Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Rogers/ATT Galaxy S3 Root/Recovery Guide

OP ka24e

8th August 2012, 08:25 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Halifax
Thanks Meter: 74
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
People worked hard to get this where it is now but I had to search through a BUNCH of different posts to find the proper recovery images, files, etc. Thought I would put everything here so it takes a shorter amount of time to get it done:

*NOTE: UPDATED, THIS IS FOR ALL 747 MODELS, JUST GET THE RIGHT ROOTED ROM FOR YOUR CARRIER BELOW*

To Root The Galaxy S3 (Rogers SGH-I747M Model & Others) - And Use a Custom Rom If You Wish


1. Download Odin 3.07+ and the Samsung S3 Drivers here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1722686


2. Download the LATEST clockwork Recovery Image Here:

http://www.clockworkmod.com/rommanager

D2ATT Galaxy S3


[B]3. Download the stock ROM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426

Extract it with WinRar/7Zip.


Now for the easy part... seriously lol. How to ROOT:


1. Make sure phone is charged.

2. Install the Samsung USB Drivers with the phone disconnected.

3. With the phone booted to Android. Plug in the phone. Once the drivers install, disconnect the phone.

4. Power off the phone.

5. Put the phone in Download mode: (Hold volume down + home button, then press and hold power until download mode comes up. Then press the volume up key to continue).

6. Connect the phone to the computer again.

7. Wait for more drivers to install if need be.

8. Open "Odin3_v3.07+".

9. Only things that should be checked in Odin are: Auto Reboot and F. Reset Time.

10. Press the PDA button. Load the extracted Pre-Rooted Rogers Rom (or pre-rooted rom for your carrier). Flashing this ROM should not delete any data on the phone.

11. Once the ROM is loaded (it may take a minute or two), hit the Start button in Odin. DO NOT DISCONNECT THE PHONE.

12. Once the phone reboots you are DONE! The phone is now rooted with the stock software. You will have superuser etc. Do NOT update superuser within superuser itself. It breaks it/does not update properly in my experience.

Note: If you are coming back from another ROM to Stock, please make sure you wipe and format all partitions on your phone, then go through the above steps. Failing to do so will make your phone hang at the Samsung boot screen. If you are experiencing this, just boot into the stock recovery and wipe, then reboot.



To Flash ClockworkMod Recovery:


Have the recovery image on the internal memory...name as "recovery.img"


Download Android Terminal Emulator from the Play Store, have the recovery image on the internal memory, run:

Once in the terminal type: su (press enter)
Then type: dd if=/sdcard/recovery.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p18 (press enter)



Once the recovery is flashed, you can load Cyanogenmod 10+ from here:


http://download.cyanogenmod.org/?dev...t&type=nightly


Newest Rogers/Bell/Telus modem/radio image (ATT is located here as well):

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1831898


USE LATEST PAGAPPS HERE!: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2397942
Last edited by ka24e; 13th February 2014 at 11:06 PM. Reason: Updated clockworkmod recovery images.
The Following 46 Users Say Thank You to ka24e For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th August 2012, 10:11 PM   |  #2  
Peoplearmy's Avatar
Member
Flag Cedar Hill, TX
Thanks Meter: 936
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Last edited by Peoplearmy; 8th August 2012 at 10:13 PM.
8th August 2012, 11:08 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Calgary
Thanks Meter: 41
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Will doing this factory reset my phone?

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app
8th August 2012, 11:40 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 821
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Good job, thanks for the guide. About time someone did this.
Last edited by David Dee; 9th August 2012 at 10:26 PM.
9th August 2012, 10:06 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Halifax
Thanks Meter: 74
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by balpreetsaini

Will doing this factory reset my phone?

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app

In my experience it has not factory reset it if coming from a STOCK rogers rom going to a ROOTED rogers rom. Everything stays. Your mileage may vary.
9th August 2012, 03:01 PM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 2
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
What's the difference between the CWM recovery you posted (5.8.4.5) and this one? http://www.epiccm.org/2012/06/cwm-re...-variants.html
9th August 2012, 10:31 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 821
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by quazis

What's the difference between the CWM recovery you posted (5.8.4.5) and this one? http://www.epiccm.org/2012/06/cwm-re...-variants.html

Team Epic's cwm recovery is actually for Sprint, but should work well on all devices (I used that one before switching to twrp recovery here).

The one posted in the OP is the AT&T cwm recovery, which many developers insist be used as a condition for support on their roms. If you are going with CWM, I would suggest the ATT version above for that reason.
The Following User Says Thank You to David Dee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th August 2012, 12:58 PM   |  #8  
equlizer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
741 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
Will this work on the bell version too?
11th August 2012, 03:16 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag Halifax
Thanks Meter: 74
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Yeah should work, but I have no way to test it.

Download the rooted image for bell here (telus listed as well for those on telus): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426

***Not sure if the ClockworkMod recovery for ATT will work on bell (although I dont see why i wont and you can always flash back to stock if need be) but give it a go and let us know haha***

If it doesnt work, the above link has the recovery for Bell.
11th August 2012, 05:26 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 821
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ka24e

Yeah should work, but I have no way to test it.

Download the rooted image for bell here (telus listed as well for those on telus): http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426

***Not sure if the ClockworkMod recovery for ATT will work on bell (although I dont see why i wont and you can always flash back to stock if need be) but give it a go and let us know haha***

If it doesnt work, the above link has the recovery for Bell.

AT&T, Rogers, Bell, Telus and Sasktel are all on the i747 version of the GS3. The differences (that I am aware of) between AT&T and the Canadian carriers are the modem (software that connects the phone to networks such as cellular/wifi/bluetooth) and carrier bloatware or restrictions. As mentioned above by Ka24e, make sure you use your carrier's rooted image if following this guide to root. Other than that, if something works on Rogers, I cannot see a reason why it wouldn't work for the Canadian carriers mentioned above.

The only thing I strongly recommend AGAINST flashing is an AT&T modem....this could brick your phone!
Last edited by David Dee; 11th August 2012 at 05:28 AM.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to David Dee For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
galaxy s3, recovery, rom, root, sd card
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes