FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

SGH-T999 T-mobile Getting Firmware Update Via KIES

22 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
As of right now T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S3 known as SGH-T999UVLEM is upgrading to a newer Version which is SGH-T999UVLH2
I don't think the over the air (OTA) mode is working right now because I did many tries and it keep saying device up to date so if you want to try it us KIES. if you version of KIES is not up to date you will have to update it first then you will be able to upgrade the phone.
it will take about 10 to 15 minutes of your time and it will depend on your connection.
everything like root will be gone after the update.

ok after you update, you will be able to go back and use the same method you use to to root the older version and install a different boot.
mine is working fine I don't find any problem yet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shot_000002.jpg
Views:	1963
Size:	23.7 KB
ID:	1265794   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot_000006.jpg
Views:	1882
Size:	29.0 KB
ID:	1265795   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot_000007.jpg
Views:	1747
Size:	12.5 KB
ID:	1265796   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot_000009.jpg
Views:	1823
Size:	26.8 KB
ID:	1265797   Click image for larger version

Name:	update.png
Views:	1746
Size:	34.3 KB
ID:	1265828  
Last edited by ahmadroid; 17th August 2012 at 10:34 AM.
 
 
17th August 2012, 05:57 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
changlog
Anyone know what this update is for?
The Following User Says Thank You to bauerlucas For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th August 2012, 06:05 PM |#3  
ebatr8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
More
So I guess posting in one wrong section wasn't enough right? Stop trolling and keep this where it belongs in the general section.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
17th August 2012, 08:51 PM |#4  
Crisisx1's Avatar
Senior Member
Orlando, FL
Thanks Meter: 333
 
More
this is not any good for us that are rooted and running a customer recovery.
17th August 2012, 11:27 PM |#5  
setzer715's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 214
 
More
Available for download form here, no Kies necessary.

---------- Post added at 12:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:20 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crisisx1

this is not any good for us that are rooted and running a customer recovery.

Just reflash the custom recovery in Odin and flash the root file. Unless you mean not good for those that are running custom ROMs then that's a different story.
18th August 2012, 03:15 AM |#6  
Cobra281's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
do the developers here give the okay to update to this, for those of us who are fully stock and not rooted? will we be able to get root easily still(with the same methods), even after this update?
The Following User Says Thank You to Cobra281 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th August 2012, 03:44 AM |#7  
MorePAIN's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 91
 
More
Good question. I second that.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
18th August 2012, 03:48 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Pittsburgh Pa
Thanks Meter: 341
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra281

do the developers here give the okay to update to this, for those of us who are fully stock and not rooted? will we be able to get root easily still(with the same methods), even after this update?

Root methods will not change with this update.
The Following User Says Thank You to mongo41 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th August 2012, 05:28 AM |#9  
ahmadroid's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Kansas city
Thanks Meter: 5
 
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra281

do the developers here give the okay to update to this, for those of us who are fully stock and not rooted? will we be able to get root easily still(with the same methods), even after this update?


yes the same method you use to root and install the custom recovery will work with no problem. I am update and back to root
The Following User Says Thank You to ahmadroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th August 2012, 12:00 AM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Tacoma, WA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I've done this and after updating to SGH-T999UVLH2 Android File Transfer has stopped working.

KIES still continues to work, however.
19th August 2012, 12:03 AM |#11  
ahmadroid's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Kansas city
Thanks Meter: 5
 
Donate to Me
More
Clean the cache if it still not do a factory reset

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
Last edited by ahmadroid; 19th August 2012 at 12:12 AM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes