View Poll Results: How do you deal with DTS Audio?
Re-encode to smaller phone-friendly format 26 14.94%
Old version of player that still has DTS support 65 37.36%
I don't watch mkv video on my phone 18 10.34%
Other 65 37.36%
Voters: 174. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

DTS Audio for android == LAWSUIT

15th September 2012, 05:30 AM   |  #21  
indianajonesilm's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Question
Now that MX Player 1.7 was released with instructions on how to build a custom FFmpeg with DTS support,has anyone tried it out?
15th September 2012, 07:31 AM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by indianajonesilm

Now that MX Player 1.7 was released with instructions on how to build a custom FFmpeg with DTS support,has anyone tried it out?

Did a quick google search after you reply and found this I hope someone can build this. I would rather not start a VM just for this and just be handed on a silver platter.
15th September 2012, 04:58 PM   |  #23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
I've build ffmpeg for mxplayer successfully for my Nexus 7. MKV with DTS plays fine now.

However, there is a small detail missing in the Howto. Building as described leads to a working ffmpeg version which still doesn't handle DTS. One has to remove the following three lines from config-ffmpeg.sh:

Code:
--disable-demuxer=dts \
--disable-parser=dca \
--disable-decoder=dca \
15th September 2012, 07:48 PM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
i built ffmpeg using the instructions here:

https://sites.google.com/site/mxvpen/ffmpeg

and also removing the 3 lines you mentioned, but i'm still not hearing any audio with a dts mkv
any ideas?
15th September 2012, 08:24 PM   |  #25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Did you copy all five .so files

Code:
libavcodec.so
libavformat.so
libavutil.so
libswresample.so
libswscale.so
into a folder on your device? And have you selected that folder in MX Player as "Custom codec"? And after a restart of MX Player, is the folder name still shown under "Custom codec"?
15th September 2012, 10:29 PM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
yep, thats exactly what i did
15th September 2012, 11:48 PM   |  #27  
LoganMcClay's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by koljanowak

I've build ffmpeg for mxplayer successfully for my Nexus 7. MKV with DTS plays fine now.

However, there is a small detail missing in the Howto. Building as described leads to a working ffmpeg version which still doesn't handle DTS. One has to remove the following three lines from config-ffmpeg.sh:

Code:
--disable-demuxer=dts \
--disable-parser=dca \
--disable-decoder=dca \

Hi,

I don't get it, trying to compile ffmpeg for an hour and I get stuck on some parameters in build-ffmpeg.sh... What shoud TARGET1 & TARGET2 point to ? Tried to give there the *.so found in the unpacked codecs APK and that's a no-go...
Also, this part :
Code:
cp libavutil/libavutil.so $TARGET1/
cp libavutil/libavutil.so $TARGET2/
cp libswresample/libswresample.so $TARGET1/
cp libswresample/libswresample.so $TARGET2/
cp libavcodec/libavcodec.so $TARGET1/
cp libavcodec/libavcodec.so $TARGET2/
cp libavformat/libavformat.so $TARGET1/
cp libavformat/libavformat.so $TARGET2/
cp libswscale/libswscale.so $TARGET1/
cp libswscale/libswscale.so $TARGET2/
is trying to copy files that doesn't exist... Maybe because first part isn't set correctly.

koljanowak, can you point me how you've done it ?

Thanks by advance
16th September 2012, 12:07 AM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoganMcClay

Hi,

I don't get it, trying to compile ffmpeg for an hour and I get stuck on some parameters in build-ffmpeg.sh... What shoud TARGET1 & TARGET2 point to ? Tried to give there the *.so found in the unpacked codecs APK and that's a no-go...
Also, this part :

Code:
cp libavutil/libavutil.so $TARGET1/
cp libavutil/libavutil.so $TARGET2/
cp libswresample/libswresample.so $TARGET1/
cp libswresample/libswresample.so $TARGET2/
cp libavcodec/libavcodec.so $TARGET1/
cp libavcodec/libavcodec.so $TARGET2/
cp libavformat/libavformat.so $TARGET1/
cp libavformat/libavformat.so $TARGET2/
cp libswscale/libswscale.so $TARGET1/
cp libswscale/libswscale.so $TARGET2/
is trying to copy files that doesn't exist... Maybe because first part isn't set correctly.

koljanowak, can you point me how you've done it ?

Thanks by advance

you have to set the target folders so output of the codecs

I replaced $target1 to /usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T1=../libs/armeabi-v7a/neon and do the same for $Target2 but point it to a different folder.

What I don't get is what does it need to Target folders, I tried both codecs folders and they both play DTS on H/W+ only
16th September 2012, 12:23 AM   |  #29  
LoganMcClay's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Sorry but don't undestand what you did.

That's for instance what i've set for now, but doesn't work :

build-ffmpeg.sh
Code:
case $1 in
	neon)
		TARGET1=/home/vmware/Documents/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_v7_neon__1_7.apk_FILES/lib/armeabi
		TARGET2=/home/vmware/Documents/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_v7_neon__1_7.apk_FILES/output
		;;
Do you say you've modified it that way ?

Code:
case $1 in
	neon)
		/usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T1=../libs/armeabi-v7a/neon
		/usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T2=../libs/output/ffmpeg_v7_neon/armeabi
		;;
16th September 2012, 12:53 AM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
893 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoganMcClay

Sorry but don't undestand what you did.

That's for instance what i've set for now, but doesn't work :

build-ffmpeg.sh

Code:
case $1 in
	neon)
		TARGET1=/home/vmware/Documents/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_v7_neon__1_7.apk_FILES/lib/armeabi
		TARGET2=/home/vmware/Documents/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_v7_neon__1_7.apk_FILES/output
		;;
Do you say you've modified it that way ?

Code:
case $1 in
	neon)
		/usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T1=../libs/armeabi-v7a/neon
		/usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T2=../libs/output/ffmpeg_v7_neon/armeabi
		;;

I messed up the end as you can see below, but it generated the 5 *.so files in both T1/T2 directories, and I just manually created the lib folder and moved them to the appropriate folders. What I do not understand why it generates target1/target2 directories with the same *.so files when only one folder with the so files are required. So is the S3 armeabi-v7a or armeabi?

Code:
build-ffmpeg.sh: line 10: /usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T1=../libs/armeabi-v7a/neon: No such file or directory
build-ffmpeg.sh: line 11: /usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T2=../libs/output/ffmpeg_v7_neon/armeabi: No such file or directory
Last edited by jebise101; 16th September 2012 at 01:02 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes