FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

stuck rebooting!

55 posts
Thanks Meter: 10
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm kind of a noob with this but my Verizon GS3 is doing a boot loop and I have no idea how to fix it! Please help!
 
 
13th August 2012, 01:19 AM |#2  
scsa20's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mars
Thanks Meter: 27
 
Donate to Me
More
First off, are you able to throw ADB commands to the phone? (a lot of the time when I get stuck in a boot loop I can still throw ADB commands at it), if so, throw adb reboot recovery to reboot into the recovery.

If you can't, remove the battery to turn it off, pop the battery back in, then hold Volume Up, Home, and Power to boot into the recovery.

Once in the recovery do a full wipe.

If you are flashing a ROM it's always suggested to do a full wipe before flashing the ROM.

If wiping doesn't work then restore for a previous backup (I hope you did a backup before you did whatever you did since you weren't being detailed in what you were doing at the time).
The Following User Says Thank You to scsa20 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th August 2012, 01:25 AM |#3  
clifton56's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsa20

First off, are you able to throw ADB commands to the phone? (a lot of the time when I get stuck in a boot loop I can still throw ADB commands at it), if so, throw adb reboot recovery to reboot into the recovery.

If you can't, remove the battery to turn it off, pop the battery back in, then hold Volume Up, Home, and Power to boot into the recovery.

Once in the recovery do a full wipe.

If you are flashing a ROM it's always suggested to do a full wipe before flashing the ROM.

If wiping doesn't work then restore for a previous backup (I hope you did a backup before you did whatever you did since you weren't being detailed in what you were doing at the time).

Thanks for responding! All I was doing was backing it up through ROM Manager and after the backup it went into the boot loop. When I hold the power, home, and volume down button it goes into download mode so I can't even get into the recovery. Have you heard of this before?
13th August 2012, 02:02 AM |#4  
scsa20's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mars
Thanks Meter: 27
 
Donate to Me
More
Try doing Volume Down, Home, and Power instead (one does download and one recovery, I can't remember which since I do everything through adb and very rarely have to do it manually).
The Following User Says Thank You to scsa20 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th August 2012, 02:39 AM |#5  
clifton56's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsa20

Try doing Volume Down, Home, and Power instead (one does download and one recovery, I can't remember which since I do everything through adb and very rarely have to do it manually).

Well the good news is I can get into recovery. The bad news is every time I try and restore it goes back into the same boot loop for a few cycles then goes back into Clockworkmod recovery. I feel like I'm getting close here...
13th August 2012, 02:45 AM |#6  
clifton56's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scsa20

Try doing Volume Down, Home, and Power instead (one does download and one recovery, I can't remember which since I do everything through adb and very rarely have to do it manually).

When I do reboot system now it says "error processing ROM Manager script. Please verify that you are performing the backup, restore, or ROM installation from ROM Manager v4.4.0.0 or higher."
13th August 2012, 08:31 AM |#7  
xXJay_RXx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 18015
Thanks Meter: 501
 
More
Why not just flash a new rom to get rid of the boot loop? Or Odin back to stock n root all over again?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
13th August 2012, 12:05 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
can you be more percifics ?
13th August 2012, 05:44 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
try re-install the rom
I just faced the same problem on my SGS2. Hold Volume Up + Home button + Power button to recovery mode (I guess SGS3 is the same as SGS2), then re-install the rom. If it is still not working, you may have to try another rom. To incase this problem happening, I always put two old rom and a new rom in my internal sd card, it's a lot safer, but they will use about 1GB in your phone.
13th August 2012, 06:37 PM |#10  
jprovan1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Download a new ROM then flash it. Should fix your problem

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 10:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:36 AM ----------

And get back to work Clifton. Hahahaha

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 05:54 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
stuck on boot after ez recovery rom install
Quote:
Originally Posted by jprovan1

Download a new ROM then flash it. Should fix your problem

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 10:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:36 AM ----------

And get back to work Clifton. Hahahaha

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app

I have the same problem only I can't go anywhere from the boot screen (android logo). No combination of buttons or battery removal chnges it. My PC won't see the usb connection. I could pull the sd card and write to it if that would do anything.

---------- Post added at 09:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:18 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by xXJay_RXx

Why not just flash a new rom to get rid of the boot loop? Or Odin back to stock n root all over again?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

The damned phone is bricked how are you going to flash another rom or wipe data? I don't think its totally bricked but it will only show the dwonload screen, buttons and usb ports do not work at all so far.
New data: after leaving the battery out for ahwil I was able to get back to the odin entry screen. I pushed the volume up and went back to where I was... this is progress. Now sure where to go from here.

Fumbling worked! Hitting the down volume worked. I am back in the previous rom. I still would like to flask 4.2.2! Please advise and comment. Thanks!
Last edited by alt230; 23rd February 2013 at 07:03 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes