Post Reply

[ROOT][A50x] Alternative Root Method for ICS

OP blackthund3r

9th August 2012, 10:01 AM   |  #1  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
It has come to my attention that for some reason ICS Root isn't working on some stock / OTA A500 A501 ICS Builds, despite the kernel version being 2.6.39.4+ which implies some sort of incompatibilities with the exploit

With this in mind I have created a second rooting solution for those of you who have issues with blackthund3r ICS Root 7.1.1

Please try ICS Root first, then try this, then ask for help This is not the most elegant of solutions but it does work

0) Have your CPUID and/or SBK to hand, along with the A500 APX Flash Tool downloaded. If you have your CPUID but not your SBK, go generate it now with http://a500bootloaderflash.tk/sbkcalc/
1) Download the root zip from http://www.blackthund3r.co.uk/hostedfiles/CWM_ICSRoot and copy it to the device's internal storage over USB
2) Load the A500 APX Flash Tool and enter the bundle market. View the bundles for the default repo (a500bootloaderflash.tk)
3) Scroll to the bottom and find the bundle which has a patched bootloader (v8) with CWM Recovery 1.7.3 (Bundle #17)
4) Enter the number in the box and press the download button
5) Allow it to automatically stage the bundle for flash, enter your SBK and press OK
6) You don't have root yet so don't dump your BCT
7) Flash the bundle as normal. If entering APX Mode doesn't work automatically, use the manual method
8) Once done DO NOT BOOT NORMALLY. Power the device off then immediately boot into recovery mode! IF YOU BOOT FIRST YOU WILL NEED TO REFLASH CWM WITH FASTBOOT OR APX MODE
10) Once in CWM, head to "Install zip file from internal storage" and select the file you copied over in step #1 & install it
11) Now reboot your tablet. You should now be rooted with CWM, busybox and native filesystem remounting!

This is version 2 which has loads of fixes in it. It is actually a pretty clean root now and includes most of ICS Root 7.1.1's features so don't be scared!
Last edited by blackthund3r; 2nd October 2012 at 11:59 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to blackthund3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th August 2012, 12:43 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Łódź
Thanks Meter: 36
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Hm I did not know that we have an official ICS for A501 now?

Sent from my A501 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to macia10 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th August 2012, 01:18 PM   |  #3  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by macia10

Hm I did not know that we have an official ICS for A501 now?

Sent from my A501 using Tapatalk 2

OTAs have been appearing

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2
9th August 2012, 09:55 PM   |  #4  
tresed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I tried this system and it works for the superuser privileges applications, but you can not have write privileges in the system folder.
I am doing something wrong??
Great job as always, however,
10th August 2012, 08:25 AM   |  #5  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tresed

I tried this system and it works for the superuser privileges applications, but you can not have write privileges in the system folder.
I am doing something wrong??
Great job as always, however,

Hmm I'm sure I added that patch to it. I'll take a look. Can you send me the output of cat /system/xbin/mount and cat /system/bin/mount ?

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2
10th August 2012, 11:18 AM   |  #6  
tresed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackthund3r

Hmm I'm sure I added that patch to it. I'll take a look. Can you send me the output of cat /system/xbin/mount and cat /system/bin/mount ?

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2

sorry but are impractical, what should I do/send
10th August 2012, 03:05 PM   |  #7  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tresed

sorry but are impractical, what should I do/send

Haha download terminal emulator from the android market, load it up and type:
Code:
su
cat /system/bin/mount
cat /system/xbin/mount
Then copy & paste the output

Thanks!
10th August 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #8  
tresed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008


export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
app_88@android:/ $ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
app_88@android:/ $ su
app_88@android:/ # cat /system/bin/mount
#!/system/bin/sh
pb="/system/xbin"
app="busybox"

if $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5" = "-oremount,rw/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount, rw /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5" = "-orw,remount/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount, rw /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5$6" = "-oremount,rw/dev/block/mmcblk0p3/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5$6" = "-orw,remount/dev/block/mmcblk0p3/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5$6" = "-oremount,rw/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/APP/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/APP /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5$6" = "-orw,remount/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/APP/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/APP /system/ ;};
else { $pb/$app mount $* ;};
fi;

app_88@android:/ #




app_88@android:/ $ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
app_88@android:/ $ su
app_88@android:/ # cat /system/xbin/mount
#!/system/bin/sh
pb="/system/xbin"
app="busybox"

if $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5" = "-oremount,rw/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount, rw /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5" = "-orw,remount/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount, rw /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5$6" = "-oremount,rw/dev/block/mmcblk0p3/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5$6" = "-orw,remount/dev/block/mmcblk0p3/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5$6" = "-oremount,rw/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/APP/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/APP /system/ ;};
elif $pb/$app test "$1$2$3$4$5$6" = "-orw,remount/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/APP/system" ;
then { $pb/$app mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/APP /system/ ;};
else { $pb/$app mount $* ;};
fi;


Ok??
The Following User Says Thank You to tresed For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th August 2012, 11:49 AM   |  #9  
Nowonmai's Avatar
Member
Flag Perth-ish
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Not meaning to sound like an airhead, but how can I find my CPUID or how to detect the SBK? (don't have a mac, and I really don't want to boot off of a Linux CD) I have googled this, and I get nothing.
12th August 2012, 08:34 PM   |  #10  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nowonmai

Not meaning to sound like an airhead, but how can I find my CPUID or how to detect the SBK? (don't have a mac, and I really don't want to boot off of a Linux CD) I have googled this, and I get nothing.

Sure Mac doesn't get quite as much love as it should around here :P

Download the Android SDK for Mac and you'll find adb in platform-tools. cd to that directory in terminal and (assuming your tablet is rooted with busybox) run:
Code:
. /adb shell su -c "dmesg | grep androidboot.serialno"
Then you'll find printed on the screen a long string. Inside you'll see something like androidboot.serialno=0123456789123456 which is your CPUID

You can now head to http://a500bootloaderflash.tk/sbkcalc/ and generate your SBK

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Iconia A500 Android Development by ThreadRank