. terminal emulator still shows $ after trying to enter "su". I have tried several different root checkers and they all say I do not have root. any other ideas? I should also say that I have not unlocked the bootloader.
What exactly are you doing as its kind of hard to determine what has gone wrong?

DebugFS works with .26 OTA and you don't need an unlocked bootloader for it to work (though having root might cause problems for getting OTAs and the unlocker to work).
HTC Wizard - WM 5.5 (stolen )
B&N Nook Color - CM7.2 Mirage KANG : 06/23
Xperia x10 Mini Pro - CM10 - 4.0.2 mimmi w/ nAa JB v3 kernal
Acer A100 - Flex A100 Reaper : 27 May
TF700 Infinity + TF201 Dock - CleanROM 2.4
Want to know Is your TF700 a keeper?
Problems getting root on your TF700? Roots! Bloody roots!
New Blog
 
henbone11
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 205
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by alienedd View Post
What exactly are you doing as its kind of hard to determine what has gone wrong?

DebugFS works with .26 OTA and you don't need an unlocked bootloader for it to work (though having root might cause problems for getting OTAs and the unlocker to work).
just trying to run the debugFS automated tool. it runs fine, and gives all indications that it works successfully. but I still dont have root. its driving me crazy. I have run 2.0, 2.1 and 2.2 packages and all said I was rooted...but I dont think I am. I have installed and uninstalled superuser and rebooted numerous times. I went ahead and unlocked the bootloader and it still wont work. I can open a command prompt from within the package folders (2.0, 2.1 and 2.2) and run adb shell, then su and it shows #. but if I do it from terminal on the infinity it shows $ when i do su. sorry if im vague, im just brain fried at this point and dont know what else to do.
 
alienedd
Old
#10  
alienedd's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 33
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NW Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by henbone11 View Post
just trying to run the debugFS automated tool. it runs fine, and gives all indications that it works successfully. but I still dont have root. its driving me crazy. I have run 2.0, 2.1 and 2.2 packages and all said I was rooted...but I dont think I am. I have installed and uninstalled superuser and rebooted numerous times. I went ahead and unlocked the bootloader and it still wont work. I can open a command prompt from within the package folders (2.0, 2.1 and 2.2) and run adb shell, then su and it shows #. but if I do it from terminal on the infinity it shows $ when i do su. sorry if im vague, im just brain fried at this point and dont know what else to do.
Yeah, I understand. Um, I know I've repeated this several other times but I don't see it in your list of things you've done. Were you able to open up the superuser application? It seems that if it opens, you have root, and in some cases might not work until it is opened. It's both fortunate and unfortunate that I did not encounter many problems while rooting so my experience with possible errors isn't that expansive. However, you've run the package(s) completely so it's not a driver issue and you can adb and see su access. It just seems like the tablet isn't recognizing that it does have it.
HTC Wizard - WM 5.5 (stolen )
B&N Nook Color - CM7.2 Mirage KANG : 06/23
Xperia x10 Mini Pro - CM10 - 4.0.2 mimmi w/ nAa JB v3 kernal
Acer A100 - Flex A100 Reaper : 27 May
TF700 Infinity + TF201 Dock - CleanROM 2.4
Want to know Is your TF700 a keeper?
Problems getting root on your TF700? Roots! Bloody roots!
New Blog

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more