Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,599 Members 36,105 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Tutorial] Why my IMEI missing & NO network?

Tip us?
 
xsenman
Old
(Last edited by xsenman; 16th November 2013 at 12:16 AM.) Reason: update
#1  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2,213
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Info 2 [Tutorial] Why my IMEI missing & NO network?

Your IMEI (International Mobile Equipment Identity) is transmitted to the Network provider the moment you switch ON your phone

It is used by your Network to identify the following

1) The first two numbers is RBI (Reporting Body Identifier) = who registered that type of phone ( verify here )

2) The next four numbers is TAC (Type Allocation Code) = what type of unit and its complete specifications

3)The next two numbers is FAC (Final Assembly Code) = who manufacture it

example :-

01 AEG
04 Samsung
07 Motorola
10 Nokia
30 Ericsson
41 Siemens
50 Bosch
51 Sony

4) The next six numbers is the Serial Number of the Phone

5) The last number is sort of a check sum, that verifies the previous numbers

Combined a total of 15 numbers is used by your network to get the complete information about your phone that is used against their database of Blacklisted phones and final approval to connect to their network, IF they were inaccurate or had complaints (like being stolen, not paid telecoms dues etc) it will be rejected and BLOCKED immediately from connecting to that Network

You can verify all this by entering you IMEI here and here

And also here to check if it is blacklisted

Your IMEI is also needed for networks to BLOCK your phone when needed as well as ANTI theft apps.

Hence if your IMEI changes or gets lost, it may fail to connect to the network, depending on the restrictions of that network provider.

It is clear that Flashing custom ROMS can cause your IMEI to Change or get deleted as they may be ported from another manufacturer or from another version of the same manufacturer as the IMEI embedded in the chip of your phone.

IF you want to AVOID this problem, safe you EFS folder the moment you think of Flashing any ROM that is NOT the original Firmware for that phone

It is noted that to resolve this problem you have to return to its original firmware to recover your embedded IMEI and do a progressive upgrade . eg. from GingerBread to ICS before going on to Jelly Bean

For ways to resolve IMEI problems visit EFS Problems and Solutions or My Android Solutions


Check this out!You , YES! you are an " Android ". Not your phone but U.

You Must watch this documentary concerning your privacy Terms & Conditions we had agreed to, by using a PC or Smartphone

How to say Thank you? *If you find any post helpful on XDA, please click on the Thanks button
If you are using XDA App or Tapatalk, long press on the post and select Thanks
Its easier to give "Feedback" in this manner than make an additional post.

This post is linked to Pit Stop
The Following 47 Users Say Thank You to xsenman For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mikaelel
Old
#2  
mikaelel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 161
Join Date: Dec 2009
I will add that information on their own IMEI number check here http://www.imei.info/
The Following User Says Thank You to mikaelel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TotallydubbedHD
Old
#4  
TotallydubbedHD's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,085
Posts: 2,515
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Good job in explaining what it is!




Click here for my YouTube channel
I have over 4.6 million video upload views, combined on 2 of my YouTube Channels!
I'm also a Amazon UK Top 500 Reviewer!

Click here and join Dropbox to receive a free 500mb cloud storage bonus space!

My XDA Video guide thread for the Samsung Galaxy S III - GT-I9300

If I helped you or made you laugh please hit THANKS!
 
Taysider
Old
#5  
Taysider's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 341
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Default Confused

Quote:
Originally Posted by TotallydubbedHD View Post
Good job in explaining what it is!
You have the FAC 04 as Samsung which is correct but, HTC is also 04

HTC One S
[ROM][S4][06 JAN] TrickDroid 9.1.0 | Jelly Bean | Sense UI 4+ | Fast | Smooth | HQ!
Kernel 3.4.10-01575-gae8b65e root@ABM016 #1 SMP PREEMTP
HTC Extension Sense45_2
HTC SDK API level 4.63
Android 4.1.1 - Sense 4.+

HTC ONE
[ROM][27 JUN] TrickDroid 8.0.0 | Sense 5.0 | Google Edition | Tweaks | 2.19.401.1
Kernel 3.4.10-g6ba05ad root@abm011 #1 SMP PREEMPT
HTC SDK API level 5.34
Android 4.2.2 - Sense 5.0
 
awaaas
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 214
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikaelel View Post
I will add that information on their own IMEI number check here
I tested this site with my Nokia E71, and it's reporting my phone as Nokia 100
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMEI.info 2012-09-14 20-34-51.jpg
Views:	779
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	1326025   Click image for larger version

Name:	Scr000008.jpg
Views:	677
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	1326026  
 
dstruct2k
Old
#7  
dstruct2k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 887
Posts: 1,195
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Winnipeg

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by awaaas View Post
I tested this site with my Nokia E71, and it's reporting my phone as Nokia 100
My Galaxy S3 appears as a Huawei U7510 on http://www.imei.info/, but http://imei-number.com/imei-number-lookup/ shows the correct information...
Samsung Galaxy S5 16GB - G900W8 - ROM: ....

NOTE: I am no longer maintaining the I747 threads, as I have moved on to another device.
I747 Owners: Install a custom recovery! | Try different modem firmware! | Update your bootloader!
Reddit XDA Steam Facebook YouTube Github Google+
 
xsenman
Old
#8  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2,213
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taysider View Post
You have the FAC 04 as Samsung which is correct but, HTC is also 04
I believe this is also possible as some of the manufacturers are using more than one FAC (Final Assembly Code) and some do have the same FAC....end of the day only the manufacturer would have chosen what they wish to use, on the other hand the checksum of the 15 numbers in total, should give the correct model and specs to the network .
 
G@vi
Old
#9  
G@vi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 164
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pune
Quote:
Originally Posted by saywhatt View Post
similarly, you can also recover your IMEI using this method: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1264021

nice jobe OP!
My P500 LG Optimus is showing as KP500 LG Cookie.
Now-On- Waiting for Next Droid.
 
xsenman
Old
#10  
xsenman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2,213
Posts: 3,920
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philippines
Quote:
Originally Posted by G@vi View Post
My P500 LG Optimus is showing as KP500 LG Cookie.
lol , which url did you use?, the one post by mikaelel
http://www.imei.info/, seems to giving some wrong info.

Tags
imei changed, imei missing, no baseband, no network, sim not recognised
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes