Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOWTO] Build CyanogenMod 11.0 for Nexus 7

OP fattire

24th August 2012, 12:25 AM   |  #21  
fattire's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,510
 
1,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Tablet On blobs...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafase282


Edit: got it from a stock rom I guess this is cause I'm using EOS build.

Not sure if this is your issue, but the google-provided blobs don't give you all the props that you have on the device. Any build using only google's props may be missing funcitonality like camera and possibly some other stuff. To get all the props you must pull them from your stock device (or the factory image, I assume) using the extract-files.sh and setup-makefiles.sh scripts.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to fattire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2012, 12:39 AM   |  #22  
Rafase282's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bronx
Thanks Meter: 320
 
1,537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
I will try to go to stock rooted them. Either way I'm still unable to build and I still don't know why the computer shutdown, is it over heat or what?
24th August 2012, 12:51 AM   |  #23  
fattire's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,510
 
1,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
The whole computer just shut down... as it restarted? Do you mean the vm or the whole machine?

It shouldn't do that. Sounds like overheating or hardware failure or something... what OS?
The Following User Says Thank You to fattire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th August 2012, 01:38 AM   |  #24  
Rafase282's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bronx
Thanks Meter: 320
 
1,537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fattire

The whole computer just shut down... as it restarted? Do you mean the vm or the whole machine?

It shouldn't do that. Sounds like overheating or hardware failure or something... what OS?

Ubuntu 12.04 64 bits Desktop 6 cores amd/ati 16 gb ram

The whole machine would shutdown. It doesn't always do it. But since yesterday it has been 3 times when trying to build.

Quote:

host Executable: rsg-generator (out/host/linux-x86/obj/EXECUTABLES/rsg-generator_intermediates/rsg-generator)
out/host/linux-x86/obj/EXECUTABLES/rsg-generator_intermediates/rsg_generator.o: file not recognized: File truncated
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [out/host/linux-x86/obj/EXECUTABLES/rsg-generator_intermediates/rsg-generator] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....

24th August 2012, 02:19 AM   |  #25  
fattire's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,510
 
1,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Kernel panic maybe? Are you overclocking? Use something like gkrellm to monitor the system before it goes down and check the logs after you reboot...
24th August 2012, 05:13 AM   |  #26  
Rafase282's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bronx
Thanks Meter: 320
 
1,537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
Donate to Me
More
Still a no go. I'm not getting the shutdown, it is very random i guess. But I still cant compile. I used the stock image to get the files but still no build.

Also the first error I notice is the src directory not found.
24th August 2012, 07:41 AM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
137 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
i know this is a random question but i have downloaded one of the official nightly builds off of cyanogenmod's site.

i want to know how to disable the software key fuction of holding the home key bringing up the recents app menu. im trying to use google now but it keeps bringing up recent apps menu and its driving me insane
24th August 2012, 08:55 AM   |  #28  
fattire's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,510
 
1,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie743

i know this is a random question but i have downloaded one of the official nightly builds off of cyanogenmod's site.

i want to know how to disable the software key fuction of holding the home key bringing up the recents app menu. im trying to use google now but it keeps bringing up recent apps menu and its driving me insane

To use google now, I believe if you simply swipe up from the apps icon to the "google" icon which will appear, that should take you to google now.

As for two posts up, your computer should NEVER just shut down spontaneously. Can you do a memtest or stress test (download and run mprime's stress test) and see if you have bad memory or perhaps a bad cpu?
24th August 2012, 10:16 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
224 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fattire

Not sure if this is your issue, but the google-provided blobs don't give you all the props that you have on the device. Any build using only google's props may be missing funcitonality like camera and possibly some other stuff. To get all the props you must pull them from your stock device (or the factory image, I assume) using the extract-files.sh and setup-makefiles.sh scripts.

This is correct. I have been compiling AOSP for my GN and for the N7 and on the N7 the camera and gyro did not work on my builds. I figured out how to get the camera working but still need to extract files for gyro fix. I have compiled CM9 in the past but still haven't tried CM10.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
24th August 2012, 03:44 PM   |  #30  
dsuycott's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag evanston, il
Thanks Meter: 16
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
uhg...have everything downloaded and running on VBox/Linux on a Win7 Compaq 6910p 2Ghz duo 2gig ram @32bit...sluggy(ish) but working...i have another one of these laptops with a dead drive, i think i'm just going to buy a 500gb SSD/Hybrid and install just Ubuntu on it. regardless, very exciting thread! will there be a Q&A thread started for this or is this going to be it?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
building, cyanogenmod, nexus, recovery, walkthrough
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes