Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,947 Members 40,669 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: How do you deal with DTS Audio?
Re-encode to smaller phone-friendly format 25 14.53%
Old version of player that still has DTS support 65 37.79%
I don't watch mkv video on my phone 18 10.47%
Other 64 37.21%
Voters: 172. You may not vote on this poll

DTS Audio for android == LAWSUIT

Tip us?
 
indianajonesilm
Old
#21  
indianajonesilm's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2012
Now that MX Player 1.7 was released with instructions on how to build a custom FFmpeg with DTS support,has anyone tried it out?
 
jebise101
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 891
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by indianajonesilm View Post
Now that MX Player 1.7 was released with instructions on how to build a custom FFmpeg with DTS support,has anyone tried it out?
Did a quick google search after you reply and found this I hope someone can build this. I would rather not start a VM just for this and just be handed on a silver platter.
 
koljanowak
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2012
I've build ffmpeg for mxplayer successfully for my Nexus 7. MKV with DTS plays fine now.

However, there is a small detail missing in the Howto. Building as described leads to a working ffmpeg version which still doesn't handle DTS. One has to remove the following three lines from config-ffmpeg.sh:

Code:
--disable-demuxer=dts \
--disable-parser=dca \
--disable-decoder=dca \
 
buvk
Old
#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jul 2012
i built ffmpeg using the instructions here:

https://sites.google.com/site/mxvpen/ffmpeg

and also removing the 3 lines you mentioned, but i'm still not hearing any audio with a dts mkv
any ideas?
 
koljanowak
Old
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 7
Join Date: Sep 2012
Did you copy all five .so files

Code:
libavcodec.so
libavformat.so
libavutil.so
libswresample.so
libswscale.so
into a folder on your device? And have you selected that folder in MX Player as "Custom codec"? And after a restart of MX Player, is the folder name still shown under "Custom codec"?
 
buvk
Old
#26  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jul 2012
yep, thats exactly what i did
 
LoganMcClay
Old
#27  
LoganMcClay's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 61
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by koljanowak View Post
I've build ffmpeg for mxplayer successfully for my Nexus 7. MKV with DTS plays fine now.

However, there is a small detail missing in the Howto. Building as described leads to a working ffmpeg version which still doesn't handle DTS. One has to remove the following three lines from config-ffmpeg.sh:

Code:
--disable-demuxer=dts \
--disable-parser=dca \
--disable-decoder=dca \
Hi,

I don't get it, trying to compile ffmpeg for an hour and I get stuck on some parameters in build-ffmpeg.sh... What shoud TARGET1 & TARGET2 point to ? Tried to give there the *.so found in the unpacked codecs APK and that's a no-go...
Also, this part :
Code:
cp libavutil/libavutil.so $TARGET1/
cp libavutil/libavutil.so $TARGET2/
cp libswresample/libswresample.so $TARGET1/
cp libswresample/libswresample.so $TARGET2/
cp libavcodec/libavcodec.so $TARGET1/
cp libavcodec/libavcodec.so $TARGET2/
cp libavformat/libavformat.so $TARGET1/
cp libavformat/libavformat.so $TARGET2/
cp libswscale/libswscale.so $TARGET1/
cp libswscale/libswscale.so $TARGET2/
is trying to copy files that doesn't exist... Maybe because first part isn't set correctly.

koljanowak, can you point me how you've done it ?

Thanks by advance
 
jebise101
Old
#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 891
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoganMcClay View Post
Hi,

I don't get it, trying to compile ffmpeg for an hour and I get stuck on some parameters in build-ffmpeg.sh... What shoud TARGET1 & TARGET2 point to ? Tried to give there the *.so found in the unpacked codecs APK and that's a no-go...
Also, this part :
Code:
cp libavutil/libavutil.so $TARGET1/
cp libavutil/libavutil.so $TARGET2/
cp libswresample/libswresample.so $TARGET1/
cp libswresample/libswresample.so $TARGET2/
cp libavcodec/libavcodec.so $TARGET1/
cp libavcodec/libavcodec.so $TARGET2/
cp libavformat/libavformat.so $TARGET1/
cp libavformat/libavformat.so $TARGET2/
cp libswscale/libswscale.so $TARGET1/
cp libswscale/libswscale.so $TARGET2/
is trying to copy files that doesn't exist... Maybe because first part isn't set correctly.

koljanowak, can you point me how you've done it ?

Thanks by advance
you have to set the target folders so output of the codecs

I replaced $target1 to /usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T1=../libs/armeabi-v7a/neon and do the same for $Target2 but point it to a different folder.

What I don't get is what does it need to Target folders, I tried both codecs folders and they both play DTS on H/W+ only
 
LoganMcClay
Old
#29  
LoganMcClay's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 61
Join Date: Dec 2009
Sorry but don't undestand what you did.

That's for instance what i've set for now, but doesn't work :

build-ffmpeg.sh
Code:
case $1 in
	neon)
		TARGET1=/home/vmware/Documents/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_v7_neon__1_7.apk_FILES/lib/armeabi
		TARGET2=/home/vmware/Documents/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_v7_neon__1_7.apk_FILES/output
		;;
Do you say you've modified it that way ?

Code:
case $1 in
	neon)
		/usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T1=../libs/armeabi-v7a/neon
		/usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T2=../libs/output/ffmpeg_v7_neon/armeabi
		;;
 
jebise101
Old
(Last edited by jebise101; 16th September 2012 at 01:02 AM.)
#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 891
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoganMcClay View Post
Sorry but don't undestand what you did.

That's for instance what i've set for now, but doesn't work :

build-ffmpeg.sh
Code:
case $1 in
	neon)
		TARGET1=/home/vmware/Documents/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_v7_neon__1_7.apk_FILES/lib/armeabi
		TARGET2=/home/vmware/Documents/ffmpeg/ffmpeg_v7_neon__1_7.apk_FILES/output
		;;
Do you say you've modified it that way ?

Code:
case $1 in
	neon)
		/usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T1=../libs/armeabi-v7a/neon
		/usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T2=../libs/output/ffmpeg_v7_neon/armeabi
		;;
I messed up the end as you can see below, but it generated the 5 *.so files in both T1/T2 directories, and I just manually created the lib folder and moved them to the appropriate folders. What I do not understand why it generates target1/target2 directories with the same *.so files when only one folder with the so files are required. So is the S3 armeabi-v7a or armeabi?

Code:
build-ffmpeg.sh: line 10: /usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T1=../libs/armeabi-v7a/neon: No such file or directory
build-ffmpeg.sh: line 11: /usr/src/android-ndk-r8b/T2=../libs/output/ffmpeg_v7_neon/armeabi: No such file or directory

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes