Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,086 Members 54,562 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD/SCRIPT] CPU editor

Tip us?
 
popfan
Old
(Last edited by popfan; 19th August 2012 at 03:24 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 235
Posts: 844
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [MOD/SCRIPT] CPU editor

I modded Smoking1337 CWM-flash file to run from Windows.
All credit goes to Smoking1337 for this - I only modding the install of it
See here for original website:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1584508
He also has a snapdragon version of this for those interested:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1798765

Additional Requirement:
You need to have Init.d!!

See my init.d section in Android Development

One more comment: This is not build for overclocking - mainly built for underclocking to save battery life

Features:
Change CPU Governor
Change CPU Min/Max Frequencies
Apply Settings on Boot - Sticky Mode
Set Dual Core CPU's Independently - Governor and Frequencies
Force Dual Core - Second Core Online ALL The Time
Seperate Menus For Single and Dual Core Devices - Auto Selects
View Current Settings For Everything
Sticky Mode
OnDemand Profiling
Now uses config file to store values

Usage:
Open terminal
Type "su" without the quotes
Type "cpu" without the quotes
Make your selections

Notes:

An error appears sometimes when enabling or disabling force dual core, it's ok the settings still get applied.

Settings get applied immediately

Cores can be set independently, you can make the governors and frequencies different on each core. Could be a great battery saver by limiting the second cores resources.

Force Dual Core will make the second core stay online all the time

Some kernels do not have a available_scaling_freq so the available frequencies will not be displayed, look up the settings your kernel has either in your rom thread or kernel thread.

Sticky Mode will apply the settings you have made on reboot (requires init.d support- which most roms and most devices have)

OnDemand Profiling allows you to set profiles for ondemand governor, the settings possible are performance, performance and battery, and battery saver. Setting will only apply to ondemand govenor !! I will add more when i get some kernels for my one x.
Attached Files
File Type: zip CPU_Editor_QC_Beta_1.zip - [Click for QR Code] (177.9 KB, 1449 views)
Samsung Galaxy S4 Active - Rooted - Thanks Geohot!!

Rooted Atrix HD

Stupid brother broke it - Captivate I897 - build 1010
HellyBeaned


Sorry Sony Xperia Ion
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to popfan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ganeshbiyer
Old
(Last edited by ganeshbiyer; 20th August 2012 at 04:27 AM.)
#2  
ganeshbiyer's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2367
Posts: 2,092
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bangalore
This mod will depend on the successful working of INIT.D. init.d did not work for me.

Edit:
After Init.d working successfully, this also worked.

Devices:
Xperia Z1 (C6902 CM11 Nightly)
Motorola Moto G (XT 1033 Android 4.4.4 Stock UB+Rooted)
Xiaomi MI3

 
Mangtas_666
Old
#3  
Mangtas_666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 335
Join Date: Feb 2010
I tried flashing this one via cwm but got error installation aborted..any solution?
 
popfan
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 235
Posts: 844
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangtas_666 View Post
I tried flashing this one via cwm but got error installation aborted..any solution?
Use the windows addition.
Samsung Galaxy S4 Active - Rooted - Thanks Geohot!!

Rooted Atrix HD

Stupid brother broke it - Captivate I897 - build 1010
HellyBeaned


Sorry Sony Xperia Ion
 
Mangtas_666
Old
#5  
Mangtas_666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 335
Join Date: Feb 2010
Unhappy confused

Quote:
Originally Posted by popfan View Post
Use the windows addition.
Whats windows addition? i dont get it..
 
popfan
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 235
Posts: 844
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangtas_666 View Post
Whats windows addition? i dont get it..
This runs from windows not CWM. If you want to run it from CWM then get it from the original website (link in OP).
Samsung Galaxy S4 Active - Rooted - Thanks Geohot!!

Rooted Atrix HD

Stupid brother broke it - Captivate I897 - build 1010
HellyBeaned


Sorry Sony Xperia Ion
 
Mangtas_666
Old
#7  
Mangtas_666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 335
Join Date: Feb 2010
Thank you for the quick reply can you give me the guide using windows? Tnx in advance

Sent from my LT28h using xda premium
 
popfan
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 235
Posts: 844
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangtas_666 View Post
Thank you for the quick reply can you give me the guide using windows? Tnx in advance

Sent from my LT28h using xda premium
Extract the stuff from the zip. Connect Phone and make sure you can adb to it and run the bat file that was in the zip.
Samsung Galaxy S4 Active - Rooted - Thanks Geohot!!

Rooted Atrix HD

Stupid brother broke it - Captivate I897 - build 1010
HellyBeaned


Sorry Sony Xperia Ion
 
Toledo_JAB
Old
#9  
Toledo_JAB's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 2049
Posts: 2,576
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangtas_666 View Post
Thank you for the quick reply can you give me the guide using windows? Tnx in advance

Sent from my LT28h using xda premium
Follow steps 2 thru 6 in this guide
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=29713958

This will setup your pc with drivers and ADB to allow you to run .bat files from a Windows command prompt.
You have to unzip your file to get the .bat file.
After setup and unzip just double click .bat file where it was unpacked.
~Jaramie

from my LT28at rooted & eating an Ice Cream Sandwich

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyphur View Post
Let me be very clear on this:
IF YOU DON'T CARE ABOUT UNDERSTANDING THE JOURNEY,
THEN YOU PROBABLY SHOULDN'T BE HERE IN THE FIRST PLACE.

 
Mangtas_666
Old
#10  
Mangtas_666's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 335
Join Date: Feb 2010
Is it normal that at the process it stated chmod failed?

Sent from my LT28h using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes