Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,086 Members 54,562 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW-TO] Unbrick your soft bricked Galaxy S III (+ bootloader brick)

Tip us?
 
Hero
Old
(Last edited by Hero; 4th December 2013 at 08:25 PM.)
#1  
Hero's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4786
Posts: 1,279
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [HOW-TO] Unbrick your soft bricked Galaxy S III (+ bootloader brick)

STOP

Follow this guide to the letter. If you don't know what something in ODIN is used for...DON'T CLICK IT.

Now that that's out of the way, I'd like to apologize to psycopanther for three days worth of trial and error (mostly error), but now I've got a surefire fix for softbricked devices. Kinda ironic how I discovered it though lol.

The Problem: Sometimes when you flash a ROM (TouchWiz or AOSP), there is a risk of the /system and /data partitions not wiping correctly thus leading them to be formatted with R/O permissions rather than R/W. This makes it impossible for the phone to boot up because no data can be written. Not even a typical ODIN flash back to stock or rooted stock will fix this. Using CWM to flash another ROM will yield the same no boot results. Furthermore, the stock recovery will not work and it becomes impossible to perform a factory reset. Sound frustrating? It is.

The Fix: You know how people all over the android forums are told never to tick any of the boxes in ODIN except for Auto Reboot and F. Reset Time? Well this time you will be ticking another box. If you ever run into the problem where your partitions are read-only, but the phone will still boot into Download Mode and recovery, you need to do the following steps:

BUT FIRST
Prerequisites:
AND
Number of devices tested on and confirmed working: 40
  1. Open up ODIN
  2. Select only the following box: F. Reset Time
  3. Flash the VRALEC bootchain in the PDA section and wait for a PASS message
  4. Reset ODIN
  5. Flash the VRALF bootchain in the PDA section and wait for a PASS message
  6. Reset ODIN
    If you have trouble flashing the bootchains with the method above, try this instead:
    • 1: Flash the first bootchain.
    • 2: Unplug the device while leaving it in "Download Mode".
    • 3: Exit ODIN and then restart it.
    • 4: Plug the device back in while still in "Download Mode".
    • 5: Flash the second bootchain.
    • 6: Repeat steps 2, 3, and 4.
  7. Put the stock.vzw_root66.tar in the PDA section
  8. Select the following boxes: Auto Reboot, F. Reset Time, Nand Erase All

  9. Start the flash process
Your phone will reboot, but it WILL NOT boot to the homescreen. After you receive a PASS message in ODIN, pull the battery and do the following:
  1. Reboot into Stock Recovery (hold volume-up, home button, power button simultaneously)

    NOTE: You WILL see the following error in recovery so don't freak out:
    Code:
    Select Code
    E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument)
    E:Can't mount /data/fota/ipth-muc.prop
    E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument)
    E:Can't mount /data/fota/ipth-muc.prop
    E:failed to mount /data (Invalid argument)
    E:Can't mount /data/fota/ipth-muc.prop
  2. Wipe data/factory reset
  3. Wipe cache partition
  4. Reboot

Now your phone will boot up completely with no problems! Congratulations, you just saved yourself $600 and a call to Verizon.

The Question: Will this work on other carriers/devices? Possibly. To those of you on other carriers (AT&T, T-Mobile, Sprint), I am 99.99% positive this will work for you. Just be sure to download a rooted stock ROM in addition to your boot chains that can be flashed in ODIN.

DO NOT USE ROOT66 OR THE LINKED BOOT CHAINS IF YOU ARE ON ANOTHER CARRIER! YOU MUST USE YOUR OWN DEVICE-SPECIFIC FILES!

Thanks

psycopanther - for putting up with me and for figuring out the R/O issue
Invisiblek - for the bootchain files
open1your1eyes0 - for root66
h3llsdr0id - for his method of flashing the bootchains

Donations
Thank you all! - If I forgot you send me a PM

mark-in-dallas
madunix
soopervoo
tserrano35
Ryan Sherman
Kenneth Holt
mike216
kp_martin

If this worked for you please consider a donation. After all, you did just save $600 Donations keep me motivated to putting out new goodies and fixes for the community.
The Following 147 Users Say Thank You to Hero For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hero
Old
(Last edited by Hero; 2nd October 2013 at 01:47 AM.)
#2  
Hero's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4786
Posts: 1,279
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Bootloader(?) brick

I recently discovered another type of brick by accident and it appeared to be associated with the bootloader. To retrace my steps, I updated to the VRALHD baseband using CWM and immediately after that I restored a backup which caused me to lose the ability to flash ROMs. When loading up another ROM, I always got to the bootanimation, but the bootsound would cut off almost immediately and I would be stuck at a black screen. I was not able to flash ROMs and even unlocking the bootloader again after Odin-ing back to stock didn't work. I was stuck with the stock ROM. The method in the OP doesn't work for this, but the following steps do:
Prerequisites
  • Root66
  • PIT file (depending on your model (16gb/32gb)) - (PIT)
  • Odin
The steps are simple:
  1. Flash Root66 in the PDA slot and the PIT file in the PIT slot
  2. Only tick Auto-reboot, Re-Partition, F. Reset Time
  3. Boot into recovery
  4. Factory reset + wipe dalvik
  5. Reboot
Number of devices tested on and confirmed working: 2
Your device should boot up normally and you should be able to flash custom ROMs now. If you are still encountering issues, try the method in the OP then re-unlock your bootloader using either AdamOutler's CASUAL or EZ Unlock. Note, if you use EZ Unlock you may continue to get a message saying that the bootloader status is UNKNOWN even after unlocking the bootloader. This was the case for me, but I then did the PIT method as described in this post, factory reset the device, and used TWRP to flash my ROM.

Just an FYI, I now use TWRP so I'm not entirely sure whether there was something specifically wrong with CWM. The partition sizes just got severely messed up.
The Following 18 Users Say Thank You to Hero For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chefdave12118
Old
#3  
chefdave12118's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1347
Posts: 5,647
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mechanicville

 
DONATE TO ME
So what's the ironic story on how you found the fix? Great write up BTW. Hope I never have to use it but keeping this in a safe place.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
 
Hero
Old
(Last edited by Hero; 18th August 2012 at 01:24 PM.)
#4  
Hero's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4786
Posts: 1,279
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by chefdave12118 View Post
So what's the ironic story on how you found the fix? Great write up BTW. Hope I never have to use it but keeping this in a safe place.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
Had two S3s, tried to hard brick one to use as a brick test device (it was soft bricked with the error in the OP), but ended up fixing it instead
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Hero For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Josolanes
Old
#5  
Josolanes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 179
Join Date: Jul 2012
This should be sticky'd imo
Unlocked Verizon Galaxy S3 (SCH-i535)
The Following User Says Thank You to Josolanes For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
chefdave12118
Old
#6  
chefdave12118's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1347
Posts: 5,647
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mechanicville

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josolanes View Post
This should be sticky'd imo
+1

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda premium
 
con247
Old
#7  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3112
Posts: 3,070
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
Excellent write up. For some soft-bricks, this might be overkill, but it will alteast get everyone back up and running no matter how severe their issue is. Thank you for the post! I am downloading the files now incase we have some hosting issues in the future. After Goo.im wiped everything a couple times I think it is important to be careful and prepared.
Current Phone: iPhone 5[s]
Check out my GS3 Splash Screen Changer
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Hero
Old
#8  
Hero's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 4786
Posts: 1,279
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by con247 View Post
Excellent write up. For some soft-bricks, this might be overkill, but it will alteast get everyone back up and running no matter how severe their issue is. Thank you for the post! I am downloading the files now incase we have some hosting issues in the future. After Goo.im wiped everything a couple times I think it is important to be careful and prepared.
Added mirrors for the bootchains just in case.
The Following User Says Thank You to Hero For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
psycopanther
Old
#9  
psycopanther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 102
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
lol. PROFIT!

---------- Post added at 06:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:31 PM ----------

also, if you have CWM or twrp recovery, and you boot into recovery (before trying any steps above), you can connect your phone with adb and while in recovery (cwm, or twrp) and go into adb shell, and type "mount" .this should show something like this :

mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,mode=600)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p15 on /data type ext4 (ro,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,user_xattr,barrier=1, data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p17 on /cache type ext4 (rw,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,user_xattr,barrier=1, data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p14 on /system type ext4 (rw,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered)

the /dev/block/mmcblk0p15 is set to RO if you notice. and this will cause constant boot hanging as the /system will try to constantly write to /data in which it will fail. These were our symptoms before trying steps in OP.

MAD PROPS to PureMotive for helping solve this issue. pure genius!
 
con247
Old
#10  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3112
Posts: 3,070
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycopanther View Post
lol. PROFIT!

---------- Post added at 06:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:31 PM ----------

also, if you have CWM or twrp recovery, and you boot into recovery (before trying any steps above), you can connect your phone with adb and while in recovery (cwm, or twrp) and go into adb shell, and type "mount" .this should show something like this :

mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,mode=600)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p15 on /data type ext4 (ro,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,user_xattr,barrier=1, data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p17 on /cache type ext4 (rw,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,user_xattr,barrier=1, data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk0p14 on /system type ext4 (rw,relatime,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered)

the /dev/block/mmcblk0p15 is set to RO if you notice. and this will cause constant boot hanging as the /system will try to constantly write to /data in which it will fail. These were our symptoms before trying steps in OP.

MAD PROPS to PureMotive for helping solve this issue. pure genius!
Sorry that I didn't think of this before. The logcat you sent me did show the symptoms of a ro filesystem but it didn't click with me!
Current Phone: iPhone 5[s]
Check out my GS3 Splash Screen Changer

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
brick, corrupted partitions, galaxy s iii, sgs3, soft brick, unbrick, verizon
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes